We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pasta Moon

Pasta Moon
Reserve with OpenTable
Pasta Moon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Italian lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Well prepared fresh local ingredients, served by the nicest and most pleasant waiter. Shrimp pizza, calamari pasta special were both delicious. The dessert was quite tasty too. Chocolate Gelato was just right. Cheerful and bright atmosphere. Interesting local art adorning the walls. Several families were dining around us with young children. It was a lovely lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    148
    52
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Growing to big for their britches?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Food is good, but over the years, with their popularity, they have now expanded and have seemed to really have lost the better service and quaint feel.

I am guessing that reservations don't mean much. We had a reservation, but when we walked they didn't ask about it and we were told the wait was a 45 minute wait. We mentioned our reservation. They then said then it should be just a few minutes. We waited for over an half hour, so clearly the reservation didn't matter much. They finally squeezed us into a small table. The tables now are so close together, that we could hardly hear each other over the table next to us that had to discuss every photo that anyone had ever texted them, and all the marital problems of their friends. Seats shouldn't be so close that I know that much about a stranger in a restaurant.

Yikes, I truly love their very fresh spin on lasagna, but I think I will never go at the regular dinner time again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsMona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A New Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Was introduced to this restaurant by my cousin and her husband. Stopped by this afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed an appetizer, entree and dessert with my wife and granddaughter. Not only was the food deliciously prepared with fresh local ingredients it was served by a staff worthy of the finest restaurants.

Kim Levin's artistic touch is a well appreciated answer to "Where should we go to eat?"

Can't wait to come back in the fall for their pumpkin specialties.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiaPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
329 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Good Lasagna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hi Again All. When we go to a new (to us) Italian restaurant, we try the lasagna first. It was quite good and we both loved it. The menu was Italian and quite extensive, The food was well prepared and excellent, the service was excellent and the wine list was extensive and presumably good (I don't drink but the folks next to us said so). The atmosphere was good too. Regards, OldeBear

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good for gluten free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We wanted to get out of town and try someplace new, so we decided to drive down to Half Moon Bay. As Pasta Moon had some pretty good reviews for gluten free eating, we thought we'd give it a try. And we're very glad we did. Not only did they offer 2 types of house-made gluten free pasta and make their own gf pizza dough, but they even had gluten free bread for the table. All the waitstaff we encountered was very well-versed in how to make their dishes gluten free. As a result, almost the entire menu could be adapted. And there were 2 gf desserts, too!

Of course, all of this would be meaningless if the food wasn't good as well. Fortunately it was all excellent. My celiac daughter raved that it was the best gf pasta dish she'd ever had (of course the beautifully seared ahi tuna didn't hurt) and was plotting a return visit before she had even finished. Another dish had perfectly cooked scallops over pasta in a light lemon garlic sauce. Even the bolognese was elevated beyond expectations. And the dessert special crostada with basil ice cream was wonderful.

In short, if you are looking for a nice place for pasta, gluten free or not, it would be hard to go wrong here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firbette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasta Moon also viewed

 
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Pasta Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing