We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weiner's galore from the yellow caboose”
Review of Daddy-O's - CLOSED

Daddy-O's
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Daddy-O's takes great pride in creating upscale versions of American roadside-diner classics like burgers, hot dogs, grilled cheese sandwiches, soups and chili!
Half Moon Bay, Calif.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Weiner's galore from the yellow caboose”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Daddy-o's specializes in quick gourmet food, primarily hotdogs, Bratwurst, pulled pork, sausage, and a great clam chowder, with a daily special - all served up from the back of a retired southern pacific railways yellow caboose - they actually have a steam whistle they blow at noon as well, great fun for kids of all ages. The food is superb, grilled or smoked on the premises, all with a hand crafted approach in the sauces and garnishes. The husband and wife team are accomplished in the culinary arts, and lucky us, have applied it to hotdogs and have elevated their offerings to another level. Outdoor seating, or they will deliver to your car if the weather is poor. Look for the Yellow caboose on the east side of highway one, about a quarter mile south from the 92 and highway 1 interchange. Also accesible from Kelly street (going west) from main street half moon bay.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank montezuma's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great made order food on the go”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Spotted this place while passing through the area on my way to San Francisco. Since I'm always looking for new out of the way places we decided to make a u-turn and go check it out. The bright yellow old train caboose has been retrofitted into a kitchen with an unusual delicious menu. The menu is straight forward good old american food with a New Orleans twist. Everything is made fresh to order and of excellent quality. I had the pulled pork sandwhiche with their home-made cole slaw all in a fresh baked hoggie. Delish! My kids had these huge 1/4 pound hot dogs that you will not find in any supermarket. My wife had the mushroom and cheese melt which was equally great. Sabdwhiches run about $10, a side of cole slaw will set you $4, most of the items were in the $9-12 price range. Great place, great food, great atorphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Op4play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Weekend Birthday Getaway”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I like trains. I was attracted by the idea of eating in or at a Caboose. Daddy-O's was located directly accross from our hotel and we wanted a pre-dinner snack. For the price the grilled cheese with bacon we had could have been larger and it could have included chips or something. I'd go back sometime. I like trains you know.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marylouisec_13, Owner at Daddy-O's, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hi Robert. Thanks for stopping by and enjoying a pre-dinner snack! We are happy that you enjoyed the grilled cheese with bacon and we hope that you stop back in again soon to try out some of our other menu options! Have a nice day. Best, Marylouise (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescadero
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Overpriced dog”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We dropped in a few months ago. Surprised that we had to pay extra for toppings?? Not good. Had a couple different dogs plus Mac & cheese. Mac & cheese-- spicy? Asked owner about it, she said , 'oh, yes, I put cayenne in it. 'Ok...u order it for your kids & I ordered for me, having stomach problems. What kids like 'hot' , & I could not eat. Why wasnt it an option, or at least noted on menu? Waste of money, & we will never pay for 'extra' toppings @ a hot dog place, especially at their prices. 2 big booboos in our opinion. Would like to see them succeed, but need to re-think
a few things.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peskygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marylouisec_13, Owner at Daddy-O's, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. In regards to the toppings, we give away our first three toppings for free and additional toppings after that are 15¢. We apologize that you do not agree with this, but many restaurants are charging extra for toppings and condiments! We always do our best to give our guests as much as possible to make their experience the best. Our mac & cheese is a signature recipe and we have so many fans who rave about the delicious and unique taste that it offers. We want to impress our guests with quality food every time. Our dogs are the best 1/4 lb. 8" all beef dogs you will find, and our small increase in price reflects that to impress everyone who comes to Daddy O's! We appreciate your support in wishing us the best success, but we will always do our best in this economy to make sure our guests, customers, fans, friends, and family are always happy with their Daddy O's experience. Have a great day and we hope to see you again soon!! Best, Daddy O's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Thank you Marylouise for a great lunch and the best clam chowder soup I have ever eaten!
Very unique atmosphere and great hostess. Birgitta

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Birgitta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marylouisec_13, Owner at Daddy-O's, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks so much Birgitta! It was wonderful having you in with us to enjoy a meal. We look forward to having you in again soon and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. Have a great day! Best, Marylouise (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daddy-O's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing