We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Sleep with the sound of waves” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   211 Mirada Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1388   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sleep with the sound of waves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I've stayed at Landis Shores six times. The waves are still as enchanting as the first time. The Inn is quiet and intimate and the beach walking is right outside. We sleep with the windows open and the floors warm (radiant heat). The hosts are discreet and welcoming. They accomodated my girlfriend's request for a simple breakfast of yogurt and blueberries. There are ample restaurants within walking distance and downtown HMB is only minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
77
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and decided on staying in this property. Our experience from check-in until breakfast (we just finished) have been OUTSTANDING!
The ocean front room was very clean and comfy. Though the weather was cloudy and windy while we stay, we spent some time in our private balcony and saw few whale as well as some dolphines not too far from the shore.
Ken and Ellen, the owners, are two of the nicest people we met! And their knowledge about wine are just unimaginable. (Ellen is a wine specialist)
Last, but not least, breakfast was really outstanding! Ken's egg puff was amazingly delicious.
We will definitely be back whenever we have a chance!
We love Half Moon Bay and Landis Shores!

Room Tip: All rooms are Ocean Front or at least partial and have private balcony; you cant go wrong choosing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjmbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I drove straight from the San Francisco airport straight to the inn. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room, which was lovely with a fireplace for the chilly coastal nights. The breakfasts were gourmet and delicious. The views are amazing, with the waves crashing on the rocks right across the quiet road in front of the the inn. Can't wait to return to celebrate another big birthday!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeang66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
260 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Landis Shores. It is a perfect couples only place to get away from everything. Great breakfast both mornings and we enjoyed waking up and standing out on our balcony, looking at the ocean. The moderate temps also made sitting outside in the evenings pleasurable. We loved sitting there, enjoying a bottle of wine. The room itself was just like in the pictures, albeit a bit smaller than expected. Heated tile floors is also a nice touch, even though we didn't need them. There was even a jetted jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. Landis Shores also has an afternoon happy hour with wine and appetizers. Highly recommend Landis Shores if you find yourself in the area.

Room Tip: While all rooms have an ocean view, choose one that directly faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed for the New Years weekend. Booked a very nice queen room. Room was nicely appointed, modern and well maintained. There is a small balcony with each room and all are ocean front. The view was great. The owners were as hospitable as they can be. We were made to feel very welcome. There is a street and walkway between the lodge and ocean. Not a whole lot of vehicle traffic but there is quite a bit of foot traffic, people jogging, walking dogs to the beach, etc. For myself I was not bothered by it and did enjoy watching the dogs play on the beach. Keep in mind this lodge is more of couples and not families with children. They do have a two person per room rule which is clear when making reservations. I appreciated basically the adults only aspect as of course children will be children and this really isnt the place. The owner/chef really knows his way around the kitchen. Breakfast was terrific. Everything made from scratch. Our weekend included a New Years Eve dinner. We started out on the third floor where homemade hors d'oeuvres and great wines were served. All were excellent. After, we went to the dining area where we were served a four course meal all freshly prepared. Everything from the soup to dessert were as good as it gets. If your looking for an ocean front B & B with great views and food that is basically for couples you couldnt go wrong with Landis Shores. I will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alshasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in the Landis Shores B+B for the first 4 days of our holiday to California.

This was a great place to overcome the jet lag and chill out. We did walk along the shore, sleep to the sound of the ocean, watch strollers walking their dogs along the shoreline, etc; we also saw dolphins passing by on one day.

The room is clean and very comfortable. The view of the ocean is unobstructed.

The breakfasts are great, the extra tea and coffee available at most times of day was very welcome too.

However, in 4 days we never saw the sun once, foggy every day. This was a surprise to us but to be honest had no effect on our view of this stay at Half Moon Bay. To be able to walk around freely without shade hoping or having to slap on the Sun cream was fine by us. It also added to the mood of the place. One day we did drive in-land and the saw the sun - its only 20 mins away if you really miss it!

So we heartily recommend this place and would seriously consider it on any return visit to California.

Room Tip: all good but sea facing has a slight advantage but yo pay more as expected
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rykingManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

If you like to walk along the shore, sleep to the sound of the ocean, watch strollers walking their dogs along the shore line, and just have a relaxing then then you can not beat the Landis. The room is clean and comfortable. The view of the ocean is unobstructed and the sounds and smell of the surf are right there for you. The room is a nice size, tastefully decorated and supported by a nice bath with separate shower. The floors are radiant heat, the fireplace is a nice touch, and the parking is easy. The owners have games, movies, and books that you can enjoy as well as a nice breakfast and afternoon snack that are included. Across the street is a nice restaurant. The only things that I wish could have been better was that the balcony is very small and there is no privacy between you and the next one, we liked to sit out there but our neighbor smoked and when you are so close to each other there is no privacy. Another suggestion would be to update the tv. A bit pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
0.8 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
4.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 211 Mirada Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1388
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury oceanfront inn located on Miramar Beach in Half Moon Bay, California, with easy access to San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Hotel Half Moon Bay
Landis Shores - An Oceanfront b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing