We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Oceanfront B & B with fantastic Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Oceanfront B & B with fantastic Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed for the New Years weekend. Booked a very nice queen room. Room was nicely appointed, modern and well maintained. There is a small balcony with each room and all are ocean front. The view was great. The owners were as hospitable as they can be. We were made to feel very welcome. There is a street and walkway between the lodge and ocean. Not a whole lot of vehicle traffic but there is quite a bit of foot traffic, people jogging, walking dogs to the beach, etc. For myself I was not bothered by it and did enjoy watching the dogs play on the beach. Keep in mind this lodge is more of couples and not families with children. They do have a two person per room rule which is clear when making reservations. I appreciated basically the adults only aspect as of course children will be children and this really isnt the place. The owner/chef really knows his way around the kitchen. Breakfast was terrific. Everything made from scratch. Our weekend included a New Years Eve dinner. We started out on the third floor where homemade hors d'oeuvres and great wines were served. All were excellent. After, we went to the dining area where we were served a four course meal all freshly prepared. Everything from the soup to dessert were as good as it gets. If your looking for an ocean front B & B with great views and food that is basically for couples you couldnt go wrong with Landis Shores. I will be returning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alshasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
77
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in the Landis Shores B+B for the first 4 days of our holiday to California.

This was a great place to overcome the jet lag and chill out. We did walk along the shore, sleep to the sound of the ocean, watch strollers walking their dogs along the shoreline, etc; we also saw dolphins passing by on one day.

The room is clean and very comfortable. The view of the ocean is unobstructed.

The breakfasts are great, the extra tea and coffee available at most times of day was very welcome too.

However, in 4 days we never saw the sun once, foggy every day. This was a surprise to us but to be honest had no effect on our view of this stay at Half Moon Bay. To be able to walk around freely without shade hoping or having to slap on the Sun cream was fine by us. It also added to the mood of the place. One day we did drive in-land and the saw the sun - its only 20 mins away if you really miss it!

So we heartily recommend this place and would seriously consider it on any return visit to California.

Room Tip: all good but sea facing has a slight advantage but yo pay more as expected
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rykingManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

If you like to walk along the shore, sleep to the sound of the ocean, watch strollers walking their dogs along the shore line, and just have a relaxing then then you can not beat the Landis. The room is clean and comfortable. The view of the ocean is unobstructed and the sounds and smell of the surf are right there for you. The room is a nice size, tastefully decorated and supported by a nice bath with separate shower. The floors are radiant heat, the fireplace is a nice touch, and the parking is easy. The owners have games, movies, and books that you can enjoy as well as a nice breakfast and afternoon snack that are included. Across the street is a nice restaurant. The only things that I wish could have been better was that the balcony is very small and there is no privacy between you and the next one, we liked to sit out there but our neighbor smoked and when you are so close to each other there is no privacy. Another suggestion would be to update the tv. A bit pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

All 8 rooms have an expansive ocean view, and the inn is right across the street from the beach. Delicious breakfast. Very farm and friendly staff. Fell asleep to sounds of waves every night. Very relaxing. Close to all the local attractions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonQZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
365 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Landis Shores and especially enjoyed how close we were to the ocean and wonderful waves. The lodge is quite nice and very clean. I wish I would have taken my own pillow as the pillows provided were much too soft and lumpy. The bed was a little hard but everyone has there own idea of what's comfortable. The breakfasts were nice and presentation was pretty. Very good coffee and the staff was friendly. The long stretch of beach outside is ideal for a nice long walk. We have stayed in many B&B's and found this one nice but not a five star. It is pricy but you pay for being right at the ocean's edge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blooms65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

This bed and Breakfast is worth talking about! Amazing rooms, beautiful decor - all related to wineries, fireplace, patio with chairs to sit outside and enjoy the ocean view. All rooms have a view of the ocean. Nice walking trail right out the door. Close to everything you want to see in Half Moon Bay and the Harbor.
The gourmet breakfast was made fresh each morning. Having a glass of wine and appetizers mid-day was a treat.
Brian went all out, to make sure our time was enjoyable. We will let our friends know about this gem!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hypermarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

The Landis is a great place to get away for some privacy and ocean front view. We had but Sunday and Monday morning for a quick get away and selected the Landis Shores as our first destination on a new life.

The staff were so very attentive and helpful. The room came equipped with a jetted tub, but a tad tiny for two. The fireplace was just right for leaving the balcony door open to hear the surf. We found the romance package waiting for us consisting of a bottle of Brut and chocolate strawberry's and apricots.

Will definitely consider the Landis Shores for our 1st wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron0944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
0.8 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
4.7 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 211 Mirada Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1388
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury oceanfront inn located on Miramar Beach in Half Moon Bay, California, with easy access to San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landis Shores - An Oceanfront Hotel Half Moon Bay
Landis Shores - An Oceanfront b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing