We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is excellent”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Encinitas
2 reviews
“Location is excellent”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Out dated rooms, beds not very comfortable, very pet friendly and location excelent

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty5448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaniaMyers, Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
we would like to thank you for your time and effort by commenting on our hotel.
Our hotel is currently in the process of being completely remodeled and should be complete sometime soon.
We appreciate your comment. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    44
    29
    21
    37
See reviews for
29
79
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night while making our way down the California Coast. The location of the hotel is great as it is in close proximity to the harbor for a morning walk and is right off Highway 1 so you can get back on the road quickly and easily. You can hear the fog horn from the harbor, but a pair of earplugs takes care of that problem. Especially nice considering how inexpensive this place is compared to many of the other hotels in the area. A no frills place, but great if you are just looking for a place to sleep after a day of driving and sightseeing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug0719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaniaMyers, Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
we would like to thank you for your time and effort by commenting on our hotel.
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Beautiful location!
Book early
loved the new heater and fan in the bathroom
wonderful window seats

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYearNewMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaniaMyers, Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Thank You for the wonderful review! We strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2011

price for this area was reasonable. room was clean. employees were pleasent. no complaints. would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigfrommichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaniaMyers, Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful review!
Harbor View Inn is looking forward to your every stay! Our 17 rooms will be transformed via: remodel within 2011 year. We appreciate your comment.
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Stayed at Habor View Inn for three nights, its a lovely place, the rooms are very clean and loved the bay window seating, and most of all the staff was very friendly and very helpful. They recommended restaurants which was within walking distance ( Barbara's Fist trap, Sams) and they both had lovely meals. Also recommend Cafe Gibralter which had an amazing meal also.I definitely recommend this place and they deserve a 5 star.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gchristy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaniaMyers, Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you so much for your glowing review and for taking the time to let us know that you truly enjoyed your stay at Harbor View Inn.
Our location is ideal and our team and I want our guests to feel welcomed and excited about their visit and it sounds like that is exactly what occurred for you. With appreciation and joy, thanks a million. Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2011

The words cannot express the wonderful stay we had at this hotel.we were looking for a reasonably priced hotel located in a safe area of town, for an extended visit ( 5nights). This hotel exceeded our expectations, and we found it a welcoming, comfortable place to stay in a perfect location.

The rooms are well equipped and very clean, nice bathrooms, comfortable beds and very nice window seating area overlooking the Harbor. Very COnvenient Directly across from the restaurants, Etc..

And can't complaine about breakfast, its Continental Breakfast - they had Pastries, 3 Diff. Cereal,Oatmeal, Orange juice, Fruits, coffee, tea,Hot Chocolate. It was better then the other continental breakfast which is just coffee and Pastries.

The staff were always pleasant & went out of their way to help us with anything we wanted - for example my wife she is pregnant and she was craving for chocolate around 10:30pm at night so i called the office asked where i could get some chocolate she told me about a gas station walking distance and after like 2minutes she brought a hug box of chocolate to our room. it was our first night there so it was really nice of them.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaNatasha_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaniaMyers, Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you so much for your glowing review and for taking the time to let us know that you truly enjoyed your stay at Harbor View Inn.
Our location is ideal and Our team and I want our guests to feel welcomed and excited about their visit and it sounds like that is exactly what occurred for you. With appreciation and joy, thanks a million. Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

This was our motel for our first night's stay on a week-long road trip. What a mistake! While the price was right ($76), we were on the ground floor with no air for circulation, ripped drapery, old lumpy mattress, loud highway noise and fog horn blaring all night. (All rooms face the street, I believe.) On top of that, there a man in the room above us who literally paced back and forth the ENTIRE night. We normally wouldn't care what happened in any of the rooms around us but we could hear him pacing back and forth, back and forth......

The "free continental breakfast" consisted of three very small containers of cereal attached to a wall, a pot of coffee and a small basket of cellophane-wrapped pastries.......with no place to sit and eat! Were we supposed to take that food back to the room and eat it??? I've stayed at many hotels/motels that offer continental breakfast and this was pretty much the worst.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaniaMyers, Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Dear Sharon32655

we would like to thank you for your time and effort by commenting on our hotel.

we certainly do regret the fact that you had a not so pleasant experience during your stay. our goal is to provide a hospitable, friendly and clean environment to all of our guests, and wo do find your input very valuable towards maintaining such a feel. Our hotel is currently in the process of being completely remodeled and should be complete sometime in 2011.
About the Fog horn, Unfortunately there is nothing that can be done about the volume of the fog horn as it is used as a safety measure for boats entering the Harbor and therefor can be heard in every hotel in the area.

In regards to the continental breakfast, again we are in the process of remodeling the hotel and are planning to have a larger area created for the breakfast in the morning. Currently we do provide trays to bring your breakfast back to your room so you may enjoy a quiet and private breakfast looking towards the harbor. While our current set up is smaller we do keep the Cereal, Coffee, Pastry and oatmeal supply full during the breakfast.

We hope that in the future we will get a chance to provide you with the hospitality you deserve.

Thank you again

Tania M
Manager
Harbor View Inn
650-726-2329
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Half Moon Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
912 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
251 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coastside Inn
Coastside Inn
#7 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
173 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Property: Harbor View Inn
Address: 51 Avenue Alhambra, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor View Inn, located on the shores of Half Moon Bay, CA.Come enjoy luxury and comfort at one of the most affordable hotel on the coast, make Harbor View Inn your choice of lodging in Half Moon Bay! Located across the street from the Harbor, along the beautiful California Coast - Just walking distance to the beach and also very easy excess to hwy 1. Guests enjoy the Ocean view. Each of our seventeen comfortably appointed rooms features a bay window seat offering a panoramic view of the harbor and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing