We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
51
50
34
23
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
50
34
23
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk cafe next door mini mart fog horn spa shower would stay here again within walking distance small continental breakfast small inn coffee maker yogurt second floor ice machine san francisco upgraded room small refrigerator bottom floor
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 203 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks while traveling on business. I stayed in one of the remodeled rooms, and found it on par with places like Aloft or The Element. The remodeled rooms have a familiar boutique feel. The exterior of the hotel is cute and clean. At the end of the day, this is still pretty much a motel, but about the nicest one you could hope to find.

The neighborhood is quiet and provides easy foot access to several dining options, including Half Moon Bay Brewing. There is a coffee shop basically next door to the place that offers food and beverages. I had no issues with hearing noises from adjacent rooms and found the service friendly and helpful. The hotel breakfast was underwhelming, but I wasn't expecting much, so it wasn't much of a disappointment. I went next door and ate there or else drove into the city early and got breakfast.

I was not bothered by the foghorn, but I think a light sleeper might have an issue with it. You can definitely hear it in your room. To me it was just part of the package.

Overall, this was a much better place to stay than a crappy corporate hotel in the core of the Bay Area. I commuted to Redwood City daily from here and had no real issues. It took about half an hour when leaving by 7:30AM.

Room tip: Don't bother with the non-remodeled rooms.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheConjuras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Nice place to stay after touring San Francisco. Cheaper than down downtown San Francisco and with free parking.

Each room had a good view of the harbor but fog did not lift the following morning.

Recommended for a romantic stay. No frig or microwave in the room. The breakfast had sausage egg cheese sandwiches, milk, coffee and assorted pastries. The microwave was in the lobby with the food.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

A fine little place for the money. Courteous staff. Clean room and comfortable beds. We enjoyed our window seat and the nice view of Pillar Point Harbor. Easy walk to the pier and a delightfully quirky Cafe Classique for a robust home made breakfast.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Halfmoon bay is expensive, but this place was way over rated even for the rate. The rooms are old, the bathrooms clean but dingy. The walls are extremely thin. I wouldn't stay here again and we were very jealous we couldn't afford to move hotels like two of our friends did.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I try very hard to get out of the Central Valley to Half Moon Bay at least once a year. Unfortunately, the places to stay in that area are not inexpensive. The Harbor View Inn was a very good bargain. We stayed two nights at the Harbor View Inn, and we were both extremely pleased. We'd read several other reviews before booking, so were prepared for a fairly funky stay. However, with the exception of an elderly bathroom with dripping faucet (which we were prepared for in advance), everything else about the Harbor View Inn was very pleasant. Our receptionist, who may live there, was outstanding, as was the continental breakfast, with trays to take your breakfast items to your room and a wide variety of items. The prepared coffee was quite strong, just the way we like it. Most important, we had a very comfortable bed: so much so that I slept in until 7:00 am the second morning. At home, I'm up between 4:00-5:00 am. But the best news was that the two-day price was about the same as a single night anywhere else we looked on the internet, and the Inn is within walking distance of Barbara's Fishtrap (our favorite for seafood) and Sam's.

Room tip: All rooms have harbor views (when it isn't foggy), but 2nd floor rooms might be quieter with no one walking overhead. However, we had no trouble sleeping in our 1st floor room.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanGalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews