We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks while traveling on business. I stayed in one of the remodeled rooms, and found it on par with places like Aloft or The Element. The remodeled rooms have a familiar boutique feel. The exterior of the hotel is cute and clean. At the end of the day, this is still pretty much a motel, but about the nicest one you could hope to find.

The neighborhood is quiet and provides easy foot access to several dining options, including Half Moon Bay Brewing. There is a coffee shop basically next door to the place that offers food and beverages. I had no issues with hearing noises from adjacent rooms and found the service friendly and helpful. The hotel breakfast was underwhelming, but I wasn't expecting much, so it wasn't much of a disappointment. I went next door and ate there or else drove into the city early and got breakfast.

I was not bothered by the foghorn, but I think a light sleeper might have an issue with it. You can definitely hear it in your room. To me it was just part of the package.

Overall, this was a much better place to stay than a crappy corporate hotel in the core of the Bay Area. I commuted to Redwood City daily from here and had no real issues. It took about half an hour when leaving by 7:30AM.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the non-remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheConjuras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 186 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

Nice place to stay after touring San Francisco. Cheaper than down downtown San Francisco and with free parking.

Each room had a good view of the harbor but fog did not lift the following morning.

Recommended for a romantic stay. No frig or microwave in the room. The breakfast had sausage egg cheese sandwiches, milk, coffee and assorted pastries. The microwave was in the lobby with the food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

A fine little place for the money. Courteous staff. Clean room and comfortable beds. We enjoyed our window seat and the nice view of Pillar Point Harbor. Easy walk to the pier and a delightfully quirky Cafe Classique for a robust home made breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Halfmoon bay is expensive, but this place was way over rated even for the rate. The rooms are old, the bathrooms clean but dingy. The walls are extremely thin. I wouldn't stay here again and we were very jealous we couldn't afford to move hotels like two of our friends did.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I try very hard to get out of the Central Valley to Half Moon Bay at least once a year. Unfortunately, the places to stay in that area are not inexpensive. The Harbor View Inn was a very good bargain. We stayed two nights at the Harbor View Inn, and we were both extremely pleased. We'd read several other reviews before booking, so were prepared for a fairly funky stay. However, with the exception of an elderly bathroom with dripping faucet (which we were prepared for in advance), everything else about the Harbor View Inn was very pleasant. Our receptionist, who may live there, was outstanding, as was the continental breakfast, with trays to take your breakfast items to your room and a wide variety of items. The prepared coffee was quite strong, just the way we like it. Most important, we had a very comfortable bed: so much so that I slept in until 7:00 am the second morning. At home, I'm up between 4:00-5:00 am. But the best news was that the two-day price was about the same as a single night anywhere else we looked on the internet, and the Inn is within walking distance of Barbara's Fishtrap (our favorite for seafood) and Sam's.

Room Tip: All rooms have harbor views (when it isn't foggy), but 2nd floor rooms might be quieter with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanGalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a medical emergency while traveling in California. Spent a whole day in the ER and missed the window of cancellation. The ER doc told us to return to KY immediately to get continued medical treatment and Harbor View claims they can not refund our money because we missed the cancellation window. Bad Business-then when called to discuss with manager she claimed everyone has bad luck and sorry this happened to you. She also informed us that she was able to book two of the three rooms so she actually got paid double but still not willing to help!!! !Please beware-should have noticed all the poor and terrible reviews and not booked in the first place. Sad that some don't care about customer service and more concerned about the money they make!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank Bettyjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed this hotel and sprang for an upgraded room. The room was very nice and the hotel was in a good location. The people were friendly too. Only downside is that there isn't really much of a view of the harbor and it is a touch noisy if you are a really light sleeper. With that said, we were so tires from the beautiful hikes that we both slept very well.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
955 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#4 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
589 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
3.8 mi away
Coastside Inn
Coastside Inn
#7 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
186 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 51 Avenue Alhambra, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4426
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range: $133 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor View Inn, located on the shores of Half Moon Bay, CA.Come enjoy luxury and comfort at one of the most affordable hotel on the coast, make Harbor View Inn your choice of lodging in Half Moon Bay! Located across the street from the Harbor, along the beautiful California Coast - Just walking distance to the beach and also very easy excess to hwy 1. Guests enjoy the Ocean view. Each of our seventeen comfortably appointed rooms features a bay window seat offering a panoramic view of the harbor and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick and Cancelon so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing