We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Just pass by & keep going!!"”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Anaheim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Just pass by & keep going!!"”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We checked in the room and immediately saw the small heater on the floor in the corner... one that you would see in a small college dorm. And then we pulled back the sheets to see the bed. The sheets were so thin you could literally see through them. And the decor was from the mid 70's with stain marks on the walls. We left without even using the room. This hotel, if you want to call it that is WAY OVER PRICED!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank roadslesstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    44
    29
    19
    36
See reviews for
27
79
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 2 pm on a Saturday. A very quiet, simple and basic place to stay. All hotels/motels are booked this time of year so we were happy to book the last room #5, for the night. Had to request blankets and extra towels. Location is good. Close to a mini mart @ walking distance from hotel parking lot. Coffee in room. TV. Clean, quiet and worth the $196 for overnight. Gal at front desk is hilarious! Super nice. :) We will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I used to live in the Bay Area, so we chose the location to be on the coast but close enough to drive into the city for a day. Plus, we love harbors. Re: the hotel. Its a small place, cozy enough, which belongs to the large resort in back of it, which is where we had to check in. That felt weird enough. We had a corner room, with a nice gas fireplace but they forgot (!) to give us the cranks to close the windows the first night, so it was cold and noisy. (it is across a street from the harbor and under the flight path of the local airport but its mostly small planes) And when we tried calling the front desk, no answer...kinda felt a little brushed off, so to speak. The hotel is expensive for what it is, but its IS close to the city. I would probably stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azmelissa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This motel is very outdated and expensive. When we asked why they charged so much they answered that it was because it was so close to San Francisco.
When we opened the door to our room, it stank. The odor was terrible. We had to leave the door open an open the windows to try to air it out. It wasn't even just that "motel" smell you get some places, it was much worse.
The floor in the bathroom squeaked every step you took. There was only a shower, no tub.
Wallpaper was peeling and there had been something spilled on the wallpaper that had never been cleaned off. There were a few spots on the carpet.
The mattress was either very old or the cheapest that they could find. Every movement caused the springs to creak. .
They advertise that ALL rooms have a harbor view. That is a joke. We were on the first floor and all I could see of the harbor was the top foot of a couple ships masts. There is also a street right outside the window and we had a moving truck park there for awhile so that's all we saw. The view from the second floor might be better.
Breakfast was marginal, prepackaged everything as they have no place to serve it but they did offer trays so you could take it to your room. They only brewed a small pot of coffee so it was always running out.
We have been traveling for 3 1/2 weeks and this is the worst place we've stayed (and the most expensive).

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fungramma51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Half Moon Bay hotels

Southrn California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you place view at the top of your priority list in selecting a reasonably priced motel, the Harbor View Inn is a gem. Certainly not fancy nor updated, it has been clean and comfortable on my two stays here in the past few months on business. I enjoy opening the bay windows that overlook the harbor just across scenic Highway 1, then walking across to enjoy the salmon pasta at Mezza Luna.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the Harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyTheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having read many other reviews, there seems to be sometimes a disappointment regarding the rates in relation to the appearance of the hotel. We have now stayed at the place for one night. In my view the descriptions of the "look & feel" are basically correct. Whether you will like it or not, depends a little bit on the price. If you have to pay a high rate during peak periods, you will certainly expect more for the money. Staying here for a low rate is fine.

The only point for criticism is that the online portal we used for booking showed this as a *** hotel. Not being an expert for hotel categories, but if we compare this to other places where we stayed in the US, we don't quite understand. On the other hand - the place is private owned and not part of a chain, this certainly deserves a plus.

The hotel itself is very close to the Harbor, only separated by the Interstate I. We felt the noise of the traffic as not disturbing. The rooms are practical. We had a fridge, coffee machine and a microwave. The tube television is like the other interior from another time. The rooms are clean and free (reasonably fast) WLAN is available. We did not try the breakfast.

We would come back and stay here.

Room Tip: If you have heady luggage, you may want to ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkEtKatharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Older hotel. Room smelled awful with a 'freon' type smell. Had to open the windows and door and air it out before we could spend time in it. Great access to other places is the best that can be said about it. If they spent some money this hotel could be a bit more 'user friendly'. Definitely not worth the price paid and would not have spent a second night

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coastside Inn
Coastside Inn
#7 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Property: Harbor View Inn
Address: 51 Avenue Alhambra, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor View Inn, located on the shores of Half Moon Bay, CA.Come enjoy luxury and comfort at one of the most affordable hotel on the coast, make Harbor View Inn your choice of lodging in Half Moon Bay! Located across the street from the Harbor, along the beautiful California Coast - Just walking distance to the beach and also very easy excess to hwy 1. Guests enjoy the Ocean view. Each of our seventeen comfortably appointed rooms features a bay window seat offering a panoramic view of the harbor and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing