We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bandit Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The Bandit Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stay here every year because we have a music festival that starts off at Old Princeton Landing, about 300 meters up the road.
The hotel has improved every year we have stayed there. Some rooms have been redecorated ( with a redecorated price). We stayed in the old rooms but still very comfortable.
Great breakfast place next door

Room Tip: close the windows as the fog horn blows the entire night!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania M, Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Robert & Karen,

We can not tell you how much we appreciate your business! We love to have you with us every year!
Thanks for the fog horn tip, we will remember to pass it on to our guests as well. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    41
    25
    13
    31
See reviews for
21
72
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placerville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Very nice room and a great location, near some favorite restaurants. In fact the manager said that by showing our room key we could get 15 % off at Flavor, a wonderful comfort food restaurant.

There were some minor issues. The modest continental breakfast was not available on time one day. There was some mold in the bathroom sink that could only be seen from a sitting position, not from a normal standing position above. The toilet wanted to run, but I took off the lid and got the chain unstuck. The heat lamp switches did not work. The control knobs just fell off.

On the other hand, the manager helped me understand the remote control for the TV, and promised future upgrades for the entertainment system in the future.

The room had a nice view, was quite light and airy, and we slept well. The location is in short walking distance to excellent restaurants on both sides of the highway. The El Granada community of locals that gather at Cafe Classique are authentic, and just one building away.

We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The upstairs gets a little better view of the ocean and harbor area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zelins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stay there on a regular basis, I read some other reviews that were negative and cannot understand why. The room is clean, the staff is vrey friendly, the Maids are great.
The Girl at the front desk turned us on to a great coffee place just on the corner, we love that place. We have stayed in some of the older rooms and had no issues, we have also stayed in the NEW remodeled rooms which are even better.
Give it a try, they have a new Manager that just took over in the past two weeks.

Room Tip: Get the New remodeled rooms, very nice.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgalligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Booked this 1 night stay online at the last minute. Read reviews here but kept an open mind as many comments relate to road & foghorn noise which for an Inn next to the sea on the coast road is to be expected & unfair to keep commenting on ... What I can say is were greeted warmly & got keys for room 11 upstairs. We'd no major complaints with room. It was fresh & clean with fridge, micro & tv. Shower is a bit fiddly to get to temperature but it's not an uncommon issue with unfamiliar showers. Like other reviewers we did hear the next door occupants coming & going through the wall but it didn't particularly bother us. After a nice sleep we were delighted with the complimentary breakfast in the reception area. Trays r provided, & there's a choice of fruit juice, hot drinks, fresh milk, cereals, buns & egg/sausage muffins which can b heated up in tour rooms micro if u take your tray to your room to eat which we thought was a great idea. Overall, we were delighted with this wee place. Thanks for a great service.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keveeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel has the worse service ever! The wallpaper is coming off the walls and it smells horrible. There was no air in the room or tub. Not even a refrigerator. They suggested that we open a window for air. The bed has stains on it!! To much money for a ridiculous room!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itslys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Half Moon Bay hotels

Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I know alot of you understand what I am talking about when I say that after working hard for months and months, you so look forward to getting away for the weekend. And you take the time and effort to read and critique, the best you can (since you have not seen it yet), the place where you are going to stay. Well, this place was not it!
Upon reading the description online, it said that it was the last room available that was newly renovated. It also said that it had a bay window with a water view. Yes, it was newly renovated, but the room was no more than about 12 by 12. Yup, I'm not kidding. My Husband and I had a hard time getting around the bed at the same time as there was no room between the bed and the dresser. Secondly, the room had a bay window (you could not sit down at), that had a view of the parking lot. No, you were no where near the water! The brand new refrigerator did not work, and when it finally kicked it at 2 in the morning, you could hear it powering off and on, so it was hard to sleep. Btw, we were in room #3, just for the record.
The bottom line, is that this place is really a motel dump. The name confuses the issue, but it is really just a cheap motel that charges $200.00 a night - still can't believe it.
If I had it to do over again, and the next time we go up to Half Moon Bay, we will stay someplace nice like the Oceano, or the Beach House Hotel. For a little more, I would rather have the real thing, wouldn't you?
If Trip Advisor wants a copy of my hotel bill, let me know.

Room Tip: If you absolutely have made up your mind to stay at this dump, pick a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We booked online and the photos are deceiving the REMODELLED rooms look really nice. We arrived and I was very shocked at how different our room looked than what we paid for, we were given one of the old rooms even though we were charged nearly $200 for the night.
Really disappointed, the room smelt terrible, like an ashtray and I could smell mold in the bathroom. Had to sleep with window open to breathe and the noise from traffic was awful. Definately not a non smoking room and the TV was a relic from the 70's. So make sure you ASK for a REMODELLED room or they will rip you off!!! Will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotelgirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor I, Front Office Manager at Harbor View Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Hotelgirl75,

we would like to thank you for your time and effort by commenting on our hotel.

we certainly do regret the fact that you had a not so pleasant experience during your stay. our goal is to provide a hospitable, friendly and clean environment to all of our guests, and wo do find your input very valuable towards maintaining such a feel. Our hotel is currently in the process of being completely remodeled and should be complete soon, that's why we do try and make relevant that not all rooms are remodeled on all websites and we also have all the room type pictures available on the reservation page when you make reservation so there won't be any confusion with the reservation. We do deeply apologize that you did not get what you intended We hope that in the future we will get a chance to provide you with the hospitality you deserve.

Thank you
Marina
Manager - Harbor View Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
0.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
6.6 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Pacifica
3.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
3.8 mi away
Coastside Inn
Coastside Inn
#7 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Property: Harbor View Inn
Address: 51 Avenue Alhambra, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harbor View Inn, located on the shores of Half Moon Bay, CA.Come enjoy luxury and comfort at one of the most affordable hotel on the coast, make Harbor View Inn your choice of lodging in Half Moon Bay! Located across the street from the Harbor, along the beautiful California Coast - Just walking distance to the beach and also very easy excess to hwy 1. Guests enjoy the Ocean view. Each of our seventeen comfortably appointed rooms features a bay window seat offering a panoramic view of the harbor and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing