We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrific !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

really nice - top view - perfect service - wonderful resort - Top Hotel - 5 Stars - will be back soon - exellent Ocean view - nice Golf resort - Situated southwest of San Francisco, provides a magnificent backdrop for the perfect Northern California coast vacation, own terrace fire pit, Resort offers a stunning destination for your next getaway. innovative cuisine in ocean-view restaurants, two golf courses

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthiasLischke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,187
    323
    140
    75
    60
See reviews for
338
793
46
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, b.c.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

If you want a relaxing weekend with the sound of waves or just want to go away for the weekend to play golf, this is the place for you. The decor is classic. This Ritz Carlon has the cushiest king beds that you just sink into and never want to get out of. For a guilty pleasure try their grilled cheese sandwich from room service. Their special cocktails are yummy too! This is a great place to share with friends or just getaway to crashing west coast waves. If you visit san francisco, go out of your way and stay here. There is a really nice beach and a short walk from the hotel. The town has good restaurants and it is charming all around.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizzjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south orange county, ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

We booked our room under the Peace of Mind package--that it was! The rate was stay for three nights, pay for two and included the resort fee, valet fee, business center access, and kids club daily. It also included breakfast for two, but hotel was generous enough to comp breakfast for our 2 kids as well. Exceptional service all around!

Local markets and cheap eats for kids were close by. We stocked up on s'mores kits and the hotel provided the sticks. Our kids loved roasting marshmallows in the large firepits. Claim chairs before sunset, grab complimentary blankets and enjoys glass of wine fireside while enjoying the stunning ocean view.

Our family hiked Purisima Creek Trail. Perfect level trail for our 8 year old and 3 year old. Large redwoods shaded our hike and kept things cool while sunshine filtered through the trees.

Next time, we will book a room with private patio and fire pit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank realocmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

The Ritz-Carlton was an awesome spot for a weekend get away. But be warned.. it is PRICEY! We quickly realized that your $500/night isn't going towards the food (which is good, but not impressive) or the amenities (the room was nice, but we've been in better for less) .. no. What you are paying for is the service (which in a word is AMAZING!), the view (BREATHTAKING) and the ambiance (SOOOOO RELAXING). Whatever we asked for, the staff provided (The only "No" we heard was when we tried to get a free upgrade to Club Level. LOL. But they tried!). We decided before we checked-out that we'd try to get back there once a month. It was THAT good!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mzjbce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

On June 28th our party went to the Ritz @ Half Moon Bay to enjoy a snack and beverage. We where there around 1:30 in the afternoon. There was hardly anyone there, just a few occupied tables. After 15 minutes I went to the bar and asked the bartender if it was self services as several servers in uniform passed but we where never acknowledged. We where getting ready to leave when a server finally came up and said she would be just a few more moments. Had she done that in the first place I don't think we would have been as unhappy as we where. This was our first impression of the place so we started off on the wrong foot.

Leaving was a different story. When we went back to valet to retrieve our car the ticket and a $5.00 bill was handed to the attendent. He looked at my friend and said "well the fee is $5.00, is this all you're giving?". What an uncomfortable situation to be in and how rude for him to speak to her in that manner. It was uncalled for. He stood there until more money was handed to him for a tip. If I had it to do over again I would seek out the general manager and visit with him about the poor service inside and out.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

This was our first time traveling through HMB. The town is quaint but does not offer much. The Ritz property is special in every way so I won't over do it with praise - it's 5 star for sure with incredible views. The negatives are small; parking fee of $45 seems steep for a place in the country, bed was good but not as good as Westin's Heavenly Bed it sagged on one side. The properly offers complimentary car service to and from town. Very nice offer if you want to leave the property for dinner. We highly recommend Pasta Moon a restaurant in town. I can't say enough about the Ritz staff - very helpful and nice. They have s'mores by the outside fireplace.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agpklp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

This hotel was just as beautiful as the pictures on the website. I had booked a courtyard room and found we were upgraded to an ocean view cottage when we arrived! There are activities for kids to do if they are older (ours were both under 4) but there is not much to do with little ones. We drove through Half Moon and there was not a lot to it. This is definitely a location you just want to stay at and enjoy the property and its amenities.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbell20x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing