We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Vio.com
Skyscanner.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,680)
Filter reviews
2,680 results
Traveler rating
1,751
451
228
145
105
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,751
451
228
145
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit the ritz club level golf course indoor pool guest house valet parking resort fee tennis courts coastal view room beautiful property navio restaurant the cliff main building special occasion breathtaking views overlooking the ocean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 2,680 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2019

My wife & I stayed here during our, now, annual fall west coast excursion. The we stayed in a private room away from the main building that was quiet and well appointed. The service was first class from the front desk to the valet. We enjoyed a pumpkin soup that I considered the best I've ever tasted. The grounds are very well kept and the concierge was helpful with the various amenities that are offer on and off the grounds. I highly recommend stay at this hotel especially in the fall. It is very quiet and well worth the money

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2019

Dear Ed O,

Thank you for the positive review and for taking the time to recognize our hospitality. We are delighted that our Ladies and Gentlemen helped to make your visit memorable, as our goal is to provide an extraordinary stay that exceeds your expectations. Moreover, it was also a pleasure knowing you loved our graciously appointed accommodations and beautiful property. Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, and the kind recommendation; we look forward to accommodating you again soon.

Warm regards,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019 via mobile

This was the first stop on our honeymoon. We drove down the coast and could see the hotel in the distance on the edge of a golf course. The view was extraordinary before we even arrived. Look, this is a Ritz-Carlton and you get what you pay for. This is true five star service. Everything worked like clockwork. The check-in, the bell Captain and all the service was just outstanding. Everyone new our name Which was so welcoming. Our room was decorated with all sorts of nice things.

We stayed on site for cocktails and for dinner and everything was very nice. The outdoor restaurant served dinner until after sunset which was wonderful. We sat at the edge of the green and had dinner while we watched people finish off the golf day. The bagpipes was a nice touch. This hotel is very expensive in every way but I would do it again. Everything was worth it. Thank you to all the staff.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank RPS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

Dear Patrickrps,

Firstly, we want to congratulate you both on your recent marriage. We are pleased we exceeded your expectations. It is our goal to create memorable experiences with enhanced hospitality and thoughtful amenities, and we are glad your comments reflect the same. It was also a pleasure knowing how much you loved your time at our restaurant and that you could take in the serene beauty of our surroundings. We appreciate you choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to celebrate this special time in your life, and we hope you will revisit the next time you are in the city. Thank you again, and we send all our best for your future together.

Warm regards,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019

This hotel is beautiful! It sits on a cliff overlooking the Pacific ocean. There are many places to sit and watch the water. They also have two golf courses and a spa. The rooms are beautiful. We had a firepit on our patio overlooking the ocean. The staff went out of their way to make us feel special. If I had one complaint (strong word) it would be that the double beds are full and not queen. Two adults may not be comfortable in such a small bed. Other than that, it was a perfect stay!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sshamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Dear sshamby,

It was a pleasure welcoming you and your family at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. We are pleased that we could be a part of your memorable visit to our beautiful area. We are also delighted to know you loved your luxury fire pit suite, inspired by the Northern Californian coast, which is meant to relax and rejuvenate you, all while our Ladies and Gentlemen seamlessly take care of all the details. However, we regret your disappointment with the size of the bed and greatly appreciate your feedback. On behalf of all of us, we thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review, and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

This is an amazing property, but I'm a bit bummed because we were on the same floor as a wedding party who felt the need to chat all night in the hallway...even after a couple of calls to the front desk. I finally opened the door at 6:30 a.m. and they bolted back into their rooms. I would have loved to have been told when we checked in that the wedding party was on our floor. We would have been happy to adjust accordingly. Is consideration of other guests now just an afterthought? The location of the hotel is gorgeous, drinks are perfect, food is amazing and consider splurging on a room with a fire pit (you won't be disappointed). Also, be prepared to wait for your car from valet.

Room tip: Fire pit room. If you don't have kids, try to avoid the main lawn area.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chrisfesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

Dear chrisfesl,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post a review. It is our goal to create memorable experiences with enhanced hospitality and thoughtful amenities. We are also happy you particularly loved our outstanding location, elegant rooms, and quality food. However, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused due to noise disturbances from our other guests and not being responsive enough to your needs. It was our pleasure accommodating you, and we hope you will make The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay your home away from home whenever your travels bring you to our inviting area.

Warm regards,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019

My husband and I spent 3 nights here celebrating our anniversary. I have to say, we had grand plans to explore the area but the hotel was so lovely we never left the property. We had a club level, coastal view room, which was very nice. Great view of the bagpiper at night, the golf course and of course the ocean. The room had a gas fireplace, which made it seem extra cozy when the fog rolled in. Great housekeeping service - one of my pet peeves is coming back to the room after being out and about and the room isn't made up. Did not have that issue here - housekeeping was efficient and quick. Loved that! The club level was exceptional. Nice selection of food and drinks - especially the cheeses!- and great service. We had dinner at Navio one night and it was delicious. Again, the service was above average and really appreciated the knowledge of the sommelier. However, the highlight of the stay was simply being outside, sitting in the adirondack chairs with a good book, a glass of wine and enjoying the ocean. Excellent stay and would definitely return.

Room tip: If we return, I'd opt for the rooms with the fire pits
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2019

Dear Sue A,

We wish you a very happy anniversary. Thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay. We are pleased that we could be a part of your memorable visit to our beautiful area. Our rooms, inspired by the Northern Californian coast featuring breathtaking ocean views and the surroundings, are meant to relax and rejuvenate you, all while our Ladies and Gentlemen seamlessly take care of all the details. We are glad that this was the highlight of your stay. Moreover, it was also a pleasure reading how much you enjoyed dining at our restaurant, Navio. On behalf of all of us, we thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
The Ladies and Gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews