We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Setting and Expected Level of Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spectacular Setting and Expected Level of Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

If you like ocean and golf course views, it's hard to find a better location than this. The October weather was dry and sunny when we visited, so it added to the ambience, although we experienced the Half Moon Bay wind and chill during one of the evenings outdoors. The staff thoughtfully provided blankets for those who didn't dress warmly enough. We were here for a conference, so we had wide exposure to the food and service. It met expectations, and some of the recipes with locally sourced ingredients proved first rate. We appreciated the ocean and 18th hole views from our room, liked the decent glass of local zinfandel we were offered at check-in, and found the room and property met the decor and standards you would expect at a Ritz. All in all, the price costs you dear for everything, but if the weather cooperates as it did this time the indulgence is worth it for a few days.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank temeraire53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    311
    128
    71
    54
See reviews for
304
717
39
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The location is stunning and for the most part our experience was excellent. Two things keep me from saying that the expereince as a whole was excellent for a Ritz experience.
One was the check-in process. We did check in a little early, but were told that we would be in our room by 4:00. We were told we could wait in the club lounge and they would come and get us when our room was ready. We had a room at the club level. We waited and waited and well past four no one had come for us, but other couples that were waiting had been summoned and told their rooms were ready. We finally checked and they said they were sorry, they didn't undertand why we had not been called, but our room had been ready for a while. We had to rush to get down to dinner reservations when there should have been no need for that.
Second reason I would not give an excellent rating was the restaurant, Navio was not up to par with some other Ritz property restaurants where we have eaten.
On the positive side ... this location is stunning. Sitting in the club lounge looking at that view over champagne is wonderful!
The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was kind and helpful and the food presentations in the club lounge were some of the best we have experienced. The concierge was helpful in making suggestions for other places to visit and things to do in the area.
The wine bar was fun and enjoyed trying an aroma and taste test with the sommelier.
There were several weddings on property this weekend and looked like they were well prepared for some nasty weather on day.
We would love to come back. It may seem picky not to give an excellent review, but ... we stay at many Ritz properties, so we do expect a lot.

Room Tip: Chose the club level if you can facing the ocean. We noticed people that had the main level rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelbee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent a beautiful fall weekend at the Ritz-Carlton Half Moon Bay. The hotel is a grand structure right on the coast of Half-Moon Bay. Our room had a lovely ocean view. Service within the hotel was excellent - a signature of this hotel line. Unfortunately service at the spa and at the golf shop were below par for such a nice hotel. Even though these were operated not under the hotel itself, they are associated closely and the level of service and attention to clients were noticeably mediocre. We would still return, however!

Room Tip: Try the rooms with the fire places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suntravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I choose this amazing resort for a quick weekend celebration of our 37th "Dating Anniversary." We've been married for 33 years, but have always celebrated our first date that occurred when we were 17 years old after a school fundraiser (a Car Wash) -- we went to McDonald's and then to a Movie. Each year at some point in our celebration weekend, we always go to McDonald's. I say all this because we happened to mention this when we drove up to the Gate and the sweet "guard" asked us whether we were celebrating anything. When we checked in, the desk clerk was incredibly nice, helpful, and already knew that we were celebrating our anniversary. A few hours later, two wonderful managers (Samantha and Silvia) called our room and ask if they could drop by our room to bring us something. When they arrived, they gave us a customized McDonald's menu that had the prices from 1976 (you truly could eat a full mean for under $1.50). They told us they wanted to provide our McDonald's meal -- and they were here to take our order. Samantha returned at the appointed time with our McDonald's order on silver trays with extra fries (because I had joked I'd bought my wife a lot of fries over the years). Then Samantha gave us a customized CD that had music from 1976...starting with "Car Wash", in memory of where I first asked my wife out on the date. But, it didn't end there. After dinner we went for a walk near the beach in the evening. When we returned a few hours later, there were rose petals placed in a path from the door and onto the bed with a beautiful red rose at the end of the trail. We felt like royalty. We felt like the staff -- all of them -- really listened when we spoke and they went out of their way to may our visit the most memorable of any anniversary weekend we have ever had. A huge thanks to Samantha and Silvia, and to the Management of this amazing hotel for providing a culture and training for this type of excellence.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dysny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Here is why it may be the best hotel in California: incomparable views; the rooms that face the ocean are fantastic, those that don't aren't bad; the best fire pits, even though they have been converted to gas; great walks; fun golf; great beach. Here is why it isn't: public areas need some significant sprucing up; the top of bar in the main lounge looks like someone has been dancing on it with baseball spikes; the bar tender in the wine bar, Eno, will try to sell you a $120 bottle of chardonnay that is room temperature, you walk past staff in the lobby at mid morning as they sit on the floor putting touch up marker on chipped and scratched chair legs; the staff at buffet meals is not prepared, meaning your clients/customers are waiting for food; the exercise space is small and the weight is equipment lacking with very little for core exercises. I love this place, I really do, but the staff and the interior public spaces are not up to the standards they advertise and you expect at a property of this type.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keenefleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is our favorite place in the US! We go in the summer to escape the heat. Beautiful place, great service and food. It is a small and safe place for our boys (7 and 11) to have a little freedom. We love the ball machine at the tennis courts (free!) and the golf course. Also check out the elephant seals at Ana Nuevo (30 min drive) and the rainforest (5 min drive) has great hiking. Tip- bring your own smores and suppiles and save $50. The room service offers this and my kids want to roast marshmallows at the firepits every night. Heaven on earth. Already booked to go back for our 5th trip next year

Room Tip: Amex plat. card will get you free breakfast buffet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura36990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on a Saturday and it was very busy. Nonetheless, the service was quick, as was check in. We had an amazing room, 676. It was a corner, top floor overlooking the coast on both sides. The windows also opened a bit which provided a great breeze and sounds of the waves.

The room was spacious and had nice vaulted ceilings. The bathroom was very nice, but the light switch for all the lights was on the outside wall and in the night was somewhat jarring to see all the lights. I wish that we had packed a small night light. Other than that it was great.

The first night we stayed, traveling from the East coast there was a wedding. The party was in a ballroom right below our room and was really loud. We were exhausted but of course understood that the wedding was the priority. I called the desk to ask what time it would shut down, not a complaint just a question. They said 10:00 and promptly at ten it was quiet! The next day the manager sent a bottle of champagne to us for "our trouble". It was no trouble, just really tired guests.

The staff was universally friendly and helpful, the restaurants and bars, especially outside were great.

I highly recommend the hot chocolate and s'mores if you are staying over a weekend. It was great to prepare those over the fire pits. The Sunday brunch was great.

Yes the parking is ridiculously expensive, but it is efficient, and this is a Ritz, so you should expect those charges.

The concierge lounge was worth every penny, and unlike some lounges has an amazing view.

We would definitely return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelerT796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-2376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing