We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is classic Ritz with their intense focus on the details.
And like any Ritz - be prepared to shell out the big bucks.
It is a wonderful place to spend a Sunday afternoon with or without the sun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    311
    128
    71
    54
See reviews for
304
717
39
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We did not stay at the Ritz however we wanted to go take a look and have lunch on Sunday. We had to valet park and when we drove up they informed us that it would be $20.00 to go in and take a look or $10.00 if we ate at the coffee shop. We were a little surprised that we had to pay $10.00 to go and have something to eat. They should tell people that at the guard gate, not at the valet parking area. The valet actually apologized for the charge when we came out and asked for our car. Maybe he thinks it is an unusually high charge to go and have lunch at a coffee shop too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Was surprised that this property wasn't up to the usual Ritz-Carlton standards. Rooms were less than clean and the beds the most uncomfortable I have experienced in a hotel in years. Would expect that the mattress should have been replaced a long time ago. Food was adequate but very expensive for what it was. Overall, nothing special but the view from the patio. However, Michael in reservations and Greg in the restaurant were lovely and responsive. They really provided excellent, personalized service. Thanks to both of them!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bently1614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, ME
Level Contributor
183 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 6 days at this hotel resort and the service, location and views were absolutely top notch. However, eating here is a different experience. Food is solid but so overpriced as to take away from the experience. There has to be a reasonable alternative!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlGagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Reserved a fire pit ocean view terrace room which was nicely appointed. The view of the ocean is obscured by the hill in front of terrace so not much of a view but the bathroom and living areas are spacious and comfortable. One need not play golf to stay here, it's simply a beautiful location with the sea, wildlife and walking trails. Would only recommend view rooms since the front of the hotel faces homes and car port etc . Asprey amenities and seller are tub and shower. Large bathrooms and plenty of closet space. I paid 855 a night and while a bit steep it's a great place to unwind and relax

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colonelscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon since we were married in Wine Country and had a night in the Bay Area before flying out on a Monday morning. We were pleasantly surprised with the fact that it was not actually too bad of a drive to the airport! We did not have any trouble finding it with our GPS.

We were hesitant to stay here given some of the reviews on TripAdvisor about the quality of the staff and the experience, but I have to say, in terms of service, this hotel really got it right. All (and I truly mean ALL) of the staff we encountered, from the valet to the front desk staff to the room service, were polite, polished and went out their way to make sure you enjoyed your stay. We stayed in a ground floor, firepit room (complimentary upgrade) and found it to be quiet, spacious and well-appointed. The beds were heavenly, the bathrooms are gigantic and exceptionally clean and I honestly did not want to get out of that amazing shower. They also have a great bagpiper play in the evenings as the sun sets, which is a neat experience.

Knowing I was going to write this review, I really tried to find something wrong with this hotel, but I found nothing. To top it off, this hotel has absolutely incredible views and a great walking path (but bring your jacket because it is very chilly near the ocean!). This may have been the most relaxing day and night of our entire honeymoon. As a side note, we were staying on points, and they honored our Marriott Platinum Rewards status (without even asking), which we were not sure they would do, including complimentary internet.

The valet parking is expensive ($45), but we were given a resort credit that covered it. Also, this is a large hotel and is fairly busy, but they still manage to make it feel personal and upscale. I would love to stay here again, and hope to do so again in the near future.

Room Tip: The ground floor fire pit rooms are lovely and have great sunset views, though they are close to one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Il.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz on the 1st day of our San Francisco/Napa trip. The rooms were unbelievable .the grounds and view breath taking. Great view of the golf course and the bay. The bar had a great wine flight that we sampled. The staff and managers were all accommodating, professional and very friendly. The stay made our trip memorable.

Room Tip: You want to be high up, with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-2376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Marriott, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing