We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Nearby Hotels
Beach House at Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$178
$143
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Rose Inn(Half Moon Bay)
$414
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor View Inn(Half Moon Bay)
$159
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zaballa House(Half Moon Bay)
$144
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nantucket Whale Inn(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$388
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coastside Inn(Half Moon Bay)
$159
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,229)
Filter reviews
2,229 results
Traveler rating
1,492
391
172
95
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,492
391
172
95
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitthe ritzclub levelgolf courseguest houseindoor poolvalet parkingnavio restaurantthe cliffbeautiful resorttennis courtsresort feewine barplay golfrose petalsturn down servicemain building
Filter
Updating list...
1,474 - 1,479 of 2,229 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz on the 1st day of our San Francisco/Napa trip. The rooms were unbelievable .the grounds and view breath taking. Great view of the golf course and the bay. The bar had a great wine flight that we sampled. The staff and managers were all accommodating, professional and very friendly. The stay made our trip memorable.

Room Tip: You want to be high up, with a view of the bay.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

First the good news... The view is spectacular, the health club was clean and up to date and the staff, excluding the Front Desk attendant Kelli were great.

After seeing the room I was assigned, I was not happy and went back to the Front Desk for a change. Kelli was not very helpful and the only option presented to me was an upgrade that was charged at $150 per night. Given that I am a Gold member and the hotel was at 60% occupancy, I believe more should have been done to alleviate my concerns without an additional charge being levied. In my trips throughout North America and Singapore, this is a common practice followed at Ritz properties but not at this hotel.

The suite we paid a premium for was roomier, but was not cleaned to the normal Ritz Carlton standards. There were crumbs on the couch and the furnishings definitely were in need of an upgrade.

We did write the GM of the Hotel to voice our concern prior to posting this note but were not given the courtesy of a response, which speaks volumes as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz in Half Moon Bay the end of August and it certainly lived up to the reputation it holds.

We arranged a limo through the concierge before coming in, and the trip from the airport (SFO) was surprisingly short and enjoyable. Limo driver was very nice.

The property itself was beautiful, and we had a huge suite on the 5th floor (concierge level) and although not overlooking the ocean it was still nice. Beautiful views and we did have some nice weather. Although it was supposed to be in the 60's it was sunny and nearly 70 every day. The fog does roll in when it wants to though.

Sitting by the Pacific is always wonderful and relaxing. Plenty to do by going into town (nice shops) or just enjoying the view. Hiking, bird watching and trips into the California countryside can fill your days.

Taxis are readily available, but give them a few minutes to arrive.

Food was very good at the lounge and at Navio and the Conservatory (our waitress Shannon one night was super).

The only negative I have is that the pool is somewhat off property (10 minute walk) and enclosed. Personally I love sitting by the pool and getting sun, so don't have those expectations when you come.

I have to say that the entire staff was perhaps the most courteous and accommodating when compared to any other property I have stayed. Friendly greetings, always willing to help and seemed to really enjoy what they were doing. They should all be commended as its the people that make this Ritz a great property.

Spa was also very good, great massage and nice lounge/hot tubs and a coed mineral bath. I would do again.

We did do an organized winery tour with our convention group (about 20 of us). It certainly could have been better organized on the logistics and how the time was spent. Still nice to see some beautiful country, but if you have a car do this on your own.

We did get a good rate on the rooms for 5 days, so look for specials. Either way it ain't cheap!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

VALET PARKING THIEVES !! A warning to anyone leaving their car with Valet Parking at the Ritz in Half Moon Bay! (This review is only about a customer's experience with theft and the way Ritz management arrogantly deals with their customers).

My personal experience as follows. We left our car with valet parking for two hours on Friday, to join 4 other friends for dinner. Bottom line, a radar detector and camera, total value just over $700 was stolen from the car while during the possession of the valet.

I complained to Ritz about this, and they don't give a damn! Had the run around from them for about 2 weeks before they finally responded with "didn't you read the back of the ticket? We are not responsible for any valuables stolen from your car!

We spent $700 on dinner that night. The expectation is, you do not expect anything to be stolen when your vehicle is in the hands of the Ritz Carlton !!

They have just lost 6 customers from our business group. Their arrogance is second to none!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
5  Thank MGX3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

While in San Fransisco area we stayed in this hotel for a few days. Booked two connecting club access rooms with water view for my family. You find a lot of locals come to the hotel as a meeting place and to go to its dining venues. The food was generally good and service at the dining venues was good as well. The food at the club lounge was great sometimes and so and so sometimes. The rooms were also showing signs of getting old. The staff was friendly and the experience was positive however the experience did not compare to other wonderful luxury hotels/resorts we have been to in the past. The kids played tennis and played basketball in a half court and all in all we had a nice time. Not playing golf, we felt that this location would have been better suited for golf lovers as it amplifies the beauty of the surroundings. The location of the hotel is a little bit in the middle of nowhere and far away from other possible activities which amplified that one would enjoy more if one played golf. While the location and site is stunning we felt that this was less of a resort location and more of a golf destination / an anchor for a large residential development nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foundtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews