We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valet Parking Thefts” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Valet Parking Thefts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

VALET PARKING THIEVES !! A warning to anyone leaving their car with Valet Parking at the Ritz in Half Moon Bay! (This review is only about a customer's experience with theft and the way Ritz management arrogantly deals with their customers).

My personal experience as follows. We left our car with valet parking for two hours on Friday, to join 4 other friends for dinner. Bottom line, a radar detector and camera, total value just over $700 was stolen from the car while during the possession of the valet.

I complained to Ritz about this, and they don't give a damn! Had the run around from them for about 2 weeks before they finally responded with "didn't you read the back of the ticket? We are not responsible for any valuables stolen from your car!

We spent $700 on dinner that night. The expectation is, you do not expect anything to be stolen when your vehicle is in the hands of the Ritz Carlton !!

They have just lost 6 customers from our business group. Their arrogance is second to none!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MGX3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    281
    117
    61
    50
See reviews for
262
626
36
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

While in San Fransisco area we stayed in this hotel for a few days. Booked two connecting club access rooms with water view for my family. You find a lot of locals come to the hotel as a meeting place and to go to its dining venues. The food was generally good and service at the dining venues was good as well. The food at the club lounge was great sometimes and so and so sometimes. The rooms were also showing signs of getting old. The staff was friendly and the experience was positive however the experience did not compare to other wonderful luxury hotels/resorts we have been to in the past. The kids played tennis and played basketball in a half court and all in all we had a nice time. Not playing golf, we felt that this location would have been better suited for golf lovers as it amplifies the beauty of the surroundings. The location of the hotel is a little bit in the middle of nowhere and far away from other possible activities which amplified that one would enjoy more if one played golf. While the location and site is stunning we felt that this was less of a resort location and more of a golf destination / an anchor for a large residential development nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foundtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archbold, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel was the best in every category. The service was exceptional and the rooms were very nice. Pay to get the view of the ocean-so worth it. Spa experience was amazing. Wished it would have been warmer during the days we were there but the views were amazing. Loved the turn down service every night--fire crackling on TV, radio playing softly and of course chocolates on pillows!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Unfortunately I have a very high standard of hotels since I was spoiled here starting in 2006 until now. I am not sure why others have given it bad rating. The rooms are great size with a tub and shower. The property is gorgeous, the golf is amazing, the food is excellent and the service is superb! When they brought up our car, there were bottled waters in them. When we went towards the elevator, someone pressed the button for us. I would like to know where everyone else thinks is better so I can give them a shot because I truly loved it here!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a firepit room, overlooking the ocean. It was just perfect! We were celebrating birthdays/anniversary and the hotel kindly left us a S'more kit as their gift. They also supply cuddly throws if it is cooler outside, which we snuggled up in, opened a bottle of wine (from the wine steward who actually came to our patio to see if there was anything we needed), sat on the patio at sunset, and had our S'mores. Who could ask for anything more? The hotel's walking trail along the coast was beautiful and very well kept. The Concierge was extraordinarily helpful, giving us some great suggestions of places to see, restaurants, etc., in the area. The Hotel even supplied a driving guide, which we found very helpful indeed. It was a wonderful trip.

Room Tip: We had the firepit room, which was just beautiful. Beautiful view, and sitting on the patio, overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this wonderful resort several times and look forward to returning soon. The room overlooking the golf course and Pacific is magnificent. Sitting outside by the fire pit in the evening enjoying the sunset, sipping a nice wine and listening to the bagpiper make for a truly great evening. Dinner in the hotel was great. The staff was helpful as in all Ritz properties. Overall a great spot to unwind from big city life.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Pacific are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed in a very nice room (not ocean view) for a two day conference. Long walk to conference rooms (but that was fine). The room was nicely decorated and large but lacked character. The room had nice in room coffee service but used paper cups for the coffee. The grounds are large as is the main hotel, but it seemed drab and without character. It is trying too hard to be elegant but comes across as fake and boring. The staff were nice, however. I expected much more for the price. A positive note-- the catered lunch was amazing. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are spending the money to stay here - get a ocean view room in the ocean building- many of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Marriott, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing