We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“LOVED ALBERT!!!! The rest was:” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
guerneville, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVED ALBERT!!!! The rest was:”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2008

This hotel is beautiful, our cottage suite was beautiful, the Housekeeping Manager, Albert, has wonderful hospitality skills, integrity, ethics, and personality.-and took care to make sure our stay was good even with such horrible service. The concierge, Cassandra-above and beyond-these two people were stars in an otherwise horrible service oriented hotel. Starting with Maurice at the front desk-we checked in at 3ish. We found out although we booked at club level-the club was not open this time of year. THis was very upsetting. We then asked to have drinks sent to our room, which Maurice said he would take care of 1x, 2x, 3x, 4x PHONED HIM DIRECT EACH TIME-we got them at 8:30 (ordered at 3:15pm), WITH OUR MEAL-SUPPOSED TO BE AT 3:30pm!!! The next day we ordered in room dining-after 20 minutes they called us and told us they did not have our smoothies, although they were on the menu. Then they brought breakfast with the wrong food. We gave up at that point. Then although we had a handicapped car-we were told we were not able to park in the handicapped place near our cottage (for club only). Food, when correct-was great. Pool -great. Grounds beautiful. Cottage beautiful. Seems like staff are not a team. One hand does not speak to the other. I will go back because of the few good staff, food, and grounds. From, Marcy Orosco and Marsha Cohen

  • Liked — Albert, the houskeeing manager-the grounds and cottage suite
  • Disliked — staff dishonesty at front desk, ie, when promised things did not get-like took 3 days for Smores kit
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mental1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    311
    128
    71
    54
See reviews for
304
717
39
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

We have stayed at this property twice and been blown away both times. Don't get me wrong it is expense, but if you have the money you will not be disappointed. Both times we have at a club level ocean view king bed room. Room is normal size but has seating right at the window so you can look at the ocean which is lit at night and the view of the 18th hole of the golf course. Amazing views and you hear the ocean waves crashing all night its awesome. Club level is a must, it gives you 5 food and beverage presentations. You don't really have to buy any food, except maybe dinner. It also gives you wine and hard liquor which its a big plus. The staff is very friendly and it doesn't seem too stuffy for the price. Service is A plus, they came and got my luggage, put it in the car and had the car waiting for us after we got back from a ocean walk. I wil put pictues on here that do this all justice. Be aware of the resort fee which is think is a 45 a day or something a bit high and valet parking.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — the empty pocketbook
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 5 day stay at the Ritz Carlton in Half Moon Bay. I have to say it is one of the best trips we have ever taken. We arrived at 11:00 at night after a long drive (5 hours) from Bakersfield. I had a hip replacement in Dec. and was extremely tired. We were met immediately by Lee who took over everything from car to bags. We went right in and were met by Bambi at the check-in desk. Lee came in and suggested we have a glass of wine while he took our luggage up. The bar was lovely and we were given a glass of wine. I had mentioned to Bambi that the hotel smelled wonderful from all the gorgeous lilies. We hadn't been in our room 10 minutes when Lee knocked on the door with a vase of the lilies. How incredibly nice. The next morning Bambi left me a card stating that she had another "flower surprise" for me on Saturday which was our last night. Our room was spacious and beautiful, the bathroom was huge with a separate shower. On Saturday night we came back from a day in San Francisco to discover that Bambi had covered our bed in rose petals from a wedding they had that day. I could not believe how special these people made us feel. I also went to the spa and had a wonderful facial (the best I've had), a pedicure and a shampoo and blow dry. All were excellent.
I would return to this hotel over and over and I will certainly recommend to everyone I know.

  • Liked — The courtesy of the staff, the fantastic room and the spa
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank snoopy7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

After dealing with a very stressful family emergency on my birthday, our sons and their families surprised my husband and I with a night at the RItz Carlton, Half Moon Bay. From the moment we pulled up to the guard shack, I can only describe our visit as incredible. Every staff member went out of their way to be kind and friendly and we never felt they were waiting for a tip. We were upgraded to a suite, surprised with a birthday cake and balloons, and made to feel special whereever we went. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated. The tub was the most perfect I've enjoyed - very deep and it had a hand sprayer to rinse off at the end. We enjoyed lunch and breakfast at the hotel, but since Pasta Moon is one of my favorite restaurants on the coast, we went there for dinner. The only negative of the whole visit was the strong, freezing wind that prevented the staff from lighting the firepits on the beautiful ocean-side patio.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — wind
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KawiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

My wife and I were looking to get away from the city and decided on a trip to Pebble Beach and Half-Moon Bay. We should have just stayed at Pebble Beach...

PROS: Nice scenery in the half-moon bay area

CONS: I can't say enough; this is a huge disappointment
1. Poor quality of rooms; If you take a look at the pictures we uploaded, there were several things wrong with the fire pit room that cost about $600/night (not an insignifiant amount, so you'd expect it to be in good shape). There were tears in the bedshirt, stains on the bedsheets, the fire detector was ripped out (leaving the hole in the wall with the wires poking out), the curtains were ripped, and the chain on the door had been broken (a bigger concern was why it had been broken down like this).
2. Too many people; The weather was beautiful, so that meant that there were a lot of people (even people who were not guests of the hotel) roaming around. This was especially horrible for the gentleman who had the firepit room situation next to the public bathroom. (make sure this doesn't become you)
3. No privacy; as you can see from the pictures of the fire pits lined closely together, they are so close that your neighbor can hear everything you are saying. And the proximity of the fire pits to the public sidewalk was another problem. We wanted to sit in our room with the sliding door open to let the breeze in, but that invited groups of people to stand on the sideway and stare into our room, not to mention the people who yelled at us from the sidewalk asking how much our room cost us. Needless to say, we had to close the door and the curtains for any privacy - not the ideal situation since the room was stuffy.
4. Not a real firepit; The fire pit doesn't use real wood, it is a gas lit stationary item that sits near your room, so be prepared if you wanted a real experience with the smell of the wood burning and fresh smores...
5. Nickel & diming; not only does the hotel tack on several charges, but the resort fee means nothing. At the prior resort we stayed at, the resort's daily fee was the intended gratuity. Here, everybody is bothering you for a tip. Hint: it takes 1 guy to get 1 bag out of a car and into a room, not 5. And staring blanking into our faces doesn't help the tip situation after you've done nothing to earn it but run up to us and ask us if we are ok. After all this, we left with a very disingenuous feeling about everyone who worked there. Maybe the hotel needs to pay their employees better so that they stop bothering the guests and actually focus on making their stay a pleasant one.
6. Poor food selection; I'd advise you to eat elsewhere. The food at Navio was disappointing. My wife grew up in Hawaii eating a diverse selection of food, including fish, but this was the first time that she just couldn't do it. My food wasn't tasty either, so I wouldn't waste the time or money. We're wiling to pay up for a good meal, but I would not have expected this food at any price.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor quality of room & food, disingenuous service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jltr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

If you are looking for relaxation this is the place for you. An absolutely beautiful property. Large rooms, Beautiful bathrooms and large tubs. There was a large window seat overlooking the ocean, that i could have slept on. The bed was comfortable as always. They do not knock on your door for anythng. they call instead to let you know someone was at the front door. The food at the restaurants was good but not great. Service everywhere was exceptional.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank dlist25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2008

The Ritz at Half Moon Bay was the last day of our romantic wine country / Northern California get away. We read the reviews of others on the hotel and we a bit worried. We loved the RC HMB!! The moment we pulled up to the valet, we were greeted by name and escorted into the hotel. We were told our room was ready on the walk in and were pleasantly pleased at the ease of check in.

After our glass of wine, we headed to our room on the 5th floor. The hotel room was in typical Ritz fashion. The room wasn't huge, but the Ritz amenities made everything very grand. Our room had a tremendous ocean view and we were lucky enough to have a balcony. Our door stayed open from the minute we got into our room until the moment we left. The amazing sounds of the crashing waves through out the night made for a soothing sleep.

Staying on the 5th floor afforded us the luxury of club level access. If you drink as much wine as my wife and I do, the club level pays for it self. The staff (thanks Mira Bel) was more than accommodating...she was downright excellent!! And as always, the bedding was comfy (superb)!!!

Bottom line...a 9.5/10.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank rickchurch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-2376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing