We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Setting”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We took our pooch for a weekend in March...the setting is incredible...the weather was amazing. Watching the sunset while seated outside overlooking the Pacific, glass of vino in hand and dog at my side. Couldn't be more exquisite.
However...the room situation could be a bit better...like the insulation between the rooms. We were over in the dog friendly building... not in the main building, and our next door neighboors came back to the room at about 2AM and laughed and talked for hours. Until my husband knocked on the wall, then they were a little quieter...but we were awake until dawn with their great wee morning hours conversation. Then again around 7:30AM they woke and started over again. We realized they were just 'talking'...not loud...just talking, but it was as though they were in our room, perhaps in the bathroom.
When we told the front desk, they apologized and came to move our things to an upgraded room for the next night...which was completely quiet. So, kudos for doing the 'right' thing, but what's up with the insulation?
I love this place for the location on the ocean...not necessarily for the rooms. Been there several times, and will keep going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WineDineDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    337
    148
    79
    61
See reviews for
359
831
47
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Main restaurant was being remodeled so the banging and drilling awoke us each day at 7:30am. Construction continued all day until 5:00pm. Service the restaurant was spotty and housekeeping was not up to par (one day we had to call at 3:00pm to get housekeeping to clean up our room. One night, we didn't even get turn down service. For what we paid, we feel like we have been cheated.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you do go on a holiday weekend, be prepared to be a virtual prisoner of the resort, because the traffic to and from town is absolutely hideous!! We were at the resort on President's Day (also the first weekend after Valentine's Day), and it took us an hour to drive into town (about 4-5 miles) in stop and go traffic, only to find out that every restaurant and parking area was jammed and you couldn't get a meal anywhere. Then it took us an hour to return to the resort still hungry and not too happy. It seems that there is an inordinate amount of tourist traffic in Half Moon Bay (and in many of the quaint coastal California towns these days, unfortunately) that appears to have reached some sort of critical mass in that there doesn't seem to be much room for any more cars on the roads into town or in town. The resort was also overrun with tourists and small children, many of whom are just visiting for the day (I surmise because the resort offers free public access to the beach). In any case, it was extremely annoying to be unable to do anything outside the resort, since we don't golf or play tennis. However, if you do golf, play tennis or enjoy spa time, then you would be perfectly happy here anytime.

The two golf courses are strongly reminiscent of Scotland...if you squint your eyes you'd be hard pressed to tell the difference! There is even an authentic sounding bagpipe player in the evenings, wandering around outside the main building. I thought it was a bit cheesy, but the tourists seemed fascinated with it. The courses are beautifully kept, and the eighteenth tee of the Ocean Course can be watched from the Ocean House rooms where we stayed. Do watch for errant shots coming into the patio and on the nearby grass! We saw several balls come very close to the building, as the fairway is just a few feet away.

This was our second stay in the Ocean House rooms, and we really like the location and privacy of the building. It is set far away from the main building, as is another, similar house that is located in a nearby spot along the golf course. Both times, we opted for the ground floor fire pit rooms with the large patios and nice patio furniture. The fire pits are great fun...you can roast your own marshmallows for s'mores! The views of the resort and ocean bluffs are spectacular (see photos). We had our dog with us, and it is very convenient to say the least because you can just hop over the short wall of the patio onto a grassy area that leads to trails and other areas where it is ideal to walk a dog. Its also very convenient to have ample parking outside the building, as well as the close proximity to the very nice pool, hot tubs and fitness facility. The hot tubs were especially welcome on the very cold nights! They also have Segway tours and they do the orientations near the Ocean house at the tennis courts. The appear to have a good children's program as well. The resort is safe, comfortable and the staff are very friendly. Room service is not as varied as we would have liked, but that is often the case at such five star resorts.

I agree with some of the other reviewers who have recently stayed here in that the rooms are looking quite dated and worn. Ours had stains on the carpet and upholstery and a lot of other indications of wear and tear, such as scratched glass on the coffee table, scratched window films, dings on wooden furniture, paint cracking, etc. The rooms could definitely use some refreshment soon. In addition, the windows were badly in need of washing. Housekeeping needs to do a good detailing as well...lots of dirt in nooks and crannies indicative of long term neglect. Also, one of our television remotes was crusted with food material of some sort that had to be wiped off. In addition, the walls and ceilings could use some better soundproofing, as we could clearly hear the goings on upstairs and next door, and you can hear a loud sound of water running in the bathroom and bedroom area when other guests are bathing nearby. Aside from these aspects, I highly recommend the Ocean House in general and especially the ground floor fire pit rooms. The second floor rooms lack the large patios and fire pits, but must have even better views of the ocean bluffs.

One other thing I was unhappy about on this stay was that the rooms were not ready at 4:20 pm when we arrived after a very long and uncomfortable drive. I had communicated with the hotel staff at their request regarding our arrival time and had asked for some minor special requests to be honored, so I was not pleased when we arrived and had to wait some 30+ minutes to check in amidst all the craziness created by the large crowd of tourists and kids in the lobby. By the time all the requests were fulfilled, it took over two hours, so we wound up sitting around waiting for the staff to finish the requests instead of relaxing after our long drive as we had hoped. Not the end of the world, certainly, but rather aggravating after a trying day on the road.

Overall I would recommend this resort, but urge people to come during the week and not on holiday weekends to avoid crowds.

Room Tip: Ocean House rooms are great...private, spectacular views, good parking and proximity to tennis court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmkr1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My daughter and I wanted to see the elephant seals at Ano Nuevo and visit Fitzgerald Marine Reserve so I booked a room at the Ritz as a splurge. Big mistake! Upon check-in we were given an "upgrade" to room 272 which is directly under the ballroom. We were treated to blaring DJ music that was so loud that our walls shook and then we were awakened at the crack of dawn the following morning by cleaning crews. A property of this caliber should know better than to put a family with children under the ballroom on a night when there is a big event. We were given half of the room price but we still paid way too much for the value received. P.S. Ano Nuevo and Fitzgerals are fabulous but avoid the Ritz!

Room Tip: Avoid room 272 or any rooms near the ballroom.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeankk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was pure luxury! From free fresh fruit delivered daily, plush bathrobes, and turn-down service, this was the very definition of WOW! Excellent location,wonderful service, just overall wonderful! The price might have been high, but our room was paid for as part of a business trip/conference. I must also add that the locals are wonderful and kind, and that the town is nice, with lots to do!

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have wonderful ocean view, but surprisingly, the less expensive top-floor rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieTravelGirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This property is just one hour south of busy San Francisco. Poised on the edge of a high cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean one feels they are light years away from the hurried life most of us lead. Two golf courses, wonderful spa, pool, tennis, walking trails along the oceans edge all entice you to want to stay longer. Many of the rooms have gas firepits on their terraces and they are so great on a cold winters evening. What's better than sitting out by your firepit and looking at the ocean! They also have several community firepits for larger group gatherings. Right now the main dining room is being remodeled - should be finished April 2013. This property comes with all the grandure one expects of a Ritz Carlton - courteous staff, wonderful rooms, great beds and linens, excellent food. You pay the price at a Ritz Carlton but be expected to be pampered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My friend and I spent a weekend at this property in early January. From the moment we pulled in to the car port, until the moment we left, everything was perfect. The service was fantastic. As it was my friend's big special birthday, they kindly upgraded us to a sea view room. As well, the service at the bar, restaurant and spa exceeded our expectations. The could not do enough to make our stay a pleasant one. Upon check out, the bellman heard my friend mumble that she was starving and had not had breakfast. He showed up at our car with complimentary sodas and fruit -- so kind. In addition to the fine service, this hotel boasts amazing views and gorgeous Ritz Carleton decor. It is a bit in the boonies, but worth the trek. I recommend the hotel as a gal-pal spa getaway, couples' romantic holiday, a business treat for your company's employees. I must find an excuse to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenya2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-2376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Marriott, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing