We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous settings.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous settings.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Ok, this is the Ritz. Sitting on this amazing cliff overlooking the pacific waves, birds and the occasional bag piper in the afternoon. I am here on a company sponsored trip. Whoever is complaining about the rooms deffinitely did not get mine. It is gorgeous, my ocean view is surreal, for lack of a better description. The food is good, service is excellent. Not a horrible drive to San Francisco. Hate the parking rates, just ridiculous. $220 for a massage is also bad, but again: Its the Ritz. It is a secluded hotel, so expect to rent a car or depend on shuttle, if you are not here for the golf, which is pretty amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    337
    148
    79
    61
See reviews for
359
831
47
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
228 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Here is one beautiful location in the world! One that has it all! Beautiful hotel; challenging golf course; friendly staff; and a view you can't beat.
Sitting on a bluff above the ocean, windows look out on a surf that is jumping with high waves and excitement. follow the nearby paths however, and you will find restful pools and gentle tides for wading. Such a combo for the senses.
We didn't stay to eat but did notice lovely spots for dining outside. all in all, a place I'd love to spend the night in luxury.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGMaSue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Positives: The staff is incredibly friendly and reasonably competent.

Negatives: The rooms are old-ladyish & have thin walls and thus given the price, the place is not good value. The gym is pretty modest & the food ranges from good to poor. Most aggravating is the nickel-dime-ing. $45 for valet (when there is no shortage of parking in the area) & $30 "spa fee" whether you use it or not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We hit Half Moon Bay on one of those perfect weekends, probably better weather than you could find - even in the summertime. In addition to the great weather, the Mavericks Surf Contest was being held the same weekend as our trip, so the hotel (and town) was pretty packed.

Even with the crowd, I was very impressed with how everything was laid out at the resort. Easy check in, valet/bell took care of everything. We had a great ocean-view room on the top (6th) floor, overlooking the outdoor seating area and the 18th hole of the HMB Old Course. Pretty spectacular view, especially with the huge waves rolling in. With the windows open, the sound of the surf crashing below was pretty cool.

The rooms were very nice, a little on the small side, but laid out well. We particularly liked the padded bench right by the window, which allowed both to enjoy the aforementioned view. The bed was about the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in.

We had access to the concierge lounge. It was OK, not the nicest I have seen, but definitely not the worst. I think they charge $150 to upgrade to the Concierge Level. Not sure it is worth it, selection was small, but very good in quality. I think if you had a family it might be worth it.

My wife had a massage in the spa and said it was wonderful. Had dinner at Navios and Conservatory Lounge. Both were nice. What you would expect - great quality - expensive.

On the whole, I was surprised really how small the main hotel was. This is not a knock. It really had a great feeling to it, upscale, but not pretentious. The outdoor firepit area was awesome. We had great weather, not sure how awesome it would be if the weather was a little more normal (i.e. wind, fog, etc.).

Checkout was easy, the bell staff delivered our luggage right to our vehicle which was a nice touch.

We'll definitly be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deacons91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had a meeting in Half Moon Bay on Monday and my wife and I checked into the Ritz Carlton on Sunday. We wanted a suite an the hotel put us up in one of their sweet guesthouse suites overlooking the coastline and the golf course. From the front desk we were limo'd to our suite. My wife was presented with a bouquet of flowers and wine and appetizers were waiting for us in our room. Great living room with a balcony overlooking the ocean, marble fireplace and two bathrooms and a separate bedroom with a view. Spent the afternoon on the balcony sipping wine and relaxing with the warm sun and the ocean breeze. Had dinner reservations at sunset and did the tasting menu. Our table was perfect with a great view of the setting sun. Fantastic food and the chef came to the table and explained the menu--outstanding. My meeting the next day was a success and we stayed an extra day. I would highly recommend this hotel and the service. Five Stars.

Room Tip: If you like privacy and seclusion, go for one of the guesthouse suites. Great views and fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sea Ranch, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've spent the last two Near's Eves here. Wonderful spot. Relaxed atmosphere. Excellent cuisine. Fire pit rooms are lovely.Probably our favorite U.S. hotel.
Great bars and public areas. Bagpiper at dawn and sunset.

Room Tip: Firepit room overlooking golf course and Pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francophile71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had stayed previously in a rented house on the golf course a few yrs back, and I talked my business group into booking the Ritz for a future meeting. It was a spectacular view for sure. But Im thinking that the only redeeming quality of this place is the view. If it was a Ritz located in a regular city, it would be no more luxurious than a regular Marriott. Nothing to recommend this place other than the view. The rooms are small, the staff is avg. If I want to go back, I will rent a house on the golf course.

Room Tip: There is a path along the ocean that goes for miles that is a great walk. You dont need to stay at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pertinax49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-2376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing