We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands Down - My Favorite Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hands Down - My Favorite Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Second stay at this hotel, but my first time reviewing. We stayed one night at this gorgeous property as well as attended a banquet reception.

Driving up to the hotel, you can already feel the beauty that awaits you. The hotel is big, but not overwhelming. It actually has a quaint and welcoming feel to it. Chilled bottled water is offered at the valet area and wine is offered at check in. Both complimentary. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The room is very well appointed, clean and has an untra-luxurious feel. Its not modern, but very traditional and posh. All white marble bathroom is spotless. I just cant say enough how well maintained the room is.

The food at the reception we attended was delicious and I was actually surprised. I was very impressed by this as I have attended many events at hotels and the food is usually sub par. I wouldnt hesitate to host a party at this hotel myself.

Perhaps the best part of this hotel is the stunning views and outdoor areas. The beach view is unbeatable. It just makes you feel like you are in another world. Also, the grounds area facing the beach, with lawn chairs and fire pits is super relaxing. Many families there just hanging out and having a good time.

This is my favorite hotel thus far. Cant wait to go back. Its really a nice treat to spend some time there. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QBee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    331
    145
    76
    60
See reviews for
350
816
46
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

While both the Ritz Carlton in Dana Point and this location are located ocean-front, this Half Moon Bay location sure has much better amenities and upgrade interior. The food is also much better. It sure kicks it up another knotch!

We visited during the fall season, so they have this huge 1,000+ lb pumpkin amidst other pumpkins and gords. Very beautiful setting with golf course and nice walking trail.

The town is cute with lots of nurseries and farms. It was a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWithRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is our second stay at this resort and there is not much to complain about. One tip would be that if you do not want to pay the $45 per day parking fee, you can ask for a room at the Fairway Cottages, which are located at about a 5 minute walk from the main building. You can park your car there with no fee, and if you do not want to walk back and forth to the main building, the staff will drive you each way as a courtesy. One nice touch -- I ran out of hair spray and they personally delivered a travel bottle to my room...now that is the kind of service that sets this hotel chain apart from the others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

at the end of the earth. Bring your checkbook, expect to pay a significant premium (even by R-C standards) and kick back. The service is spectacular; the views magnificent. But beyond the resort, there simply isn't much to see or do. The town is quaint, but can be totally seen-and-done in a half a day. The weather is Northern California quirky, but in candor, that is part of the charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I went recently for a drink out on the Veranda. Took longer than I would have liked to get any attention. Went to order from the drink and food menu and were told that they were out of the wine I chose. OK, after changing the order my wife asked the server's suggestion for a sweeter wine. My second choice wine was fine but the sweeter wine was as dry as it could be and after having to take it personally to the bar because the server was nowhere to be found it was replaced with a poor second choice.

Then, when we wanted to order off the menu, we were told they weren't serving food even though the menu was at each table. Any food would have to be ordered from the main kitchen. The price of identical food from the main kitchen was priced higher!!

Overall, we enjoyed the moment but not due to anything the hotel did. The help doesn't care and is untrained. This place is a prime candidate for the TV program Restaurant Impossible. Pretty sad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victor c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

What can you say? It's the Ritz Carlton in an ideal location-absolutely gorgeous perched on the cliffs of the Pacific. We stayed in a club level room to take advantage of the spectacular views. If you golf, there are two courses that are picturesque and challenging. The food was perfect and service top notch! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Do splurge on club level if possible. Well worth the extra $$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbw1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had the privilege of staying at this property with my wife who had a 3-day gathering. I know what you’re saying why write a review on the Ritz! We all know that Ritz Carlton properties are all typically 5 Star. Well the reason I’m writing this is because this is the closest that one would get to staying a luxurious resort located in the Bay Area with a stunning costal scenic view. No need to fly or drive to Southern California when you have one in your backyard. The property is Immaculate and stunning. The staff is the “BEST” that I have come across and the rooms are top tier. Upon walking into our room I quickly noticed drinking glasses (not plastic) individually wrapped in paper. This throws out the theory of a property that I stayed at in Sydney when I complained about the glass being left out collecting dust and their response to me was that their housekeeping team clean thoroughly! Yeah right!! Anyway, what a perfect touch. One is showered with room amenities, bed linen that would be compared to Barbacci and Frette, furniture décor right out of a magazine and FREE Wifi!! The entire property is breathtaking and the perfect vacation getaway or corporate gathering.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing