We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Nearby Hotels
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$362
$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House at Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$305
$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$178
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coastside Inn(Half Moon Bay)
$159
$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$299
$259
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Rose Inn(Half Moon Bay)
$414
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor View Inn(Half Moon Bay)
$159
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nantucket Whale Inn(Half Moon Bay)(Great Value!)
$388
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zaballa House(Half Moon Bay)
$139
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,235)
Filter reviews
2,235 results
Traveler rating
1,495
392
174
95
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,495
392
174
95
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitthe ritzclub levelgolf courseguest houseindoor poolvalet parkingnavio restaurantthe cliffbeautiful resorttennis courtsresort feewine barplay golfrose petalsturn down servicemain building
Filter
Updating list...
1,637 - 1,642 of 2,235 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2012

After three days at the Ritz in HMB, I came to the conclusion that for a local getaway in the Bay Area, one would get much more bang for the buck heading north to Wine Country. The room was small, but nice. The food was below average for extremely high prices. The staff was very nice and attentive, but inefficient. Food at the corporate events was below average. We were fortunate to have great and warm weather, so I thought it would be relaxing to sit on the one of many chairs outside, the the service was so poor, it became more stressful to order a drink. By lower prices, or upping their standards, this place would be worth a weekend getaway, but they have a way to go. I've stayed at several Ritz Carlton properties, and this one does not live up to the Ritz standard.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kfrobertsSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Totally awesome. Great service all around. Great time at the Half Moon Bay pumpkin festival. Great restaurants. Room with ocean and golf course views. Plenty to do. Add a trip to San Francisco and wine tasting to complete the experience. Will visit again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

As a treat our friends surprised us with a nights stay at The Ritz Carlton. Wow! The 4 of us were upgraded to the presidential suite. This was September 2011. We also had access to the 'Lounge'. What a treat. An overall pleasant stay. Loved the detail in the gardens. And the most amazing view from any angle. The staff were very friendly and we could see they love to be there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorraineLK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed with them in July of 2012. Stayed on the Club level with an online offered upgrade.
Best money you can spend at this hotel is to say on the Club Level. The service and free drinks and snacks in the Club are worth the extra cost alone.

Room Tip: Look for an online deal for Couples or one where you stay two days and get third free, or some upgrade to the club level. They usually have something that will enhance the stay on sale.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatentShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I just spent a beautiful Anniversary celebration, at this Jewel of a hotel, in Northern California. Its a short drive from SF airport, to a very magical setting. Kaleen in the Conceirge dept. set up a wonderful Spa experience for my wife, as well as making reserv. for wonderful Italian dinner in town. The staff from the Bellman to the Housekeeping staff were wonderful. Our experience in the Ritz Carlton Club was well worth it. Everyday, Max, would greet all with a smile and a wonderful breakfast, lunch, and lite snacks, and wine for dinner. Just wonderful and the views were awsome. When we got back from our dinner on Sat. night, we were greeted with beautiful Rose pedals on our bed, so romantic. We will be back, staff and management needs to recognized for a wonderful job, well done. We loved it.

Bob and Elizabeth, San Clemente, CA.

Room Tip: bare in mind that resort fees and overnight valet parking is very expensive, the only downside.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews