We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection- Worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfection- Worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful property Oct. 18-22. The concierge, Kaleen, emailed us early to see if we had any special requests. It was my husband's 50th birthday. I told her a few items he liked and she left a beautiful dessert and a huge bowl of chocolate covered almonds in the room for us. His favorite. We stayed in the ocean front fire pit room. We had a great view of the ocean, the 18th green on the old course and the lawn. Made for great people watching at night. Bagpiper was wonderful. Watched two weddings from our porch. Lots of fun. Staff checks in on you at night while you're outside curled up in your chairs with special blankets the Ritz provides to bring you food ,wine, a s'mores kit ...whatever as you watch the sunset. These rooms are a blast to have. Romantic, fun- very special.
The room itself was wonderful. Very spacious. Big bathroom with a sunken marble tub and separate marble shower. Housekeeping left us extra items ( hangers, towels ) with just a handwritten request.
We dined in the Conservatory on jazz night- Thursday. A trio-played piano, bass and sax with a great vocalist. Food was very good. Breakfast was include in my package. We ate in Navio each morning expect the weekends when we had the buffet one day in the Conservatory. French Press coffee is divine. Had rom service one day for Breakfast. Perfect! Valets and Concierge desk gave us great directions. Always offered water each time we left the property. Golf was wonderful- my husband played both courses. The Pro shop one morning let my husband play the Ocean course alone, so he played two balls each hole and loved the time alone on the course. Apparently, some golfers like to play alone. Who knew? I hiked the Ocean trail and worked out in the fitness center each day. Did not do the Spa this trip, but I will be back again and will check it out.
Great service. Incredible location. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ocean front fire pit rooms are great. Worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matissegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    329
    144
    76
    60
See reviews for
349
812
46
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel, beautiful location, impeccable service. Everything was practically perfect. Friendly helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again. Beautiful drive getting to Half Moon Bay from San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLS37659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Fabolous hotel in the most wonderful surroundings. Rooms, restaurant and all facilities are first class and the service is even better. The food, cigar and wine selction is splendid. Only small wish: an outdoor pool. Overall highly recommendable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank flemingvoetmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Location if this hotel is really astonishing. We had a direct view on the ocean and I know few places that offer such a spot. Beside the view, this Ritz-Carlton is not at the level that average customer expects and is ready to pay for. Definitely not a 5-star hotel. Rooms were just average. Pool was small, dirty and needs a major renovation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boscherini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Amazing property. We enjoyed one evening on Oct 12th in a ocean front room with a fire pit. Snuggling up with a bottle of wine and S'mores was a nice touch. We had a very nice server named Hans approach us to offer us wine as we sat on our patio. Hans was very personable and we enjoyed our conversations with him. He was very helpful and certainly added to our evening. We paid extra for access to the lounge and it was a real pleasure to visit. We enjoyed fine wine and many different appetizers, all very delicious. This is truly a beautiful piece of property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexus62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I went to the Ritz Carlton HMB last weekend as a local getaway for her birthday. Our room was expensive but nice, golf on the Old Course expensive but good, and we enjoyed the back terrace with the fire pits and S'Mores. Sunday brunch was excellent (though also too expensive). The staff resposible for room prep and requests were good, no complaints there.
Dinner at Navio Saturday night came very close to ruining our weekend, however. The staff managed to combine rude, slow and incompetent service to turn a night out for fine dining into something a 3rd rate roadhouse would be ashamed of.
First, the host attempted to seat us in a brightly-lit, unsightly, high traffic area right by the kitchen door. When we asked to be seated somewhere else, he said there was nothing better available, even though we saw many better and empty tables for two or four. After a trip back to the host stand, we waited a few more minutes then were taken to an OK table in a different section.
Once there, we were given menus then waited for 10 minutes until grabbing a passing staff member, asking if we could get a wine list, water, bread and a waiter. We eventually got these, then ordering and dinner went reasonably well so I thought we were past the bumps. The food by the way was OK but not special given the prices. Then it was back to service hell. After finishing the main courses, nothing happened for another 10-15 minutes. Our waiter came by to silently replace silverware, though not all of it, inexplicably. Then nothing, no desert menus, no contact at all for what seemed forever. Eventually we snagged another waiter and asked for ours to pay us a visit. He came and stood by the table without a word, just a look of "well, what do you want?" That was the last straw. We did order desert and he comp-ed it, but the evening was ruined.
The amazing thing was it wasn't just the waiter, it was all of the staff. Even the rumpled, bored-looking kitchen workers slouching through the dinning room added to the general unprofessional tone at Navio.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank albert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I joined 2 friends for a much needed weekend. We visited the Ritz HMB several years ago and loved it. It is a beautifulh hotel and the weather was great - couldnt have been a better setting. This was also true this time.

Since our last trip, the prices have doubled for the rooms and the spa prices have increased substantially. Ok so this wasnt a surprise so I can't fault the hotel for their prices. But I do think our expectations were higher.

There were four things we found aggravating: 1. we were charged $45 per day per car ( we had three cars) - we were told there was no self-park and later learned that there was a way to self-park, 2.we had an ocean view room with a fire pit and a second floor ocean view - someone next door was smoking and although we asked that they be asked to stop, it never happened, 3. the breakfast buffet was substandard and 4, the spa cashier asked us if we wanted to tip 20% ( in a condescending tone) - That was a $60 tip for a massage - really?

This was disa[ppointing because we had such fond memories from the last time we visited.

Room Tip: the first floor ocean view rooms with a fire pit are lovely - but not private - kids wsre playing ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty5534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Address: 1 Miramontes Point Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay, an elite golf and spa resort hotel. With two distinct guest room experiences from the guest houses to our main building, the hotel highlights the beauty of the Northern California coast with a modern and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Marriott, TravelUp, Cancelon, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay
Ritz Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing