We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Inn At Mavericks a Great Combination of Resources” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Mavericks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Half Moon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Mavericks
Ranked #4 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sebastopol, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inn At Mavericks a Great Combination of Resources”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

What I liked most about our visit to Half Moon Bay was staying at Inn At Mavericks and being able to walk a block and have multiple restaurants to select from, a couple of really nice late-night music venues, rent a kayak or paddle-board or stroll the wharf. When you are done you get to come back to an elegant perfect little inn... I am not sure it gets better. wait... it does... look at the photo I took from the room's deck.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    48
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
142
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We spent our 35th Wedding anniversary here! It was a delight to have so much room to spread out in. The colors and decor were very relaxing. I did not like the foghorn one bit. The management graciously provides ear plugs, however if you're a light sleeper you should bring heavy duty ones. The bed was okay, had valleys in it which I find is he case with lots of beds that are King Size. My only complaint was we choose the anniversary package which included wine and chocolates. The wine was not a California wine. It would be great with all the winery's around the area to have a local one provided. I'm a shop local, eat local person.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanti108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We decided to go on a belated anniversary/birthday trip, and chose Half Moon Bay as our destination. When looking for a place to stay, I thought that The Inn at Mavericks sounded like the perfect spot...and we were not disappointed! The room was amazing. A big comfortable bed, fireplace, huge bathroom and tub, patio with a beautiful view...there is so much to love and appreciate about the inn. We will definitely be coming back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

What a beautiful inn and the view is to die for! the patio for dogs is great tho my dogs preferred the empty field next door! Attention to detail , doggie treats, snacks in the room, really special! BUT, no smoking, not even at the firepit.

Allen the manager very engaged, very caring!

Beautiful rooms, great decor, but we found the beds too soft. some kind of foam bed it seemed, with high in the middle and low where we lay. Great linens and comforters but the beds just didn't work for us.

Room Tip: if you have a dog, go for the first floors, great patios!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austincoolcouple
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Unfortunately we were on a whirlwind trip but really wanted to hit Half Moon Bay even if just for one night. The Inn at Mavericks did not disappoint. We stayed in the Mavericks corner suite with patio and it was cool to see the seals and birds. Love the binoculars in the room! The foghorn did not bother us at all-it was very comforting.
The room was spotless and there was nothing one could want for as there were drinks, wine, champagne, snacks, coffee, etc. Look forward to coming back when we can stay awhile when the surf is up!

Room Tip: if you want a particular room call ahead and speak with owner to assure it's availability!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank austinitecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed one night in the Montara Room, a corner king. The room was large and quite lovely. It was clean, decorated beautifully and had a wonderful view of the bay. The bathroom was also large and lovely and the soaking tub was heavenly. The basket of snacks was a very nice touch. It was within easy walking distance of many restaurants. I ordered the Anniversary/Honeymoon package. The wine that came with it was wonderful. The bottle of champagne was actually two small, cheap twist off bottles of sparkling wine that was undrinkable and that was my only disappointment. Other than that, it was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed one night in Mavericks 1 (corner unit with a patio). The room was huge with perfect bay views. The room was udpated, clean and has a wonderful bathtub! All the details are tended to, from a very comfortable bed to to-go coffee cups. The property is within walking distance to plenty of restaurants and was easy to find. As other travelers have said, if you are light sleeper, bring earplugs. We didn't have a problem with the fog horn, but I can see a light sleeper having trouble. Highly recommended Inn!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diceuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
5.9 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mavericks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mavericks

Property: The Inn at Mavericks
Address: 346 Princeton Ave, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4039
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn at Half Moon Bay Located in the seaside village of Princeton-by-the-Sea, just a few minutes north of historic Half Moon Bay, The Inn at Mavericks is nestled on a small bluff overlooking picturesque Pillar Point Harbor and the Pacific Ocean. Each of our six spacious suites provides unobstructed panoramic views of the harbor and ocean beyond. The Inn at Mavericks offers superior accommodations: Memory foam beds, luxurious fine linens, oversized soaking tubs, gas burning fireplaces, and cozy sitting areas. All suites have their own private deck or patio where one can enjoy the beautiful, captivating, and ever changing evening sunsets. In the distance, the fog horn can be heard, assuring all vessels safe travels into and out of the harbor. The Inn at Mavericks is within easy walking distance to superb restaurants, unique shops, mountain and shoreline trails, white sandy beaches, and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Mavericks Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing