We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place, peaceful & perfect for starting a honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Mavericks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Half Moon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Mavericks
Ranked #4 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place, peaceful & perfect for starting a honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Fabulous place, good size room, very clean, THE most comfortable bed ever - my husband didn't snore once! And a great bathroom. We loved the coffee machine (& French vanilla uht milk!) and the goodies basket that was topped up daily.
Can't fault it as it was perfect to wind down after a long flight (from London). We arrived to a foggy bay & the horn sounding but it just added to the atmosphere. The balcony & firepit was a nice addition too. We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caileannbeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    48
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
142
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
920 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Sorry we were here for only one night! We had the Dunes room. Totally lovely. Decorating and quality of furnishings just first class. Bathroom a stunner. We had a great view of the bay. The fireplace added wonderful romantic atmosphere, and the room was equipped with everything we could have needed, Great fire pit we could light. Just a remarkable find.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MaraFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I found serenity in a big way at this little inn. I think my large dog even found serenity too.
The room was very clean and a nice size with a fridge, microwave, dvd player, plus free wi-fi and parking (nice). Some other wonderful perks was the goodie basket for us plus a goodie snack bag for our dog. We felt so welcomed from the moment we walked in.
Since we brought our dog and we don't like to leave him in the car while we eat we opted on ordering take out from local resturants and brought it back to the room. The room has a nice dining table so we were able to have wonderful meals with a beautiful ocean view.
Note; the owner is always avaliable to call but not always on the property. He did come and check with us to see if we needed anything which was great for us but if your the type of person that need staff 24/7 maybe this place isn't for you.
We love this inn and we can't wait to take our doggy back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jetty room which was an end unit on the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

From the kuerig that allowed my favorite coffee in the morning, to the sound of waves, foghorn (yes it was comforting to me, when I heard it-frankly my phone beeps was was more disturbing) to the balcony view of clammersveach morning, the birds and kyackers and paddle boarders, a feast of watching. And just the view. Right on the water.

The beds. Oh so comfy. Like sleeping on a cloud. And its always Clean clean clean. Stocked w snacks and glasses of all kinds w plates and flatware. With a fridge to chill the goodies you pick up. Mine was crab. Pick up whole @Princeton Seafood Market. They will clean and crack at no charge. Buy bread there too. Better buy than at restaurants. Oysters at Ketch Joanne and their crab Louie is the best.

Allen is wonderful.

Downstairs has individual yards for pooches. Upstairs has balcony.

If you wanna feel pampered this is the place. I have stayed at the "O" that is close by. My money will always be here.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pabtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband and I, plus our two, older labrador retrievers, stayed at The Inn at Mavericks for two nights last week while the floors at our house were being refinished. We could not have found a better place! The room was large and cozy with a wonderful ground level patio for the dogs to go out to whenever they weren't sleeping:) We enjoyed being in the room and also enjoyed walks to near-by restaurants (where the dogs were welcome on the outside patio) and to the beach. Our stay really couldn't have been better. The bed was supremely comfortable, the bathtub was huge (as was the bathroom), the provided robe was a pleasure and Allen was available for general good cheer and anything he could help us with.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slow61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Yes, if you are a light sleeper you will need earplugs......but, they are so worth it! This is a hidden gem. From the superb view, the solitude, the beautifully decorated room, the so comfy bed, plus goodies supplied by the inn....you will be delighted with your stay. We opened up the door, and just let out a sign of peacefulness! We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you gave a pet, the Flat Rock room was great, although we will be trying all the others, as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephensonSanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is a very nice inn with renovated bathrooms and beautiful views. The main issue is the fog horn, as some other guests have noted. I grew up in San Francisco, with distant fog horns soothing me to sleep. This is certainly not the case here: For whatever reason, this fog horn blasts very frequently (every few minutes), day and night, no matter what the weather. It never stops. The blasts are less noticeable during the day, when you are distracted with other activities, but it is truly disturbing at night. Perhaps the very attentive inn keeper should include ear plugs in the welcome tray of snacks? We also thought that the mattress in Ross's Cove needed to be changed as my husband kept slipping into a large wallow created by a former, heavy guest. I appreciate the experience that the inn keeper is trying to create here, but would not return due to the annoying fog horn which made complete relaxation challenging.

Room Tip: If you are willing to brave the fog horn and are not traveling with an animal, the two upper-floor c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldbacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
5.9 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mavericks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mavericks

Property: The Inn at Mavericks
Address: 346 Princeton Ave, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4039
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn at Half Moon Bay Located in the seaside village of Princeton-by-the-Sea, just a few minutes north of historic Half Moon Bay, The Inn at Mavericks is nestled on a small bluff overlooking picturesque Pillar Point Harbor and the Pacific Ocean. Each of our six spacious suites provides unobstructed panoramic views of the harbor and ocean beyond. The Inn at Mavericks offers superior accommodations: Memory foam beds, luxurious fine linens, oversized soaking tubs, gas burning fireplaces, and cozy sitting areas. All suites have their own private deck or patio where one can enjoy the beautiful, captivating, and ever changing evening sunsets. In the distance, the fog horn can be heard, assuring all vessels safe travels into and out of the harbor. The Inn at Mavericks is within easy walking distance to superb restaurants, unique shops, mountain and shoreline trails, white sandy beaches, and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Mavericks Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing