We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent and Frustrating”
Review of Mullins

Mullins
Reserve with OpenTable
Mullins is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 97 Restaurants in Half Moon Bay
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
Description: Dinner style
Restaurant details
Description: Dinner style
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
343 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Inconsistent and Frustrating”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Mullins is our "neighborhood restaurant:" a 10 minute walk from our house. We have eaten there for dinner a handful of times and every time is an adventure. The menu is always changing, service ranges from great to awful, and the food can be very good or average. Mullins is like a box of Cracker Jacks: you just do not know what you are going to get. Having said that, I've had good burgers (and bad burgers), good club sandwiches (and bad ones), good seafood (and bad seafood), etc. The Guinness on tap is always great but for a restaurant adjacent to the Ritz Carlton and affiliated with two great golf courses I do not think it unreasonable to expect a whole lot more. So if you are feeling lucky, try it: you might have a very nice meal ...then again, you might not.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marfak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
BAY SHORE
Level Contributor
161 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Decent Pub Food”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had decent pub food at a fair price. The wine is reasonable.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank WordlyTraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We were looking for a casual restaurant within walking distance of the Half Moon Bay Inn, and luckily we found this hidden gem. Unpretentious atmosphere greeted us, with several groups engaging in animated banter, with views of the surrounding golf course and Pacific Ocean.

We shared the ahi poke appetizer, which was just yummy. We followed with a cup of clam chowder: flavorful with tender chunks of clam and a a little ham for flavor. We finished off with salads: chicken Caesar and chicken tostada. Both very fresh and flavorful, but my wife did have to ask for anchovies.

Overall, a nice surprise to find this level of quality dining and friendly casual atmosphere. I recommend it when you're looking for good food in a casual atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
532 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Quick, Satisfying, on the Grounds of the Ritz Carlton”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Arriving late at the Ritz Carlton, we just wanted something quick and didn’t want to drive into town. Mullins Bar and Grill is on the property but is not owned by the Ritz Carlton. A full bar and very casual dining area with reasonable prices was only a short walk from the cottages where we stayed. The ahi appetizer was perfect with a local brew. Also had lunch here and ordered the ahi sandwich on sour dough with salad for $14.00. Not fancy, but good food at a price that is affordable.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank StarLady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hidden gem tucked on the golf course with great food and Ocean view”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I stop by Mullins before and after a round of golf or just to have a family dinner with my two young children. The Ribs are great, meat falls off the bones and has just the right amount of heat! The salad with steak or tuna just sheared perfect or the tuna sheared sandwich should not be missed. Very Casual with friendly service. Always has outside patio seating with Ocean/golf course views. A great place to see the Sun Set.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank l_sciabarrasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mullins also viewed

 
Half Moon Bay, CA
 

Been to Mullins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing