We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful ambiance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Ranked #1 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
INDIANAPOLIS
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful ambiance”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great location on the water with maverick beach in the distance. Very friendly and helpful staff. Some beautiful places to bicycle in the ranch country just east of the inn. I strongly recommend a second or third level view to maximize the view and balcony experience. A wonderful spot to enjoy breakfast, coffee or a drink.

Room Tip: Get upper level (2nd or 3rd) room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    83
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
25
311
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter as a part of a coastal getaway. We stayed at their spectacular sister inn in Capitola the night before so we knew this place would not disappoint. The rooms look just like their pictures online. We stayed in the Mavericks room that overlooks the ocean. My daughter got a kick out of the surfboard posted above the bed and the inside spa tub. Gorgeous views, comfy and beautiful décor. We loved it and will surely be back!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are the best for people watching and enjoying the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamilajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I was visiting family across the bay in Freemont but I decided to stay at this interesting B&B by the sea. It's an hour drive from Freemont but closer to SFO and so it is very convenient.

But I did not choose Cypress Inn for convenience. I heard about the sumptuous breakfast but not the daily Hors d'oeuvres, wine, desserts and coffee. I wanted to enjoy my stay in the Bay Area and sample the restaurants town. I was not disappointed.


I left my heart in San Francisco, and do you know the Way to San Jose kept ringing in my ears throughout the drive, there must be a song somewhere that will remind me of Half Moon Bay: a song that would enhance great memories.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jov1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

we loved our stay here and would love to come back in a few years time. stayed in the Mavericks suite and was good all round.
we ate out but reception was very helpful in finding us transport and things to do .
very good inn

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelphill1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California, Usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed here last year (In the "Mavericks Suite" in December 2013) and now in the adjoining "Point Reyes Suite") on January 2014. Both times I booked well in advance at a discounted Winter rate and both stays were outstanding. The laid-back property is listed as a B&B, and it has those characteristics but, it also has a bit of resort hotel/motel ambiance. It has a small staff of very personable and experienced employees who give it the only claim to what some consider a "Mom and Pop B&B". In my opinion, it is not for economy travelers or those who seek golf or a little more exclusive glitz-The Ritz Carlton Hotel further up the coast would probably be more appropriate. This place has a unique niche that fits nicely in-between for those seeking a quiet, romantic coastal stay. Parking is excellent and the complimentary and convenient in-room or lobby breakfasts and afternoon lobby wine tastings should be factored into any cost comparisons. They definitely add value. The continental style breakfasts with changing entrees are creatively prepared with choice of juices, fruits, croissants and decanters of coffee are just right for starting your day in HMB.
The (two?)buildings are owned by a resort chain specializing in near- or in this case on- Ocean properties. I have also stayed in their "Candlelight Inn" located in the center of 'Downtown" Carmel California with all it has to offer in the way of upscale shopping and restraunts. It too was very enjoyable but did not have the spectacular relationship with the Pacific;Two different venues. This is closer to my home 50 miles up the coast so it a simple matter to drive and arrive.You have probably read the glowing reviews by the majority of guests and I can add little other than to say it is a clean, quiet and safe place to stay unless the noise of crashing waves is considered a problem. My room(s) were right on the pedestrian-friendly street/lane which is between you and the ocean. Not much to take away from the panoramic ocean view. In fact there is also a long, narrow paved bike/hiking trail in front that parallels the ocean and sandy shoreline that you can easily walk-off that breakfast or just amble along until you see a nice part of the beach for beachcombing or a picnic. Reggie and the two ladies that I met who run the place are very personable and helpful to the guests. The rooms were clean and properly equipped with a gas fireplace, Spa tub, small under-counter refrigerator, great king size bed, towels, hair dryer, robes and the usual accessories including a Keurig Coffee maker. My wife and I are certain to return and I highly recommend this place for a peaceful unhurried taste of California's magnificent coast. If you are going to stay San Franciso its just a short drive, close to SFO airport and would be a really nice diversion to unwind from the hectic and crowded pace of life in the city.

Room Tip: The Ocean views are a must if you can afford them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank druid113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

During high tide the crashing waves sprayed our floor-to-ceiling bedroom windows, the water's that close. The substantial breakfast, all-day coffee in the reception area, and the fresh cookies and wine in the afternoon are all included in the price. An outstanding value, especially in the off-season.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmarmion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Needing accommodations close to SFO, we booked this B&B because it was both seaside in Half Moon Bay and an easy, but scenic, 35 minutes drive to the airport. The experience was delightful and far exceeded our expectations. We had a large room in one of the auxilliary buildings, but there was a window seat with an ocean view. a gas fireplace and a large soaking tub -- all of which were perfect for the rainy and cold weather we experienced. A great walking and bike path starts in front of the hotel; the Miramar Beach Restaurant is 2 blocks away. Another unexpected pleasure was having breakfast delievered to the room. For us, it was a perfect way of ending a 12 day vacation in the bay area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LegacyMediator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
912 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.6 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
176 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach

Property: Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Address: 407 Mirada Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-5339
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Miramar Beach in Half Moon Bay, sights and sounds of the Pacific are just outside your door at the Cypress Inn. Eighteen rooms and suites offer dramatic ocean views, and each features luxurious feather beds, fireplaces and private baths. Guests are treated to a full breakfast each morning and a selection of wine and hors d’oeuvres are freshly prepared each afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Inn On Miramar Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Cypress Inn Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing