We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay before half marathon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Ranked #1 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great stay before half marathon!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

If you are a fan of comfy beds and hearing waves crashing all night you would be well suited to pick this inn. Our room (la luna) was small but perfect for two people. Enough space for a sitting area, closet, and good size bathroom. The best part though was the view- directly across from the beach. Perfect place to sit on the patio and watch the waves and have wine as the sun goes down. Super comfy stay and fantastic location (but, I probably said that once already!). The only negative was that we had to get up and going early the morning of our stay for the marathon and weren't able to enjoy the breakfast and sleeping in! Definitely a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Splurge on an ocean view- well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coastalsummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    85
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
26
314
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you like looking out at the ocean, sitting on a balcony above one of the longest beaches on san mateo coast, being a few steps from the beach, and hearing the ocean waves day and night, this is the perfect place to spend a special occasion with a special someone. We were there on a warm November weekend, and when we weren't running or walking along the wide, miles-long beach, we were sitting out on our balcony enjoying the view, eating the breakfast or wine and appetizers provided by the inn-keepers. The Cypress Inn sets a tone of peace and relaxation through their choice of peaceful music in the open, light-filled common room which includes several arrangements of tables and chairs. A substantial breakfast (like pancakes or quiche) is served between 8 and 10 and wine and yummy appetizers (like crab cakes) are served between 5 and 7, and you can choose to mingle with other guests or keep to yourself in the common room, or have your breakfast or wine/appetizers up in your room on your balcony. These food treats plus a nightly dessert made the inn feel homey, as well as increased the value of the room. There were about four innkeepers in our 2 days there, and each one was welcoming, generous, and accommodating to our food needs. The location is on a peaceful little road that is on the cliffs above the ocean, away from Route 1. It is within 2 blocks of the Bach Dynamite Society music place and the Miramar Beach Restaurant and that is about all so most of the traffic on the road are walkers and joggers. To get on the beach you have to climb down some precarious steps right by the inn, or walk 2 blocks to easier steps, but once you are on the beach, you can walk for miles and see only birds and a few people and surfers, even on a holiday. It was safe enough to leave just our screen door closed to hear the ocean waves at night, but they were loud enough to hear even with the glass door closed. The waves also blocked most other noises from people in the house or street, so the whole effect was very soothing. In the room was a desk and also a TV table, so we had places to put our 2 laptops, but none of the chairs were desk chairs so we brought our own folding chairs for when we wanted to use our computers. All together, a peaceful and spectacular retreat on the coast.

Room Tip: All the second floor rooms in the Main house have the same type of room, balcony and view, but I rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This place is very romantic and the views are stunning. We booked the Point Reyes room which had a balcony right across the street from the ocean. It had a balcony and they served breakfast in the room if you wanted or you could go to the dining room. It was great having breakfast in the room while overlooking the water. This room is located on the second floor so you could leave the window open (or patio door) and listen to the waves crashing while you sleep. There are so many fantastic places around in Half Moon Bay. The two restaurants nearby that were fantastic was a tapas place down the road called La Costernera and Pasta Moon in the little downtown of Half Moon Bay. You can take a drive down HWY 1 with a great view. Highly recommend. We are planning our return trip! The only negative was that the private balcony is so close to the next door neighbors if you are both out there, it is not private at all.

Room Tip: We liked the Point Reyes Room (deluxe suite with jacuzzi tub, king bed, balcony with full ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at the end of September 2013 for our 3rd year Anniversary trip. It was our first trip to Miramar Beach at the Cypress Inn. We had found it on trip advisor and by surfing sites for the right hotel. We were at first thinking to stay in San Francisco. The America's Cup with the sail boat race was going on so it was real hard to find a decent hotel at a rate we liked. We ended up deciding to try the Cypress Inn on Miamar Beach in Half Moon Bay as it is in a excellent location 30 miles from San Francisco and about 47 miles from Santa Cruz. Cypress Inn is right off Highway One. We rented a car which was a great choice and traveled down Highway One on to Santa Cruz and to Monterey Bay. While close to Santa Cruz we saw the Henry Cowell Redwood Forest. What a beautiful drive! We were also able to see San Francisco. We also really enjoyed our stay at Miramar Beach, going to restuarants and shops near Cypress Inn. We enjoyed the room with the beach with waves we could hear from our room, the wonderful breakfasts, wine and cheese in the evenings and the staff were great. We would definately go back to the Cypress Inn and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimBob1353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We took 2 teenage granddaughters to Half Moon Bay and the Cypress Inn. They loved the room overlooking the ocean with a few steps to the beach. Could sleep with the door open and hear the ocean.
Great service and a breakfast they still talk about.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was lucky to have spent a night at Cypress Inn in Half Moon Bay. It was a great place , highly recommended. The room was feet away from the Ocean. It had a wonderful fireplace and a very comfortable bed. Left the screen door on the deck open to hear the ocean ways crashing against the rocks , what a way to wake up! They had wine, snacks and dessert in the evening. The morning found a wonderful breakfast quiche, smoothies, fruit, granola served or brought to your room.Delicious!!
Will make my way back to Cypress Inn. The only negative was slow internet service.

Room Tip: Ocean front!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsaabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Do yourself a favor and spend a little extra and stay on the in one of the full ocean veiw rooms. this place is our favorite place we've ever been. Super romantic rooms,clean,Staff goes above a beyond to help you with what ever you may need

Room Tip: we stayed in the Mavrick room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.9 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
923 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.6 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
179 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach

Property: Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Address: 407 Mirada Rd, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-5339
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Miramar Beach in Half Moon Bay, sights and sounds of the Pacific are just outside your door at the Cypress Inn. Eighteen rooms and suites offer dramatic ocean views, and each features luxurious feather beds, fireplaces and private baths. Guests are treated to a full breakfast each morning and a selection of wine and hors d’oeuvres are freshly prepared each afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Inn On Miramar Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Cypress Inn Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing