We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, Luxury, nature and great service so close to San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
1 review
“Wow, Luxury, nature and great service so close to San Francisco”
Reviewed August 9, 2009

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Oceano, half Moon bay. A friend had recommended the hotel to us because we were told the rooms were amazingly comfortable, luxurious and very clean. We wanted to escape the city and boy were we surprised. It was luxurious, just the right size and half moon bay is a cute town and what a better place to recharge than in a real reasonable romantic vacation relaxation. We were greeted by a very smart and friendly manager. what service! I think his name was Charles, an interesting and very smart man who greeted us and made our stay very comfortable. The hotel is clean and in a great location, close to the water, harbor and so many great seafood restaurants! We need to go back and stay for many weekends to come. My wife and I are in love with Oceano and Half Moon Bay. a short escape (25 minutes!) from San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthlingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    181
    55
    35
    26
See reviews for
107
307
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
So. Calif.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Wonderful staff--friendly and helpful. Beautiful room, beautiful lobby. Great location, right at the waterfront with views of the boat docks. Room service breakfast was wonderful--delicious baked goods.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purpeoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Your beautiful coastal hotel lived up to the website preview. The ambiance & location to
nearby shops & Half Moon Bay village made our visit so enjoyable.
The accomodations & staff make us wish to return in near future.
Couldn't be improved upon! Luxury at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryLynneSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Firstly, this hotel is not in Half Moon Bay proper although that is not necessarily a bad thing as the location, 5m north, is in a pretty little harbour with lots going on. There are a number of good restaurants - we were pleased with mezza luna and barbara's fish trap was very popular - and a newly opened mall. It is not far to drive to the beach. We went to Venice Beach.

We arrived early as we were going to a wedding and the front desk found us a room while we had a quick bite to eat. Generally the service was accommodating and pleasant. The hotel foyed is open and airy. A good feature was that we could park under the hotel and take our bags straight up in the lift to our floor. Our room was huge with double height ceilings, a lounge area, and two queen beds. We thought we could put our son to bed and then sit in the lounge - had he actually stayed in bed. The bathroom also had a soaking tub and a separate shower. The hotel is only a year old and everything is new and well appointed. If you get a seaview room, the only downside at night is there is a fog horn which you can faintly hear through the double-glazing. All in all, we were very pleased and if you can get a deal, this hotel provides the features of a much more expensive property.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I stayed in a Deluxe Suite which I'd gotten a good deal on, thanks to the AAA discount; Oceano Hotel and Spa is one of the few places in the area that offers no minimum night stay. After a minor issue of the staff giving me room keys that didn't work, I settled into a clean, spacious and well-appointed room. The colors were neutral and natural with distressed accents and ocean-themed pictures and sculptures (the website gives accurate virtual tours and photos). The bed was great with a firm matress and pillows with fluff and heft. The bathroom had a large shower and a separate tub and was also spacious; one odd feature is the shuttered window between the bathroom and the rest of the room (so you can attend to your hygiene and check out the scenery at the same time?). I also had a kitchenette, a dining table, and lots of chairs at my disposal. Out on the deck, the view was of the road (with a fairly constant flow of traffic and some noise), the parking lot, and the harbor with some ocean beyond. The seagulls, boats, and picnic-toting people provided ambiance. The elevator, hallways, and room tended to be stuffy and warm, which stood out in contrast to the cool and airy climate outdoors. I ordered room service which came promptly and I enjoyed the basic breakfast plate. The hotel is close to various seafood joints (Barbara's, Princeton) and a brewery as well as a barely-populated indoor mall.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbspeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We stayed in this hotel and found that although it is nicely appointed, the people working here just don't quite get it. Your package and rates depend on who you talk to. People staying in the same place we were paid 50% less than we did? Go figure. Guess we didn't talk to the right people? Reviews are the same way. Where were these packages when we asked? DUH.
It was loud at night. Late at night. People from weddings were running down the hallways making nosie; sounded like a bowling alley. Neighbors were smoking on their balcony and we had to close our door because it smelled like cigarettes. Would have loved to enjoy the ocean air.
Couldn't get a late check out. The staff told us that it was too overbooked. BUt in the elevator on our way to the spa we met people who had a late check out. When we checked out, we were told that we could have had late check out. Again, I guess you need to know who to talk to since some people tell you one thing, and o thers tell you something else.
When reporting the smoking guests, we were thanked and told that they would check that room for damage? Good grief, I thought this was a Spa Hotel. Never, ever would experience this in a real spa hotel.
The spa is good, but no water treatments available. No hot tubs, saunas, steam baths. There will be a hot tub in a private room, when the construction is done. But you will only be able to enjoy these things if you book them in advance as they will have one or two and they are by appointment only. Yes, private, but .....
Close to 5 days after checking out, the hotel still had a credit hold on my credit card. When I called the hotel, annoyed, they blamed it on my bank. Told me that they would do me a favor by calling my bank to remove it. DUH. Then when the called me back, they were rude, with a nasty tone, and hung up on me.
I travel to many hotels: Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa, Bernardus, Pheonician, to name a few. I believe these are real spa hotels that are totally 5 star. Oceano Half Moon Bay just doesn't get it and will need time to learn how to be a real hotel and spa.
The operations manager needs to work in the back as he certainly cannot deal with people.
Will I go back to Oceano? Nope, not worth the money for what you get, which is a room at close to $300 night with nothing else along with operations that are not professional or efficient. There are other hotels in HMB, and I will look into those. I go to HMB about 2 times a month. Oceano will not be my overnight stop.
Good luck on your trip.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpaLover52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

This hotel gave everthing it advertised and more. We had a deluxe king suite and, unlike some hotels, the room was exactly like the pictures on the internet: spacious, spotlessly clean, airy, in excellent condition. We got a $300+ room for $149, thanks to their fantastic "local getaway" weekday deal. We hardly left the room because it was so plush. Very thick towels, Aveeda toiletries, good carpeting, refrigerator, coffee, tea, comfortable couch and big TV, fireplace, balcony - all we needed was in the room. The bathroom was spacious and had a wonderfully comfortable deep tub, plus a separate large shower.

The bed was incredibly comfortable. Table and 2 chairs on the deck (we requested, and received, 3rd floor room). Wonderful view of the harbor and pelicans diving for fish. Watched the sunset. Did not want to leave this place! Even the lobby area was inviting, with sun streaming in and lots of comfy chairs and sofas. Great area for walking around and bird watching.

For breakfast, pastry, salad, glass of wine, coffee, tea or made-on-the-premises-gelato (delicious and fresh) with extra-friendly employees, go to the Cafe Mezza Luna on the hotel grounds (right in front of the main entrace to the shops). Excellent breakfast and so very convenient - go thru hotel lobby to side door, enter into the shopping area, then out the door to the cafe.

We ate dinner at Mezza Luna (not the aforementioned "cafe") turn right from the hotel main entrance, walk past Barbara's Fish restaurant. Delicious pasta , cooked perfectly.

We hope they offer more "deals" in the future because we are already wanting to return. It was so peaceful. Next time I will take advantage of their spa treatment.

The ONLY minor inconvenience, and there's nothing to be done by the hotel or staff, is that the road in front of the hotel was rather noisy in the early morning. But don't let that stop you from getting a harbor/water view room. Everything else far exceeded the annoyance of car noise and it was quiet a lot of the time. We enjoyed hearing the birds.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleoToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
924 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
564 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
179 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
1.5 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Property: Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Address: 280 Capistrano Rd, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4043
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Half Moon Bay Harbor, the Oceano is one of the Bay Area's favorite hotels. Luxurious suites boast private balconies and fireplaces within a seaport architectural style. The hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of outdoor and indoor meeting space including the Grand Ballroom, meeting rooms with ocean views, and outdoor garden and tent space. The lobby Bar and Grill offers guests casual coastal fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner or private in-room dining. With coastal views and dedicated events staff, Weddings and banquets are our specialty. Several fine restaurants and boutiques within walking distance. Surrounding activities include golf, championship surfing, kayaking, pier and deep sea fishing, horseback riding, sailing, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing