We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couples retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a birthday surprise to find out I was headed to the Oceano at Half Moon Bay! I walked into our suite and had a beautiful floral arrangement waiting for me from my husband. They did an amazing job with his over-the-phone instructions!
We had a harbor view and enjoyed every minute of it including the quaint harbor images and sounds of the fog horn. If you do not like the sound, they supply ear plugs!
Everything is super clean and comfortable. The staff is exceptional and room service delivered promptly with a smile!
Dinner was at Mezza Luna - wonderful and lunch was at Half Moon Bay Brewing Company where the bloody mary's were divine!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VictoriaOnLocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    156
    48
    31
    25
See reviews for
93
274
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The best Hotel I've ever been to. Comfortable beds, beautiful room, lovely view. Also enjoyed the gym open from morning till 11 p.m. Spa also available. We truly enjoyed our stay and we recommend this hotel to newly weds and couples. Ideal for families too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

If you are a light sleeper the fog horn might keep you up, it is also close to local business' so early in the morning there is unloading delivery trucks and garbage truck noise. We stayed in the Pier Point which is separate from the main hotel. It was nice and private with a fireplace and harbor view. The room was quite cold until we found the small portable heater in the closet. Free wi fi signal was not strong enough to use at our room. I got the room for $150 so not a bad deal overall.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuspiciousInAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here when we were traveling down the California coast before heading to Carmel. It was a great spot and beautiful hotel. The room was extremely clean, very up to date, and had every ammenity we needed plus some, although I do not remember a pool here. It was just a quick walk to Half Moon Beach and there are restaurants/cafes right next door. My favorite hotel by far on this particular trip.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of the marina. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laney293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time staying at Oceano, the first being about a year and a half ago. Since it was our second time, we requested that we stay in the same room we had the first time. The staff were able to accommodate us and we LOVE LOVE LOVE this room! I believe this is the best room in the place. It overlooks the harbor, is super quiet, and very spacious. The room has a king bed in it (with a television in an armoire at the foot of the bed) and a half wall separates this area from the living room area. The living room area has a couch, fireplace, television, refrigerator and microwave in it. The bathroom is quite large and it has a big shower with a separate soaking tub.
The hotel is centrally located with shops and restaurants nearby. Although why would you want to leave this room? The room and the hotel was exceptionally clean and well decorated. Whenever we are in Half Moon Bay, Oceano is going to be where we stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mercurial1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Class! Yes, this is a very classy place to stay near the ocean. I think that having class is a second nature of the staff. Warm and friendly are the first nature of them. Not much of restaurants and shops, but you can find good local restaurants. Great place for reconnecting with your people. Fun.

Room Tip: With a room on the marina you will hear the horn of the ships all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MH1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here one night on the second floor (room 214) with a great view of the marina and ocean from the balcony. The room is very nice, bedding is clean and comfortable, 2 flat screen TVs, fireplace, large bathroom with separate bath and shower. Shutters between the bathroom and bedroom is a little weird and was a feature that my wife did not like.

We booked this place because we wanted to relax on the balcony most of the time and enjoy the cool air and view.

I removed one star for traffic noise because there is a road between the hotel and the marina that seems to have a lot of traffic between 6:30am and 11pm. I knew this going in but I don't think a 5 star hotel should have this problem.

Another star removed because cigarette smoke from adjacent balconies would enter our balcony and our room. This made the balcony unusable for us nor could we leave the door to the balcony open to enjoy the ocean air. Not what I expect for a $250/night room (midweek rate). I went to the front desk and asked if it was their policy to allow smoking on the balconies and their response was yes. I explained the problem and their solution was essentially for us to close the door to our room to keep the smoke out. Well that just killed our reason for even being here. Why you would allow smoking at a property billed as a "hotel & spa" is beyond me, not to mention most of the population doesn't smoke.

Upon checkout I told the front desk that I would not return because of the smoking issue and they initially seemed shocked that it occurred at all. I explained that the staff at the desk the day before told me that it was hotel policy to allow it. Their initial reaction I felt was that they were surprised by that but they only said sorry for the inconvenience. Third star off for stupid policy and insufficient solution.

Be sure to read other reviews about noise from the lobby from wedding receptions. We did not have this problem but it is something you also need to check before booking a room.

I would return to this hotel but only after their smoking policy changes. I can't recommend this hotel at this time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
1.5 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Property: Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Address: 280 Capistrano Rd, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4043
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Half Moon Bay Harbor, the Oceano is one of the Bay Area's favorite hotels. Luxurious suites boast private balconies and fireplaces within a seaport architectural style. The hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of outdoor and indoor meeting space including the Grand Ballroom, meeting rooms with ocean views, and outdoor garden and tent space. The lobby Bar and Grill offers guests casual coastal fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner or private in-room dining. With coastal views and dedicated events staff, Weddings and banquets are our specialty. Several fine restaurants and boutiques within walking distance. Surrounding activities include golf, championship surfing, kayaking, pier and deep sea fishing, horseback riding, sailing, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing