We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Struggling” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Struggling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel one night for a special birthday occasion. The good is that the rooms are spacious, the wifi is free, and the front desk staff seem attentive, responsive, and welcoming. After checking out, I left with the feeling that the place is struggling on many accounts. The decor is confused..is is ocean side or victorian. (sailboats on ball, more victorian furnishings down below except for the glass coffee table with seashells below. Is it arts and crafts...mirrors decorated with buttons.
Unfortunately there were disappointments. Although the wifi is free, it kept dropping connection and I heard other guests talking to the front desk about this also. No fan in the bathroom? Double shower conditioner samples, but no shampoo. For Sunday brunch, wait staff was very insistent we not sit down until the hours listed, but then all of the food was not set out yet either when the time arrived.
Beds are comfortable and the view was nice. Confusion about the bill afterwards with charges not dropping off after calling about an overcharge. Again, while friendly, they seem to be struggling and things just seemed a little off.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonJournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    149
    46
    29
    22
See reviews for
91
259
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Good location for dining. Rooms are beautiful and clean. Love the fireplace and decor. It is in the harbor so you will want to drive to get to a good beach. We had a last minute family emergency and they were gracious enough to allow us to cancel one of the rooms without charging. Not so much a family hotel but it still worked with our little ones. I would go again on a romantic weekend with my husband for sure.

Room Tip: Get an upper level room so you are not right on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisagranucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Newish, mid-range resort hotel also promoting - and drawing - small conferences. They ought to improve their level of services or stop pretending that they can accommodate business travelers. The internet service is slow. The business center not up-to-date and not staffed.

That said, the rooms are pretty, and probably a good deal for the price for vacationers. Water views in a small harbor moving from commercial to leisure use. This part of the coast is chilly and fogged in much of the year. But it's pretty when the fog lifts, especially in the short, early spring when the hills are green. The weather makes it a beach resort only for folks who surf in wet suits.

I suppose the price is low because it's not really a beach, not really a resort, the HUGE advantage it does have is proximity to the Bay Area. $95 cab ride from SFO. And, notoriously, there is only one, 2-lane road on this stretch of coast (that's one lane north and one lane south). Traffic is horrendous, so you don't really want to leave your resort and spend your day sitting in traffic.

On the other hand - you can walk (bike, run, ride a horse) for miles north or south along the coast. Half Moon Bay isn't Big Sur, but it is very pretty.

Room Tip: As far as I can tell, they all have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great little hotel with beachy, old New England feel, but it’s only 5 years old, so everything is new and updated. Staff was super helpful and friendly. Our Princeton Suite had this great sitting area with fireplace, 2nd TV, fridge & wet bar. Balcony with a view of the water, too! Excellent value for the money. Use the “white noise” machine they provide and earplugs if the fog horn bothers you…we did and slept great! You can walk to a variety of good restaurants or the harbor for fishing or whale watching.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sojo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san leandro, california
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Oceano Hotel in Half Moon Bay a few times. It's in the coastside foggy town of Half Moon Bay just south of San Francisco. Half Moon Bay used to be a sleepy fishing town known for its rum running back in the Prohibition Era but in the last few years it's changed to be quite a destination. The Oceano was one of the first full resorts to open up in town and it's amazing. It's beautiful spacious rooms have beds so comfy it's hard to get out of them to go walking around. Especially since virtually every room has a view of the bay and harbor. It's within walking distance of amazing seafood and Italian restaurants and just a short walk from Mavericks - one of the most famous big wave surfing beaches in the world. Some people say the sound of the foghorn keeps them awake but it's like a lullaby to me. It's one of our favorite places to go when we want a relaxing getaway that's relatively close to home. It's a little pricey but they often have online specials so you just have to keep an eye out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Bay. You can choose a higher floor where you have a balcony or a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsy716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Granada, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a gem this spa is in our town! I went in this morning with tight shoulders, sore back and just stressed out. I felt calmer as soon as walked in. Courteous and quiet staff, gentle music and aromas. I relax in the lounge for a bit then had the most amazing massage by Stephanie M. I prefer a firm massage and she was perfect. The tension in my shoulders relaxed and my aches disappeared. I walked out with a new lease on the day. Thank you Nichole for listening to my requests!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This boutique hotel, located across from the harbor is luxurious and the lobby is beautiful, very welcoming, with friendly and accommodating staff. Our deluxe king suite was very spacious decorated with the white "distressed" furniture decor. The sitting area had a flat screen on the wall, fireplace, wet bar. The fridge had a strong fishy smell; must have been a leftover dinner that was leftover way too long. Too bad housekeeping couldn’t have placed a box of baking soda in there to take care of the odor. That was the only minus (and a small one). Nice size bathroom with tub and separate shower. The king size bed was very comfortable with soft linens and pillows. You could hear the fog horn off in the distance which didn’t disturb my sleep at all (they have ear plugs in case you need them). There is also another flat screen in the hutch. We enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant (they have a small breakfast buffet on Sunday which has the usual fare; toast, eggs, bacon, sausage, French toast, hash brown potatoes, bagels with smoked salmon, fresh fruit (very good), yogurt, pastries, orange juice, coffee, tea. They also have room service which is a nice touch and free internet. I didn't take advantage of their spa services, so I cannot comment on that. We enjoyed our stay at Oceano and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: A room facing the harbor is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
0.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Property: Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Address: 280 Capistrano Rd, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4043
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Half Moon Bay Harbor, the Oceano is one of the Bay Area's favorite hotels. Luxurious suites boast private balconies and fireplaces within a seaport architectural style. The hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of outdoor and indoor meeting space including the Grand Ballroom, meeting rooms with ocean views, and outdoor garden and tent space. The lobby Bar and Grill offers guests casual coastal fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner or private in-room dining. With coastal views and dedicated events staff, Weddings and banquets are our specialty. Several fine restaurants and boutiques within walking distance. Surrounding activities include golf, championship surfing, kayaking, pier and deep sea fishing, horseback riding, sailing, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing