We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Bay Area but Feels Like Another World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
san leandro, california
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Close to the Bay Area but Feels Like Another World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Oceano Hotel in Half Moon Bay a few times. It's in the coastside foggy town of Half Moon Bay just south of San Francisco. Half Moon Bay used to be a sleepy fishing town known for its rum running back in the Prohibition Era but in the last few years it's changed to be quite a destination. The Oceano was one of the first full resorts to open up in town and it's amazing. It's beautiful spacious rooms have beds so comfy it's hard to get out of them to go walking around. Especially since virtually every room has a view of the bay and harbor. It's within walking distance of amazing seafood and Italian restaurants and just a short walk from Mavericks - one of the most famous big wave surfing beaches in the world. Some people say the sound of the foghorn keeps them awake but it's like a lullaby to me. It's one of our favorite places to go when we want a relaxing getaway that's relatively close to home. It's a little pricey but they often have online specials so you just have to keep an eye out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Bay. You can choose a higher floor where you have a balcony or a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsy716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
El Granada, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a gem this spa is in our town! I went in this morning with tight shoulders, sore back and just stressed out. I felt calmer as soon as walked in. Courteous and quiet staff, gentle music and aromas. I relax in the lounge for a bit then had the most amazing massage by Stephanie M. I prefer a firm massage and she was perfect. The tension in my shoulders relaxed and my aches disappeared. I walked out with a new lease on the day. Thank you Nichole for listening to my requests!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This boutique hotel, located across from the harbor is luxurious and the lobby is beautiful, very welcoming, with friendly and accommodating staff. Our deluxe king suite was very spacious decorated with the white "distressed" furniture decor. The sitting area had a flat screen on the wall, fireplace, wet bar. The fridge had a strong fishy smell; must have been a leftover dinner that was leftover way too long. Too bad housekeeping couldn’t have placed a box of baking soda in there to take care of the odor. That was the only minus (and a small one). Nice size bathroom with tub and separate shower. The king size bed was very comfortable with soft linens and pillows. You could hear the fog horn off in the distance which didn’t disturb my sleep at all (they have ear plugs in case you need them). There is also another flat screen in the hutch. We enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant (they have a small breakfast buffet on Sunday which has the usual fare; toast, eggs, bacon, sausage, French toast, hash brown potatoes, bagels with smoked salmon, fresh fruit (very good), yogurt, pastries, orange juice, coffee, tea. They also have room service which is a nice touch and free internet. I didn't take advantage of their spa services, so I cannot comment on that. We enjoyed our stay at Oceano and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: A room facing the harbor is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed during the weekend of February 16-17. This place was great. The staff, the location everything was perfect! It is within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. Absolutely no complaints. If you are headed to Half Moon Bay definitely consider this place for your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Although this is far from a cheap option, there's no doubt this hotel has a great location overlooking the harbour and is of a very high quality. We were going on a boat trip first thing in the morning and the location was perfect, being only a 5 min walk to the departure point.

Our suite was superb - beautifully finished, spacious and well furnished with a balcony affording sea views. The staff were very efficient and willing to help. Reasonably priced food is available in the bar and there's a great "pub" serving Half Moon Bay Brewing Company's excellent beer, just up the road.

Room Tip: Suites with harbour views are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlymouthPete19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had our wedding here and it was an amazing experience. The staff here is amazing. The venue itself is beautiful. They specifically have an outdoor ceremony area as well as an outdoor reception option during the Spring and Summer. For anyone getting married the beauty of this place is they are able to provide everything. We didn't even buy or make table centerpieces. The food also is very good.

For anyone looking for a getaway this hotel is an amazing option for that as well. I got to stay in one of the bigger suites and on the night before one of the regular suites. All the rooms are amazing and come equipped with a gas fire place and a small living area. Even the smallest rooms are quite large. I believe every room also has a patio.

The hotel is located in a nice little area with some other restaurants right near a small pier.

One other thing, this is also the location where the Maverick's surf contest festival is held.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyung L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beautiful hotel with nice size rooms. Amenities are top notch and the location is wonderful. If you are on the ocean side you may hear the fog horn all day every few seconds., it did not bother me. I was there was a business event, food was well prepared.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajivT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
1.5 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Address: 280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Half Moon Bay Harbor, the Oceano is one of the Bay Area's favorite hotels. Luxurious suites boast private balconies and fireplaces within a seaport architectural style. The hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of outdoor and indoor meeting space including the Grand Ballroom, meeting rooms with ocean views, and outdoor garden and tent space. The lobby Bar and Grill offers guests casual coastal fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner or private in-room dining. With coastal views and dedicated events staff, Weddings and banquets are our specialty. Several fine restaurants and boutiques within walking distance. Surrounding activities include golf, championship surfing, kayaking, pier and deep sea fishing, horseback riding, sailing, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing