We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Big rooms, well decorated with lots of places to store luggage. In room safe, dressing gowns & free wifi. Balcony's overlooking the ocean with good choice of surrounding restaurants & great staff. Fog horn did take some getting used to!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacNCheese100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    168
    53
    34
    26
See reviews for
101
298
22
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed two nights and really enjoyed the area. We had a room on the third floor with
a balcony overlooking the ocean. Wonderful! We plan on going back again and again!
The hotel is only a little more than an hour away from home and a world away. So we can
enjoy it more often rather than drive four hours away to Pismo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mafoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was very impressed with the cleanliness and size of the suite. It was perfect for my family. I am really picky and this hotel was exactly what I wanted. It is not worn and aged like most hotels. A great value!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topmodel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just got home from a quick (one night) getaway to the Oceano. We agree with the other reviewers - the king suite was beautiful and the location was great. Our room directly faced the harbor and we spent a happy hour (or 2), sitting on our deck, enjoying wine and watching the crab boats going out. We had fantastic weather (77 degrees yesterday) and no fog - yes, there is a fog horn in the harbor, but it was not at all annoying. The Oceano is connected to a small mall and many restaurants are within easy walking distance.
The best part of the Oceano is their staff, they went out of their way to make our stay memorable and comfortable. The Oceano's staff is the number one reason that we will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beard1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent one night at Oceano on a mini-getaway. We booked a King suite which was HUGE. It had a very large balcony. The bathroom was very large, with lots of counter space around the sink. Everyone at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. There isn't much nearby and the shopping mall adjacent doesn't have many stores, but we were happy just to hang out and it suited us perfectly.

Room Tip: We actually booked the suite by mistake. I'm sure the regular King room with balcony would hav...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank uwis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This review is in regards to the bar/dining experience only

My family and I have been enjoying the dining experience at Oceana since the hotel first opened. Last night was no exception, our dinners were fabulous – the crab cakes with mashed potatoes and asparagus and the fish taco dinner were both superb. The ingredients were fresh, the portions plentiful and the prices reasonable! The atmosphere is pleasant, cozy, and relaxing and the service is exceptional. There is an excellent selection of menu items to choose from, an overall outstanding experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmbcountryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore,California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We just recently stayed at the Oceano and all we can say was it was fabulous! The staff at the front desk (Jen, David, and Dillon) were very friendly and also very professional. We had reserved a Deluxe King suite and it was very clean and the view of the harbor was fantastic.We also has massage treatments at the Oceano Spa that were very good. Eleana was very helpful with getting us the times we requested. All in all, our weekend at the Oceano was fantastic. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich_and_Debbie94551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
0.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Property: Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Address: 280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Half Moon Bay Harbor, the Oceano is one of the Bay Area's favorite hotels. Luxurious suites boast private balconies and fireplaces within a seaport architectural style. The hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of outdoor and indoor meeting space including the Grand Ballroom, meeting rooms with ocean views, and outdoor garden and tent space. The lobby Bar and Grill offers guests casual coastal fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner or private in-room dining. With coastal views and dedicated events staff, Weddings and banquets are our specialty. Several fine restaurants and boutiques within walking distance. Surrounding activities include golf, championship surfing, kayaking, pier and deep sea fishing, horseback riding, sailing, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing