We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place for a couple to find some relaxation time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place for a couple to find some relaxation time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the Oceano for two nights. The hotel is very close to the ocean and I believe most of the rooms have some kind of a view. The rooms are very large and have a gas fireplace, a nice touch which my wife enjoyed immensely. Our room also had a mini refrigerator, safe, robes, balcony and coffee maker. Only the single serve coffee maker could use an upgrade, the rest of the room was newly appointed. We had the lowest price room, and it was great. Several restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel. We did not use the spa so I have no knowledge or recommendation of it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1001Randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    162
    50
    31
    26
See reviews for
98
279
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Oceano for one night for a family reunion. The hotel is very close to the ocean and I believe most of the rooms have some kind of a view. The rooms are very large and have a gas fireplace, a nice touch. Our room also had a mini refrigerator, safe, robes, balcony and coffee maker. Since we had the lowest price room, I assume all the rooms have these amenities.

The gym was excellent and there was only one other person working out when my husband used it. The gym hours are 5 am to 11 pm.

One thing we didn’t like was the early checkout-11:00 (even though the directory of hotel services in our room said that checkout was 12:00). Underground parking was plentiful and free of charge.

We had the breakfast buffet in the hotel’s restaurant, which was a good value at $15.00. The restaurant is quite small and is little more than a bar and breakfast room. There are several nice restaurants within walking distance. We had dinner at one of them, Mezza Luna, which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

my family (wife and two kids, 6 month and 3 years old) spent 1 night at this hotel in July. everything that is advertised is true, beautiful hotel, nice view of the bay, spacious room. HOWEVER, to our big disappointment they did not have any crib for our youngest son; they just said they didn't provide cribs, but could give us more pillows instead...! in my opinion, it is just unacceptable that an hotel of this level is not equipped for families, or at least does not advise you of such inconvenience when you book your room, especially when you pay 350 usd for one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGabriele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

My sister and I had the "Royal Treatment"at the spa. It was awesome! Everyone at hotel was very friendly. We did not go without any need meet. Can't wait until the next trip. Next time we might try leaving the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just returned home from my daughter's wedding at the Oceano Hotel in Half Moon Bay. There are not enough thank you's on this planet to express my gratitude to Nancy Nerhan and her staff. Nancy is the events and banquet planner and she did more than just help plan this wedding. She went above and beyond anything I could ever imagine possible. And she did it with kindness, grace and love that poured from her heart. This woman is amazing in the way she puts everyone at ease and makes every little detail come together. From the rehearsal dinner, right down to the most gorgeous beach site ceremony and then back to the hotel for the dinner and reception. There was not one nano second that I felt nervous or troubled that something might go wrong. She had everything flowing perfectly and her staff feeds off of her energy. It is very obvious that they adore her as we also came to do. You cannot help it. Members of the groom's family are Vegan and she made sure that they had food to suit them. And speaking of food....holy smokes...talk about delicious. It was all fresh and the meat and fish were cooked perfectly. Nancy was with us every step of the way to make sure that my daughter's wedding was "what she dreamed of". The bride and groom also spent the rest of the weekend at the hotel for a little bit of R&R after the wedding and Nancy was still making sure they were comfortable and being taken care of with some extra goodies in their room. Anyone thinking of going to the Ritz for a wedding should just drop the thought...go see Nancy at the Oceano. You will NOT be sorry!!! One more thing, this hotel is beautiful and so clean and you cannot help but love the little shopping mall attached. I did get a chance to be in my daughter's suite...amazing!!! My daughter treated her new husband to a massage in the Spa. He said it was the best massage he ever had!! If you want the total experience, just go to the Oceano!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank digamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is our second time to stay at the Oceano hotel and we continue to love it here. We had a 3rd floor room this time...a Deluxe King Suite...that faced the harbor, it was wonderful. My wife especially loved sitting on the balcony, watching the boats come and go...and also loved the soaking tub in the bath.

As others have said, the Oceano staff are truly wonderful. The first room we were booked into was reversed, according to our tastes, and we were cheerfully moved to another just down the hall. At most places you just have to take what they give you...but not here!

In-suite breakfast, and even dinner, is delightful if one is just too tired to visit one of the nearby restaurants. On our last night, we went to Mezza Luna, a wonderful Italian resturant within easy walking distance, and enjoyed the authentic seafood cuisine that they offered.

All in all, the Oceano is the best hotel in the area and we will return here again and again when visiting the North Coast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richoparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I planned an overnighter in Half Moon Bay - original thought was the Ritz-Carlton, but at almost $600/night, decided to book at the Oceano. The only other option in Half Moon Bay (if you're looking for an onsite spa) is the Beach House which is just about a mile south of Oceano. Booked a King Suite at the Oceano which had a nice view of the harbor/ocean, and is conveniently located across from the famous Barbara's Fishtrap and a number of other places to eat.Location on the harbor is nice, but if you want to be next the beach, then the Beach House is the better bet. Oceano was clean and quiet, front desk service was excellent, has underground (free) parking. Entrance to the spa was outside of the resort, a bit strange not to have access from inside the property. Spa was small, and uncrowded, in fact it was only my wife and I at the time. However, it was clean, professional and the services were typical resort spa quality (along with resort spa prices).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tdub408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
0.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Pacifica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Property: Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Address: 280 Capistrano Rd, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4043
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Half Moon Bay Harbor, the Oceano is one of the Bay Area's favorite hotels. Luxurious suites boast private balconies and fireplaces within a seaport architectural style. The hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of outdoor and indoor meeting space including the Grand Ballroom, meeting rooms with ocean views, and outdoor garden and tent space. The lobby Bar and Grill offers guests casual coastal fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner or private in-room dining. With coastal views and dedicated events staff, Weddings and banquets are our specialty. Several fine restaurants and boutiques within walking distance. Surrounding activities include golf, championship surfing, kayaking, pier and deep sea fishing, horseback riding, sailing, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Groupon, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing