We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best kept secrets on the coastside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Half Moon Bay, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best kept secrets on the coastside”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I'm a local so don't really have occasion to stay in the hotel but have frequented the bar area for food and drinks on a number of occasions. The food is very good and the staff very professional and courteous. The service is a little slow because the bartender has to go back to the kitchen to retrieve the orders, but it is worth the wait. The hamburger is delicious and a good value, the goat cheese and portobello mushroom quesadilla is also tasty, as is the chili and clam chowder. It is usually a very quite and relaxing setting and it is nice to sit outside on a pleasant day and watch the happenings at the harbor. I have dined there frequently with family members and it is always an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmbcountryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    181
    54
    35
    26
See reviews for
106
307
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2011

First class hotel on Half Moon Bay harbor. Luxurious suites with patio all overlooking harbor and ocean. Steps to exellent restaurants, indoor mall, beach trails, pier, fishing trips and kayaking. 10 minutes to quaint shops and world class golf. Warm cozy lounge with full bar and excellent food featuring lots of fresh local seafood and produce. Meeting rooms, ballroom and wedding facilities top notch.

Room Tip: all rooms are suites overlooking ocean. Perfectly appointed family or longer visit "villas"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humbagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We paid $265 for a Wednesday night stay in October. Our room was huge and beautifully decorated. We loved the bathtub, fireplace and refrigerator. The view of the harbor from the small balcony was gorgeous. The bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly, but not overly so. Parking was in a garage underneath the hotel. We walked along the harbor to get coffee the next morning.

Unfortunately, I don't think that we would stay here again due to the foghorn. We read the other reviews and knew to expect it, but it was unlike any foghorn we'd ever heard. It was not the deep, booming sound that we expected. It sounded more like a car alarm beeping every 10 seconds. The hotel provides earplugs in the nightstand drawer - and there is a white noise machine in the room. Despite this, we could still hear the horn.

I know there is nothing the hotel can do about the horn and it's a shame, because it's really a beautiful property with a stunning view. The room rate is fairly high for us, but would have been completely worth it had we had a better night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supernic628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The hotel is just lovely. The decor, room size and accomodations all around was nice. The only reason this hotel wasn't rated higher is due to the noise. They provided a white noise machine, which I didn't use, and ear plugs which I didn't use,and in fact laughed, when I discovered them. The noise came from an apparent lack of sound buffer between all of the walls. My travel partner slept through the night without hearing a thing. I wish I would have at least turned the noise machine on, looking back. There are 2 restraunts, a marina and a beach to watch the sunset within very close walking distance. If you go, you will enjoy yourself and find the room spacious and the staff accomdating. But, do use the noise machine!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly42201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed a couple of nights at the Oceano. The rooms, hallways, and lobby are very clean and decorated very well. Has a nice feel. Parking is great, the nearby restaurants are plenty, and the location is good. I would not be concerned about the fog horn as I did not even notice it. The Oceano is a great place for weddings. The price varies by time of year and bookings. At $200 a night the place is a great value. At $300+ then look around. A final word is that the hotel location is lovely but if you want to hear the surf then try a few other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Friendly staff and clean room. But my harbour room, that I paid for, faced the back of the inn next door. Vastly over priced too. Good meal at sam's though. Get the lobster roll.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Room was nice, once we found it though a maze, our view was only of the parking lot, we had a kitchen but coffee maker did not have filters or sugar, was awaken early in the morning by noise from cleaning crew dumping bottles that was loud and anoying.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRivera623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
0.5 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
923 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
562 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
178 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Property: Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
Address: 280 Capistrano Rd, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-4043
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Half Moon Bay Harbor, the Oceano is one of the Bay Area's favorite hotels. Luxurious suites boast private balconies and fireplaces within a seaport architectural style. The hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of outdoor and indoor meeting space including the Grand Ballroom, meeting rooms with ocean views, and outdoor garden and tent space. The lobby Bar and Grill offers guests casual coastal fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner or private in-room dining. With coastal views and dedicated events staff, Weddings and banquets are our specialty. Several fine restaurants and boutiques within walking distance. Surrounding activities include golf, championship surfing, kayaking, pier and deep sea fishing, horseback riding, sailing, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing