We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice area, but expensive”

San Luis Reservoir State Recreation Area
Healdsburg, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice area, but expensive”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed in San Luis Creek Cmpgrd. Sites nicely spaced with lots of pine trees, but spaces VERY short & all straight back ins, which is not a problem unless you have a long rig then manuerability is extremely tight especially if someone is parked right across from your site. We have a 30foot trailer which barely fit in the space. Space for vehicle right next to trailer, but it too was short. Concrete bumpers on backside of each site, so that limits how far back you can go. No showers at this campground & pit toilets. Showers at the group camp about 1/2 mile away. Didnt quite understand the rational behind that! Also thought it was expensive @$40 a night, which rate is not mentioned on the website. But it's California!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J-SPDX416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
834 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Great place to let the dogs and kids run. What a nice relaxing area. The campsites are spread out and have fire pits so you can enjoy those s'mores! So grab your camping gear and drive 3 miles out of Santa Nella for a tranquil and quite stop.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chiefly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oasis just off I-5, take the Santa Nella exit & turn right....”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We discovered this tranquil, open spaced property, about 8 yrs. ago, after staying in Santa Nella / Los Banos for the night. We have stayed up to 10 days in this area, between trips to Frisco & Carmel....
We have a dog so we're on the alert as to where we can exercise him when we're on the road.
This place is great, located just off I-5 ( take the Santa Nella exit & head south, down the main drag, & you'll see the signage, it's on the right/west side of the road ) we have stopped here annually & have enjoyed it every time. Great place to let the kids run around too, especially if you're doing a long drive. There's a new In & Out at this same exit to grab a bite as well, or of course the famous Anderson's Pea Soup on the north side of I-5.
We have not camped here but I've spoken to a number of the campers in the park & they all love it here.
The staff have always been very kind to us. It is clean & patrolled. The views of the lake, the rolling hills & all the wildlife make this a beautiful site.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank shelley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Camped here for a night”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our 1st camping trip in 5 years and we had 5 kids between 3-5 yr old, I would say, going there was the best thing we did to take our hesitance of going out with kids OUT.

We had a great time, the sites are large, with fire pit, picnic table and ample of space to put tents and play.

I would not hesitate to go again next year.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ankur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Level 6 Contributor
1,659 reviews
1,101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,320 helpful votes
“Visitors Center”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stopped on our way through to Yosemite at the Visitors Center up on the hill with ample parking for our RV towing an auto. The staff was very helpful and informative regarding the history of the Reservoir and the variation in a water levels. It is a great place for folks to camp and enjoy the water. It is amazing to see where the highest water level was compared to today. It was quite a surprise to come up from the steep mountains to find this beautiful man make lake.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Luis Reservoir State Recreation Area also viewed

Been to San Luis Reservoir State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing