We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond B & B”
Review of Sonoma Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 21, 2007

Over the years, we have stayed at a number of Bed and Breakfasts.
With the exception of the one that we stayed at on our honeymoon, all have been exceptional. That being said, what truly makes Sonoma Orchid Inn a standout, above and beyond the exceptional breakfast (and I mean exceptional) is the warmth of it's Innkeepers Brian and Dana. If there were a rating above '5 star - excellent', they would certaintly be getting it from us!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bradfordbrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 283 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn. It was very comfortable, clean and very "homey". Both Dana & Brian were wonderful hosts. They are very warm and personable individuals and always happy to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The breakfasts were outstanding. We would definitely recommend the Inn and would stay there again.
Thank you Brian & Dana!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banker1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2007

We spent three nights at the Ridenhour Inn and it was a positively great experience (and great choice on our travel agent's behalf)!

First of all, Dana and Brian (the innkeeppers) were in touch with us via e-mail prior to our visit offering any assistance (dinner suggestions/reservations, site seeing info, etc) we might need. After talking to them over the phone, we had already made plans for dinner the first two nights and upon arrival, they helped us with the third night/choice.

The Inn is in a lovely setting and was warm and inviting as we walked through the front door. It is decorated very tastefully and provided a nice atmosphere for relaxing before breakfast each morning and at other times of the day as well. And speaking of breakfast, they were the BEST!! Not too heavy but certainly plenty to get us started and still have room for lunch at one of the many fine restaurants in the Russian River Valley.

Our bedroom was very comfortable and very clean as was our private bathroom. We really felt pampered!

We hope to visit the Russian River Valley again in the next 2 or 3 years and would definitely plan to stay here again as long as it fits into the logistics of the rest of our trip.

Thank you, Brian and Dana!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ruzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

This B&B is wonderful. The setting is serene with plenty of trees and it's set back off the road so you really feel the tranquility.

The rooms are quaint, nicely decorated and have all the amenities you need. You get the sense when you walk in that there's great attention to every little detail at the Inn.

Dana and Brian are the nicest, most accomodating and INTERESTING hosts you'll ever meet. The breakfasts they serve, as you've seen in most of the reviews here...are amazing. You find it hard to believe you get all these nice touches for the price you pay.

That they allow dogs in certain rooms is a plus for us dog-owners.

We left feeling refreshed and peaceful. This is a perfect get away whether you want to get out and enjoy the outdoors or just sit in and read a great book.

We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shaylasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2006

We stayed at the Ridenhour on a recent mushroom foraging trip to the Sonoma Coast. We wanted to wine taste too, and the Ridehour's location between the coast and Dry Creek Valley is perfect. Brian and Dana, and their four footed co-hosts, were so knowledgeable about the area, restaurants, parks, etc. I guess my boyfriend mentioned that he like to cycle when he booked, and Brian even researched beautiful road rides in the area.

Our room (Hawthorne) was very large and cozy, and it even had a nice fireplace. One more plus - its decor doesn't look like your grandmother decorated it - no "B&B lace and ruffles" in sight. It was a nice tudor theme, and even had a wood stove.

Brian and Dana raise orchids, and all the plants in bloom around the inn were a nice touch.

Finally, breakfast at the Ridenhour isn't just croissants and coffee. These guys are serious about their breakfast, and good thing - it got us started on a couple of lovely days.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winebabeskl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2006

We stayed there over my birthday weekend. The Inn Keepers were very nice and breakfast was fantastic. This is the perfect launching pad for wine tasting; mushroom foraging; hikes near at the coast… the overall experience fantastic. We even made it all the way to Mendocino for lunch one day.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaboyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

We stayed at the Ridenhour Inn over Halloween and had the best time ever! We stayed in the Oak Room which was very clean and comfortable. The orchids in every room were a nice touch. The hosts, Dana and Brian were wonderful and the breakfasts were exceptionally good!! The location is awesome, we fell in love with the Russian River Valley....oh and we got engaged there! :) We were pleasantly surprised when we were served champagne at our engagement dinner at the Mosaic. Dana and Brian made the dinner reservations for us and let them know we were celebrating. Very Cool! I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DBowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
4.3 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
698 reviews
13.6 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,587 reviews
1.6 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 12 in Guerneville
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Nella House Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
AutoCamp Russian River
AutoCamp Russian River
#1 of 9 in Guerneville
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Orchid Inn

Address: 12850 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9276 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: $177 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoma Orchid Inn - it's all about location, stylish comfort and convenience. Exit the urban scene for an escape to the country. The redwoods rise, the vineyards yield fog-kissed premier Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, the coast beckons, and the scenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sonoma Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Orchid Hotel Guerneville
Sonoma Orchid Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing