We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like you're staying in someone's home!”
Review of Sonoma Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had a really good time here. Brian and Dana, the proprietors, have made every effort to make you feel at home. From the homey furniture to the awesome linens, and from the endless bottles of water in the guest refrigerator to the suggestions of what to do, you know you are important to them. Breakfasts--served promptly at 9 AM--were yummy, and the house was really quiet. Can't say enough nice things about the inn or Dana and Brian. Just know that there's no air conditioning, just ceiling fans. In this climate, that's probably fine most of the time...unfortunately, we were here during a hot spell. It's still a beautiful place.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TripLady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 287 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sonoma Orchid Inn in late June. We were traveling with another couple. We chose to stay the the Madrone Suite. The room was a little dated, but that was OK. We like B&B's so we were OK with it. During our stay, California was going thru a horrible heat wave, and the rooms do not have AC. The hosts actually went above and beyond to accomodate, and went and bought a portable AC unit for our rooms.

The breakfasts were absolutely amazing!!! You could tell it was prepared fresh daily!!! They also have a Kuerig coffeemaker, so if you have a specific coffee you prefer, you could bring your own, or visit the local supermarket.

Thanks Dana and Brian

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slam0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were in for a short 4 days for a wedding. Our hosts were kind, accommodating, friendly, and helpful. The property is charming, as is the house. Breakfasts were divine. I am a vegan, and they made me a special breakfast every morning. My breakfasts included steel cut oatmeal with fresh nuts and berries, and on one occasion a special tofu stir fry with home grown greens. What a delight! My husband ate the traditional fare, including quiches, muffins, and other fabulous egg dishes. They looked to die for. The fruit salads served every morning were excellent. I've never had a more delicious and ripe fruit salad. Everything else was just great. Highly recommended; we would love to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adjexc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Sonoma Orchid Inn. Our hosts, Dana and Brian, were very kind and accomodating just like staying with good friends. The food was wonderful, especially Dana's homemade special apricot jam made with hard work and love. Thanks Dana!

We stayed in the Acorn Room which is probably the quietest one.

Thanks to Dana and Brian! With much aloha, Warren and Lynne

Room Tip: Acorn Room for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warrenhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I had the good fortune to choose the Sonoma Orchid Inn when we recently visited the Guerneville area. We were pampered from the moment we arrived on the beautiful secluded property. The main building is gorgeously adorned with large comfortable chairs and sofas - it literally begs you to just sit and relax. Our room was also nicely decorated with a very comfortable king sled-style bed.
We were treated with remarkable homemade coconut macadamia cookies each day! The remarkable breakfasts included homemade biscuits using a James Beard recipe, a wonderful light egg creation consisting of blueberries, freshly picked fruit, etc. This proved to be a wonderful relaxing getaway which was centrally located to all the spenders of the area. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Upon arrival to this wonderful Bed & Breakfast Inn we were warmly greeted by our hosts, Brian and Dana. We were taken on a quick tour of the main inn and gardens which include a guest kitchen with coffee and freshly baked cookies. We stayed in one of the quaint cottages retrofitted with an air conditioner due to the unusual heat wave. The room was charming, cosy and warm with a nice fireplace and one of the most comfortable beds we ever slept on! The next morning we experienced the most wonderful homemade breakfast. Following breakfast, our hosts graciously inquired about our interests and provided suggestions regarding daily activities. It was sad leaving after two days because it felt like home!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VinceSLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Sonoma Orchid Inn. We had a great experience! The room was wonderful and well decorated. The hosts were EXTREMELY friendly and very helpful in suggesting restaurants and making reservations. The breakfasts were delicious. We would definitely go back to stay at this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
9.4 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
1.4 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
423 reviews
1.6 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 12 in Guerneville
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Santa Nella House Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#10 of 12 in Guerneville
229 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#1 of 12 in Guerneville
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Orchid Inn

Address: 12850 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9276 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: $172 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoma Orchid Inn - it's all about location, stylish comfort and convenience. Exit the urban scene for an escape to the country. The redwoods rise, the vineyards yield fog-kissed premier Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, the coast beckons, and the scenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sonoma Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Orchid Hotel Guerneville
Sonoma Orchid Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing