We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful hosts, OK accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma Orchid Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts, OK accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hosts are terrific, served the best breakfast I've had anywhere, and were extremely helpful in helping us plan our days. The rooms itself was only OK: Small, dark, and with traffic noise (although the traffic was not unbearable).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pstrobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    45
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
166
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is not a hotel at all, it's a bed and breakfast. The grounds feel a little like a summer camp site more than a hotel or inn, but our individual room was very very comfortable. The bedsheets are so luxurious, and each room has a private entrance and a private bathroom. The communal kitchen is stocked with plenty of wine glasses, cheese boards, and mugs that my husband and I used daily for wine and cheese we bought at nearby vineyards that we visited (and no, we didn't have to do the dishes). We loved the fresh baked cookies and tea, and the breakfasts were delicious and unique. We enjoyed socializing with the other guests over breakfast, something you definitely don't get at a hotel. The owners Dana and Brian were really knowledgeable about nearby restaurants, vineyards, and attractions and were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

nice b,b but much more like an inn or small hotel, nice range of rooms and a range of prices , owners really helpful , family style breakfasts with all guest around two tables which is great to chat , might not suit everyone.
In good location outside town but on main road so easy to find near vineyard .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoodyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

If you want luxury, don't go here. If you want nice people, great breakfasts, and comfortable lodgings in the country, this place is for you. Our room was comfortable and it seemed the bathroom had a recent makeover. The grounds of the Inn are very nice, with lots of flowers and trees and chairs to sit around and enjoy life. Brian and Dana make you feel very welcome and are great at giving suggestions of places to visit or tours to take. And the breakfasts, well, they are just terrific. We stayed three nights and were disappointed to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palmdesertdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed were looking for several days to explore wine country and get away from the noise and hustle of work. We found the perfect place at Brian and Dana's quaint bed & breakfast. The food was made daily, with fresh baked cookies everyday, and the fruits and vegetables picked fresh from their garden on location! They are amazing hosts, very accommodating, and so friendly. Don't let the noise from River Road deter you from staying here. While the cars zooming by every now and then were indeed noticeable, they did not take away from our great experience. The room we stayed in was the Wisteria. It is relatively small, but had a queen size bed and plenty of floor space to play dominoes, watch DVDs, and spread out our luggage for four days. It had plenty of natural lighting and was very well kept. I highly recommend the Sonoma Orchid Inn to anyone wanting to getaway from city life and spend some time along the Russian River.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the the main highway to avoid unwanted noise during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcf857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Sonoma Orchid Inn is just the right distance from Guerneville, wineries and the coast. Very attractively renovated historic home and buildings with a personal touch. Dana and Brian's suggestions on places to visit were spot on and made our stay very enjoyable. We enjoyed the breakfasts--good coffee and tea, lovely fruit, etcetera. We stayed in the Hawthorne room which is spacious and private. The guest kitchen and sitting room with lovely antiques, books and seating in the main house were warm and user-friendly. Great hosts and a great country retreat.

Room Tip: Check out the website photos and check with Dana or Brian about room size and the quiestest rooms, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nas05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This little spot is nicely tucked up over the main drag out of sight. We stayed in one of the lower floor rooms, it was a little cool and damp smelling but nicely put together. The hot tub under the tree's was perfect. Thankfully here was a well stocked guest kitchen and the main living room area have a wonderful fireplace with lots of comfy seating. Breakfast was a huge surprise, it was so delicious and gourmet, Dana and Brian really make this a special place to stay. After breakfast they take the time to make sure everyone has their plans ironed out for the day, helping with questions or reservations. We loved our stay and look forward to going back, we stayed in July 2011.

Room Tip: Since it's an older house the floors can we a little squeaky, try and stay in the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HB1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
4.3 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
9.1 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
1.4 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#3 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Nella House Bed and Breakfast
2.3 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#8 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Orchid Inn

Property: Sonoma Orchid Inn
Address: 12850 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9276 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoma Orchid Inn - it's all about location, stylish comfort and convenience. Exit the urban scene for an escape to the country. The redwoods rise, the vineyards yield fog-kissed premier Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, the coast beckons, and the scenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sonoma Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Orchid Hotel Guerneville
Sonoma Orchid Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing