We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cottages on River Road(Guerneville)(Great Value!)
$630
$510
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Johnson's Beach - Cabins and Campground(Guerneville)(Great Value!)
$185
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverlane Resort(Guerneville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Guerneville Lodge(Guerneville)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveler rating
226
51
18
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
226
51
18
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdana and brianwine countryquichefamily stylerussian rivergreat hostsny timeskorbel wineryeach morningapple sausagesleigh bedwine tastingother guestsfresh baked cookiescommon areasdelicious breakfastdietary restrictions
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 296 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Innkeepers Brian and Dana give their all to help you have a great stay in the Russian River Valley. They are generous with their time and knowledgeable about the area's offerings. As all the other reviewers mention, the breakfast is terrific, as were the beds, the refrigerator full of beverages, 24 hour cookies, coffee and tea, and the creamy smooth sheets. A home away from home. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: main house rooms might be preferable
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokemirrors15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a perfect place if you like outdoorsy, rustic B&B's that are desolate and not very close to Napa. Unfortunately, we did not do our research regarding location or amenities on this one, and so this review doesn't mean to be critical, but we were disappointed. The location is in the outskirts of Sonoma County - not near the city or Napa, and a 7-mile drive to Healdsberg.

We planned a wine tasting trip to Napa Valley, and this Inn was recommended by a colleague (who loves hiking and biking -- red flag #1) who has stayed here and absolutely LOVES IT. Based on its name, we thought it was in Sonoma - which is a mere 15 minutes from Napa. It was not even close. This Inn was in most cases an hour or more from any of our Napa destinations. Because of that, we had to leave at the crack of dawn to get to any of our planned locations (Napa, Oakville, San Fran Airport) and missed out on the "breakfast" part of B&B. Again, our fault for not pinpointing the location first.

Owners Dana and Brian were accommodating, and even had to go cups for coffee for our early morning departure.

What we also didn't realize (again,our fault for not researching) is that the room that we booked was not in the actual house - it was in an outer building near the house. The decor in both the house and our rooms was nice - palm trees, elephants, very "vacationy." Room was sort of clean, bathroom needed a good scrub. The amenities in our room (Madrone) were rustic - no AC (but a fan was provided), no toiletries like many other B&Bs, towels that were like sand-paper, no tissues, etc. However, we did have a lovely bed, cushy sheets and a TV with satellite.

Room Tip: Get a room in the house
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KulFam2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This is was theee best stay! Having going it solo and for 8 days, it was important that i felt safe, the place to be clean and able to go and come as i pleased. I will honestly say.. that all my requirements were held and exceded. The orchid inn is set in a perfect place in between the Redwoods and ocean in the middle of the wine hills! I walked to our neighbor Korbel for complimentary champagne, relaxed at the russian river rt across the street and walked the town to just grab a cup a coffee and hang in between activities.. BRIAN WAS AWESOME.. He put amazing TRIP ADVISORY books together that gave you directions, descriptions and restaurants (which were incredibly detailed with menu and type of restaurant.. casual or formal), as well, he had a whole host of info available for guests to do in the area, visit and enjoy.. or if you wanted a tour of vineyards.. that was supplied as well..
Dana's morning breakfasts were nothing you want to miss... they were amazing!! FRESH, Delicious and hit the spot everytime.. Each morning both Dana and Brian, made certain they were available to assist if you needed directions/info and clearly wanted everyone to enjoy their time to the full extent.

The young lady that takes care of the rooms was fantastic.. since i was there for 8 days.. they made certain my sheets were changed mid stay... which these sheets were so comfortable that i actually want to puchase a set.. and i am super picky.. the rooms were clean and you felt warm..

overall this experience had exceded my expectations and think the pictures.. do no justice for the reality of the sonoma orchid inn.. from the staff, to landscape, to chickens/dogs/kitties, to the FRESH homemade cookies left for guests at all times, to the service, to the breakfasts and location.. this was a #1 in my experience and i would greatly reccommend this place to my closest and pickiest friends.. and i am def looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corissat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Location is great for Russian River/Healdsburg wineries and the North Coast. Two hour drive from SFO. Korbel next door and hundreds of other wineries a short drive away. First time to the Russian River area and we couldn't have chosen a better spot for a home base. Brian and Dana were wonderful hosts--always ready to give tips to those interested, but never overbearing. They obviously put care and thought into everything about the place from their own "tour guide" binders with valuable local knowledge to the guest kitchen (full of dishes, glasses, and utensils with bottled water, juices, teas, cookies, candies, and picnic supplies). There was also the hot tub with towels awaiting, wireless internet, and NY Times, books, DVDs to share in the living room, and well-kept grounds with several seating areas.

The breakfasts were lovely, enhanced by their own eggs and veggies. They included a good assortment of things and there was variety each day--excellent quality ingredients, well made, and attractively served. Also, individual guests' dietary requests were handled with aplomb.

We stayed in the smallest room (Wisteria). Felt it was beyond cozy...too small. No comfortable place to sit or for two people’s weekend bags. The shower was a little problematic. I'm a light sleeper, so we had to keep the only window closed at night to keep the River Rd noises out. Fortunately, the room stayed very cool. Comfy bed and linens. If you're okay with only a place to sleep, this room works. If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. We will choose a different room next visit.

Room Tip: Probably not the Wisteria room...unless you just want a place to sleep.
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summercamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

A coworker/friend and I stayed at the Inn for a long weekend getaway at the end of a business trip. We arrived later than expected, but Brian and Dana were very accommodating, ensuring we had an available key and knew what to do once we arrived.

The Inn was beautiful - well appointed and taken care of. The common areas were comfortable and tastefully decorated. Our room, the Oak room, was charming and cozy.

Brian and Dana were kind and gracious hosts - and the breakfasts! Oh, the breakfasts! Breakfast custard, a lovely fruit blend and a tasty sausage. Extra tasty, super fresh eggs with home grown chiles, more sausage, and more delicious fruit. And the cookies!

The Inn made a lovely "home base" for our adventures to Healdesburg and San Francisco. Our only regret was that our flight left so early that we missed our last day's breakfast!

Room Tip: The best room depends greatly on your needs - there's a great variety!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April7901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews