We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
Johnson's Beach

There is a very nice snacker area, and the kids who ran the snack bar are friendly and greet... read more

Reviewed July 22, 2018
beatles4ever1965
,
Santa Rosa, California
Summer beach fun for 50 years!

Went here almost daily during summers in the 1970's, and glad to see it hasn't changed much. Still... read more

Reviewed July 12, 2018
Anthony O
,
Los Angeles, California
Read all 93 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Guerneville
from $149.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
43
32
9
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
43
32
9
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snack shack russian river inner tubes pedal boats annual trek few hours canoeing triathlon shore
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Made our annual trek.
Things have changed over the years.
Must pay $7 to park now. Bag check as we walked in - no outside alcohol permitted.
We arrived after 4pm. Thinking we had til dust to kayak. Nope.
Close at 6pm.

In the past, when you rented, the hourly price got cheaper the later in the day.
Not now. $20/hr. Even at 4:30pm.

Lots of loud speaker announcements: we close in 15 minutes.
Felt more like a business that a casual afternoon at the beach.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Tatiá M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2019

Was fortunate to snag one of the cabins at this fantastic resort on the bank of the Russian River. Right in the heart of town, it was the perfect way to get some much needed rest and relaxation. It is very kid-friendly, and honestly this gave me a moment of concern when I arrived. But everyone is so respectful and there is a 10pm quiet rule that was practiced by everyone. The cabin was beautifully done in white with brand new wood floors. There was a heater if the room got too cold. The kitchenette was perfect for late night snacks and early morning nibbles. Hot water was plentiful. As I mentioned, the entire ground is just a few steps to the banks of the Russian River. Resort guests enjoy a private "beach," where you can rent chairs, inner tubes, and more, plus enjoy reasonably priced beach food. I just loved every moment and cannot recommend this place highly enough!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Barrettny254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanJBR, Owner at Johnson's Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2019

Thank you Barrettny254 for sharing details of your experience. So happy that you had a great time and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

Johnson's Beach is a great summertime area with kayaks, paddle boats, tubes, and many other water toys. A sandy beach has room for a large number of folks.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Owner at Johnson's Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2018

Thank you Greg. Thrilled you enjoy spending time here. Hope to see you next summer.
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Some would say this is like beaching in a parking lot. Some will like this. We experienced a mild foul odour on an airless day. We found no benches or tables to sit at (except nearby at the private vacation lodge). We read in the signage at the entrance that water did not meet health quality standards for bathing and fishers were forewarned about identifying sick and contaminated fish - this may be temporary.
Very limited parking on city streets nearby.
Possibly a safe nearby non-ocean beach of interest for some guests.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank david_sceno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Owner at Johnson's Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2018

Hi David,
Sorry for the delayed reply. We are closed for the season - as we were when you visited. Please consider returning when we are open - we have a snack bar and a boathouse for rentals of kayaks and canoes, as well as chairs and umbrellas.
The summer dam was removed a few days before your visit, and as the water recedes, the pebbles that spent the summer underwater are exposed, and as they dry out, they emit that odor. For this reason, we close for the season when the dam is removed.
Water quality this season was excellent. Unfortunately, the County isn't very good about maintaining their signs. The best source for this information is at https://sonomacounty.ca.gov/Health/Environmental-Health/Water-Quality/Fresh-Water-Quality/. You can see that the water quality from the last test performed was within State standards with a low health risk for water contact.
Finally, regarding parking, we have a 200 car parking lot available for our guests. It too was closed when you visited as we had closed for the season.
Hope this information is helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018

Have been to Johnson's Beach in the past, but usually for triathlon events. So, it was nice to go and relax and enjoy the slow moving Russian River. Rented kayaks and paddled up the river. It wasn't too crowded, but there were others out on the water. Everyone was having a great day. The beach was clean, the crew that rented the kayaks/canoes/beach rentals were friendly and easy going.
We went on a weekday, if you go on the weekend, parking and crowds will most likely be larger, but I suspect it will still be a fun day at the river.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank JosephPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Owner at Johnson's Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Thanks for your feedback. I'm always happy to share this feedback with our crew - they are amazing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews