We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concierge of the Year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fern Grove Cottages
Ranked #1 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Round Hill VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Concierge of the Year”
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Driving down the coast from Fort Bragg heading to Bodega along Hwy 1 is a spectacular view. I was supposed to make San Jose that night, but decided to extend the vacation if I could get a room at Fern Grove. Luckily, Margaret had a vacancy in the nautical cabin, a bedroom and living room. Enjoyed a visit out to watch the harbor seals and a dip in the meticulous saline pool. We were going out to dinner that night but noticed a tire was flat.
Ever the great hostess, she did everything she could to make the situation better and sent us out to a very honest tire dealer in town. The fancy diner we had planned at Applewood had to be postponed, (turned out the were closed anyway due to a power outage) but we had huge plates of very good mexican food next door.

Not only are the cabins clean and neat, the owners are the most hands on helpers of any travelers in need. She knows the wineries and send you to the best.

  • Liked — The owner and the breakfast.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ditsyquoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    66
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
67
181
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
palm springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2007

A v ery lucky find. I had been up at Tahoe and decided to do wine country. Confirmed availability at the Dawn. It was not up to snuff (and they tried pulling a US$50 per diem surcharge for the dog!) So I cruised around and spotted the Fern Grove. Small cabins, knotty pine, Indian rugs, etc. Just quaint and cool. Perfect place to veg and read. The proprietress, this very amusing English lady, couldn't have been more accommodating.. She knew her stuff (as she should have): She sussed out what I was about. Told me the good wine stores, best times to do the wineries, where the good cheeses were, etc. She had a savvier insight than my list of recommendations. She really knew her restaurants too. One sour note was a sociopathic guest w/ a baby. His wife kept having to apologize for his rudeness and agressiveness. He threatened the owner which she handled with amazing restraint and aplomb. I tip my hat to her, truly "grace under pressure." Hey, there are nuts everywhere, especially in America.

  • Liked — very comfortable, old timie cabins. central accessability to the coast, healdburg and santa rosa.
  • Disliked — guerneville itself and that unpleasant guest
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank au_bouef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2007

We stayed at Fern Grove during a recent retreat. The rooms are cute and comfortable, the service great and breakfast outstanding! Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mmrDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2005

Very cute place. My daughter and I just returned from a trip to northern California and this place was cool. Funky and individualistic. The town of Guernville itself is worn though, it is dirty with lots of homeless people wandering the streets.

Spliffs coffeeshop right next to the Fern Grove Cottages is great. Good morning wakeup coffee. The breakfast offered by the cottages is super, fresh fruit, coffee, juice, cereal. The breakfast area was comfortable with music playing and a computer hookup. The owners were friendly.

At first I did not like the place (due to the towns residents and the dirty streets and sidewalks with businsess garbage overflowing) but as evening set in the cottages themselves were lit up with tiny lights around the cabins and in the beautiful landscaping. Slept great, the electric fireplaces in the rooms were great for the morning chill.

Wish this and all other hotels, motels and such has overhead ceiling fans as standard tho. I take my own fan. Fern Grove has no ventilation other than open windows with no screens. A little disconcerting to sleep with wide open windows but if not, then there would be no air moving inside.

Management of this and all other business in town need to get after the council to clean up the place.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katlady20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2004

This place has had many owners over the years. It seems to have finally found a good match. Fine attention paid by this British couple. Dog friendly and very comfortable. Great landscaping. Cozy rooms and walking distance to restaurants and local attractions.

Helpful?
3 Thank MonsterBite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2003

We often travel 'with dog' (70 pound Flat Coat) and find it difficult to obtain lodging with such a large pet. This accomodation suited us perfectly! The owners like pets (in some rooms, anyway, @ $15 extra per night) and even provide dog doo bags. There's a secluded grass area behind cottages 21 and 22 for pets to do their thing, as well. Nothing smelled doggy or dirty in or around the cottages, either. The gardens are lovely, winding through the parking area and around the cottages. The gas fireplace we had in our room really made it nice as it gets chilly in these parts in the evening. There was also a pool and the town of Guerneville and the Russian River is within easy walking distance (3-5 minutes) away. The ocean is a mere 15 minute drive to the west where you can go to the beaches, Jenner or Bodega Bay. Breakfast was continental and quite good with bagels, homemade chocolate chip scones, fresh fruit, breakfast breads and the usual coffee, tea and juice.

Helpful?
3 Thank ZoomLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,283 reviews
6.6 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
682 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
225 reviews
2.1 mi away
Santa Nella House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grove Cottages

Property: Fern Grove Cottages
Address: 16650 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fern Grove Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Grove Cottages were built in the 1920's for vacationing guests visiting the Russian River area from nearby San Francisco. The tradition continues, as Fern Grove Cottages remains the Russian River's best getaway. The cottages have been lovingly restored and most still retain their original knotty pine ambiance and warm yesteryear memories. Everyone is welcome at Fern Grove including well-behaved pets and children, with prior notice.Fern Grove is located just three blocks from the village of Guerneville with its quaint shops and selection of wonderful restaurants. You may also enjoy an easy walk to the nearby swimming beach on the Russian River. And of course our guests are invited to enjoy Fern Grove's heated saline water swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Fern Grove Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grove Cottages Hotel Guerneville
Fern Grove Cottages Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing