We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fern Grove Cottages - a nostalgic trip back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fern Grove Cottages
Ranked #2 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fern Grove Cottages - a nostalgic trip back in time”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

In April, 2013 my sister and I took a short road trip and spent one night at the Fern Grove Cottages in Guerneville, CA. We rented a two-bedroom cottage for one night, with kitchen facilities, including a stove and microwave. In addition there was a small gas-fireplace in the living area. As we entered the nostalgic cottage we immediately noticed the authentic linoleum flooring showing a young cowboy on his horse with a lasso twirling. We both laughed as it took us back to our childhood in the 1950's. The entire cabin was decorated in cowboy motif. We took a short drive to the Pacific Ocean - 30 minutes - and purposely stopped in Bodega Bay to buy fresh seafood to prepare back at the cottage. The bedrooms were small, but adequate and the bathroom more than adequate. We were in cabin 19 set back from the highway. The entire grounds were in bloom showing off the English Garden so carefully attended to. The breakfast offered was more of a continental breakfast and there was no evidence of scones or muffins, or lemon curd that previous reviewers mentioned. As we finished breakfast the kitchen sent out biscuits and gravy, but we did not partake. The overall experience was very pleasing and we would return, even staying in the Cowboy Cabin #19. Each cabin, we were told, is styled differently. Originally a 1920's resort it has been nicely updated keeping its charm of yesteryear. Annie the Innkeeper was personable and extremely helpful. Margaret, the owner was a wealth of information on the history of the cottages.

Room Tip: Ask for a room back from the road as it is well traveled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    64
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
66
178
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We just returned from deightful stay here and found our accommodations cozy, clean and well managed by its charming owners. Fern Grove Cottages emerge as an idyllic oasis set among redwoods and flowers. Just about any scenic attraction you would like to visit in wine country or along the ocean is less than a half hour drive away. Fine restaurants abound. I especially enjoyed the pastoral drive from our cottage to Healdsburg along the West Side highway as well as the drive to Jenner by the Sea. The Fern Grove continental breakfast features great coffee and home-made scones and biscuits with a broad selection of yummy spreads. Kudos to Marg & Mike Kennett, the longtime proprietors, who keep a close watch to ensure that their guests enjoy their stay.

Room Tip: This was our first stay. We chose Cottage 18, perhaps the most remote and one of the largest. We par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trigoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We would have liked to have stayed again to attend the 2013 Jazz Festival, but decided during our last 2012 stay that we would find a different location. The property is claimed to be smokefree but it is not. The guests in the cabin next to us constantly smoked, and the smoke and stench came right into our cabin. When my husband went for his 7:00am run they were already outside having a smoke fest. We could not open a window or leave the door open. It was really bad. We informed the office, but it did no good.

The cabins and pool are nice, but it is a shame the owners do not enforce their safety and health rules.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yvette97520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferngrovecottages, Owner at Fern Grove Cottages, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We feel badly about your unpleasant experience. We are clear in our smoking policy. For the past 12 years, Fern Grove Cottages has not permitted smoking inside any of our accommodations. Offenders are charged damages to cover special cleaning and out-of-service costs. Since 2012, we have complied with a new Sonoma County ordinance that prohibits smoking within 25 feet of a door or window. The information is posted in every cottage and in the office, and reviewed with guests at check in.
You mentioned that you were inconvenienced at 7:00am. As our office opens at 8:30am, we have no mechanism to respond at that time. As a non-smoking team, we and our staff strive to ensure a safe environment by responding immediately once we receive a complaint. Should the offending guest ignore our request, they are asked to leave. We cannot recall the specifics of your experience, since you elected to post your response over a half year after the event. But we are confident that we followed up on your complaint and communicated with the offenders.
We hope that you enjoy your visit to the 2013 Jazz Festival and we would love to welcome you perhaps in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Nice location, comfortable bed, generous home made baked goods for breakfast. Shower did not work. Had the tub been cleaned, the maid should have known the shower was broken. So wonder about housekeeping, although the rest of the room looked clean. HUGE, spider in room, had to kill it. Deemed "normal" for the woods. Oversized coffee table which was dangerous to navigate around, clipped our legs twice; sofa too old and saggy to sit on. Moved to another studio with a king size bed, usable sofa and normal size furniture, but it had no kitchen and the spa was smaller. Room change at 7:30 AM was rather inconvenient. All in all, an okay place but with a few annoyances to contend with during our short stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marjorie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferngrovecottages, Owner at Fern Grove Cottages, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. While equipment failures do occasionally occur, we hope that we demonstrated our commitment to your comfort by responding immediately and relocating you to a similar cottage. Based on this experience, we have now provided clear instructions on the use of the shower and tub in order to reduce the risk of future malfunction.
While we understand your doubt about the housekeeping, we are confident that our staff would never leave a tub, or shower, or anything else less than a spotless condition or ignore any malfunction in the equipment. The housekeeper who cleaned your cottage has worked with us for 12 years and we have the utmost confidence in her dedication and thoroughness. So please, rest assured that your bathroom received the same attention and care that your review noted about the rest of the cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Even though Guerneville is very small and there is very little to do there the scenery is very nice. This place was cute. The breakfast fixings were amazing. Most of it was homemade. The lemon curd was very tasty. The room was nice. The gardens around the property were beautiful. If you have a reservation they will expect you to use it. There is no backing out. Owner is nice but has a stern attitude. Overall it was a good place to stay...pricey but nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferngrovecottages, Owner at Fern Grove Cottages, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to write. Recently voted "One of America's Best Little Food and Wine Towns" by Food and Wine Magazine, Guerneville remains a favorite destination for generations of bay area residents who refresh and renew their spirits by connecting to the many natural wonders that we have been blessed with. We hope that you return some day and let our Certified Tourism Ambassadors share the many treasures and experiences of Sonoma County and the Russian River Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. The cottages are quite small, but very clean. The bedrooms are so small and the only drawers are in the main room. The shower could use a stronger shower head, but there was plenty of hot water. I agree that the scones are delicious but the breakfast is really more of a continental than a traditional B & B. When one stays for several nights, the repetitive breakfast got old. The innkeepers are so friendly and helpful. We felt quite comfortable here.

Room Tip: The curtains don't block out much light, so if you like dark sleeping, this is not for you. Alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sstarlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have been here on several occasions and find everything just perfect! I will keep coming back! Absolutely beautiful!

Mike and Margaret are very nice people and very helpful.

The scones in the morning are to die for!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcerneant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
6.6 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grove Cottages

Property: Fern Grove Cottages
Address: 16650 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fern Grove Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Grove Cottages were built in the 1920's for vacationing guests visiting the Russian River area from nearby San Francisco. The tradition continues, as Fern Grove Cottages remains the Russian River's best getaway. The cottages have been lovingly restored and most still retain their original knotty pine ambiance and warm yesteryear memories. Everyone is welcome at Fern Grove including well-behaved pets and children, with prior notice.Fern Grove is located just three blocks from the village of Guerneville with its quaint shops and selection of wonderful restaurants. You may also enjoy an easy walk to the nearby swimming beach on the Russian River. And of course our guests are invited to enjoy Fern Grove's heated saline water swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Fern Grove Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grove Cottages Hotel Guerneville
Fern Grove Cottages Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing