We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fern Grove Cottages
Ranked #1 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albuquerque
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were very pleased to find this little gem in Guerneville. The room we stayed in was quite small, but it was clean, quiet and comfortable. The grounds are beautifully maintained; it is like visiting a park. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast was much superior to that served in most hotels. We would definitely stay here again if we ever return to the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    66
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
68
183
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We just stayed here and it was a delight to our eyes. The grounds are so beautifully kept and full of wonderful flowers bursting with color. The owners are so helpful, breakfast was lovely and location ideal for an easy walk to town. I wouldn't hesitate to visit again, and SOON i hope!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The grounds are truly spectacular at this location. Very relaxing visit. The cottage was very clean, cozy and well suited to what we needed. All aspects of check in, information and any interaction with staff was amazing. I will definately be coming back and highly recommend this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swellmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The cottage was clean and cozy. Breakfast was tasty - especially the homemade granola. Fern Grove is ideally located - the perfect spot for easy travel to both Russian River wineries and Point Reyes. The helpful hostess had great suggestions for restaurants and wineries. We enjoyed our visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

First visit, and impressed with friendliness of innkeeper and staff. Unit was clean, although small. Price included very nice continental breakfast. Staff more than happy to share information on restaurants and places of interest in Guerneville and surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickM421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I like to go to Guerneville for long weekends. It's only a couple hours drive from home but it feels like a million miles from the city. Guerneville is an cute, unpretentious little town tucked between the Russian Rive and the redwood forests. Over the last 11 years we've stayed at 4 different hotels and have dined at 4 others; so, we have a pretty good idea of what's there and this is the best place for us. In the area you can generally find high end places, very low end places, and party places but Fern Grove is none of those. It's a gathering of cottages, some alone and some attached. Each has its own patio or shares one with the unit next door. It's clean, cute, and quiet. I think all of the units have kitchenettes and most have a gas fireplace; a couple have spa tubs. They have a beautiful English-style garden, a pool, and a bbq area. We haven't used the pool or bbq but they look nice. They also have a breakfast each morning in the bed and breakfast style. We sleep late so we haven't tried that either. The inn-keepers are friendly and helpful. It seems a bit pricey but I think it's worth it. I'm sure we've stayed there at least 10 times and we've given up trying other places. This is the place for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMockingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here during the week of the first week of June, 2012. The cottages are in a fantastic location, under the redwoods, and the cottages have a variety of plantings around them. With the variety of shade and sun plants, depending on the location, the whole property is interesting. The yard/grilling area is less verdant, but every area feels private. I don't think there is a bad location on the property. Perhaps in the highest of high season, the two-lane road in front of the property would be an annoyance, but with the plants and the trees and the fencing, don't think so. The only thing very close to the road is the pool, and it still felt quite protected, to me.

We stayed in one of the lower-priced rooms. While it was fairly basic, the bed was good and we had good reading light, and it felt very clean and comfy. We only wished we had specified a tub, ans we only had a shower stall and we are tub people.

The hosts provide lots of good advice on the area with the printed material available in the common building. The game selection was paltry. Not even a deck of cards. There were two copies of one game we didn't care to play, and that was it. We chose to use our iPad to play Scrabble, instead. It wasn't a big deal, but we were in a vintage cottage in northern CA, and it would have been nice to have some real games to play. They have some VCR and DVDs but the machine was not provided in our room. And as we didn't look until the evening, we couldn't ask if a video machine was available. This is less a complaint that a warning, in case you are expecting some typical B&B-style entertainment. Bring some books and games of your own!

We visited during the week, and had the pool to ourselves. Although close to the road, it was surprisingly quiet. After going out to the foggy coast in the morning, it was great to spend an hour in the pool and in the sun.

Guerneville is in a steep-sided valley. It is not a central place to use as your central place for touring a wide area. But if you want to have some time taking it easy in a delightful location, this is a fine place.

We would come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank consaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferngrovecottages, Owner at Fern Grove Cottages, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for a nice review of Fern Grove Cottages. Guerneville is considered to be a great central location with easy access to the River, Redwoods, Wineries, and Ocean. The views along Main Street in Guerneville showcase the hills surrounding the area and the many beautiful trees. We pride ourselves in offering excellent concierge services from breakfast time until 7pm. We do provide much information in out Innkeepers guide books and these are available for our guests to browse. We do prefer to give a more personal touch to make sure our guests have a wonderful time in this very special area, so ask away at reception and we will tailor our suggestions to meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,372 reviews
6.6 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
687 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
225 reviews
2.1 mi away
Santa Nella House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grove Cottages

Property: Fern Grove Cottages
Address: 16650 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fern Grove Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Grove Cottages were built in the 1920's for vacationing guests visiting the Russian River area from nearby San Francisco. The tradition continues, as Fern Grove Cottages remains the Russian River's best getaway. The cottages have been lovingly restored and most still retain their original knotty pine ambiance and warm yesteryear memories. Everyone is welcome at Fern Grove including well-behaved pets and children, with prior notice.Fern Grove is located just three blocks from the village of Guerneville with its quaint shops and selection of wonderful restaurants. You may also enjoy an easy walk to the nearby swimming beach on the Russian River. And of course our guests are invited to enjoy Fern Grove's heated saline water swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fern Grove Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grove Cottages Hotel Guerneville
Fern Grove Cottages Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing