We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay Among the Redwoods!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fern Grove Cottages
Ranked #2 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
578 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay Among the Redwoods!”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights this past weekend and really enjoyed the stay. The cottages are in a lovely setting with beautiful redwoods and attractive areas of planted trees, shrubs and flowers. We stayed in Cottage #6 which consisted of a small bedroom, living room with gas fireplace and kitchenette which included a refrigerator, sink, counter and microwave. The cottage although rather small, was quite adequate for our needs and tastefully decorated. The lodge has a very nice sitting area with a large table and comfortable chairs for sitting around the fireplace. There are magazines, books and tourist information to browse through. A breakfast is served to guests from 8:30 to 10:00 and it was really very good. There were homemade scones and biscuits. Also included was bagels, english muffins, sweet breads, cookies and pastries. The granola tasted homemade and was delicious. There was yogurt and homemade jams, lemon curd, cream cheese, butter and apple butter. In the evening hot tea was available as well as cream sherry. The inkeepers were pleasant and welcoming. The town of Guerneville is just down the street, so easy access to restaurants, shops, etc. We loved sightseeing in this part of the state. Don't miss seeing Armstrong Redwoods which is just five minutes away and is such a beautiful grove with trails of varying lengths. We also went to the Sonoma Coast and I was amazed at the beauty. Truly one of the most beautiful coastal areas in California! There are several beaches to explore on the Sonoma Coast but we headed down to Bodega Head which is stunning and another great place to walk around! This is a wonderful place to vacation and Fern Grove Cottages makes for a great base to explore the redwoods and coast!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    65
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
67
180
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I was so pleased with my last visit I brought a group back to tour some of the winerys and this area is a zin and pinot location. The staff and owner made us feel so welcomed and enhanced our trip with great food suggestions.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheelon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed here for two nights before an after our wedding in a nearby woods. When Margaret, the innkeeper, found out about our special day she made sure had a lovely bottle of local wine to toast our special day. The grounds are lovely with beautiful camellias and even though it was rainy for most of our trip we enjoyed starting the day with the lovely breakfast - don't miss the homemade scones with jam made from the fruit grown right there at Fern Grove! We'd recommend this for friends traveling in the area looking for that nice middle ground between camping and some fancy hotel. Really wonderful and Mike and Margaret are lovely hosts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaHuntley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We chose this location because it looked cute as we drove by through Guerneville and needed to choose somewhere to stay and quickly... We had the three lowest price options to choose from and choose the highest of those three because we liked the idea of the living room with the gas stove heater. The guy at the front was able to give us good advice on where to go for dinner that night and when we got 'home' that night it was very comfy and nice for it to be so warm...

We also liked the at we had wifi at this location.

Room Tip: the three options for rooms that we heard about were a studio room, a room with a jacuzzi bath, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahR42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed a restful one-night stay at the Fern Gove Cottages Guerneville during our visit to the Northern California wine country. We stayed in a studio cottage with a gas log stove, and wet bar. We liked the traditional rustic pine paneling on the walls in cottage. The queen size bed was very comfortable. Overall the cottage was cozy, immaculately clean, and very quite. The owners and staff of Fern Grove Cottages were very friendly and helpful regarding information about the Russian River area. The prices were very reasonable for the wine country.

The grounds were beautiful, with the cottages nestled in a grove of redwood trees. The size and color of the flowers on the grounds were amazing during our September visit.

Fern Grove Cottages are a short walk down Main Street to restaurants, shops, Safeway and the main part of Guerneville.

The complimentary continental breakfast was fantastic. The fresh baked homemade scones were a real treat. The breakfast included tea, coffee, orange juice, granola, other baked goods, and fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Within walking distance is Boon Eat + Drink, an excellent restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJLJOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferngrovecottages, Manager at Fern Grove Cottages, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you so much for all of the nice compliments. We hope you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We were looking for a place surrounded by redwoods near the wine country. Found this on tripadvisor. We rarely stay in small inns, but we really enjoyed this place. We also got a wine tasting passport through tripadvisor site. Fern grove gave us the passport when we arrived. We showed the passport at the wineries listed on the passport and were given a complimentary tasting. There are about 30 wineries listed on the passport. The cottages had no phone or clock but our cell phone sufficed. Breakfast was included which was very good - it consisted of fruit, pastries, toast, scones, and homemade jams, orange juice and coffee. Free wifi was offered, but had difficulty logging in. Owner is aware and is going to have improvements made which will increase capacity. Would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: We chose a 1 room cottage, but next time would like to have a cottage with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2012

A group of friends and I attended the Winter Wineroad. My friend suggested this place after she found it on an internet search. It had high ratings and great value. Chain hotels near the city were $300 plus. We were able to stay in a studio with spa tub for less than $200. Our studio had a deck and nautical theme. It was very cute, very clean and had everything we needed...including a small flat screen TV (the NFL playoffs were on :P). The inn owner was very nice. At breakfast, in the lobby, she made sure we were warm enough. Breakfast was exactly what we were hoping for, warm scones and other pastries. They also had delicious vanilla yogurt with granola. My only complaint would be that there was no stand up shower. You had to use a hand held, shower nozzle in the spa tube to bathe. Note: my friend had a one bedroom place and she had a shower so I think this complaint only applies to studios.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,269 reviews
6.6 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
682 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
225 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grove Cottages

Property: Fern Grove Cottages
Address: 16650 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9678
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fern Grove Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Grove Cottages were built in the 1920's for vacationing guests visiting the Russian River area from nearby San Francisco. The tradition continues, as Fern Grove Cottages remains the Russian River's best getaway. The cottages have been lovingly restored and most still retain their original knotty pine ambiance and warm yesteryear memories. Everyone is welcome at Fern Grove including well-behaved pets and children, with prior notice.Fern Grove is located just three blocks from the village of Guerneville with its quaint shops and selection of wonderful restaurants. You may also enjoy an easy walk to the nearby swimming beach on the Russian River. And of course our guests are invited to enjoy Fern Grove's heated saline water swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Fern Grove Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grove Cottages Hotel Guerneville
Fern Grove Cottages Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing