We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guerneville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Schoolhouse Campground
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We were looking for our first camping experience in the Russian River area in over 20 years and were very glad we chose Schoolhouse Canyon. Initially we looked at Casini Ranch but after reading all the horrid reviews all over the web on them, we felt that Schoolhouse Canyon would better suite our tastes. The camp sites were perfect and even though they weren't too terrible far apart, we didn't mind seeing our neighbors from time to time. The restroom facilities were the best one could expect and the general cleanliness on the grounds was great. On the staff end, we only got to meet Chris and he was sweet as pie and very helpful. I think we lucked out with our fellow campers as mostly all were quiet and respectful people. The later evenigns were really quiet with no rowdy, partying people to keep you up. Just remember to bring really warm sleeping bags thought because it can get pretty chilly in the early morning hours under those redwoods, even in August. We'll definately be back and maybe stay farther up in the canyon next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perpendxular78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Frann Francisco, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This is the worst campground I have ever been to! We were searching up and down River Road for a nice little campground, and happened upon it. The gate was open and no one was in the shack as it was after hours. So we went ahead and set up camp right near the OPEN bathrooms and near the entrance so our friends could easily find us! We had a wonderful camp fire and we put the kids to sleep and we were all going to bed, when a man and woman drove up and started yelling! yes I said yelling at us telling us we were trespassing and that we blatantly passed the sign saying the campground was closed! We informed him of the way we found the campground and that it appeared to be open and he informed us that the gate and everything was open because they lived there! Well we asked if it was okay for us to spend the night and leave first thing in the morning seeing as the children were all asleep as was half of our party in the middle of the night. He informed us under no circumstances were we allowed to stay and that if we didn't leave they were going to call the sheriff and have us removed! Now I admit that at 12am when being treated hostile we did not respond kindly to his threat, so he immediately called the sheriff to have us removed! When the Sheriff arrived they agreed with us that the campground did appear to be open but that we had to leave! I have been camping all over the place up and down the river at random times during the year and have never run into such a horrible situation! The "owner" even offered us to come back in the summer! This is one campground me and my entire family will never be returning too!

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Meriha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stumbled on this campground a few weeks back and have returned a few times. It's the best kept secret for tent campers. It's in a beautiful redwood canyon, right across from the river with a private beach just for the campers. Chris and his family are welcoming, friendly, wonderful! I love this place.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Balatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Beautiful, clean, quiet, showers, firepits, near to river. Good people running the grounds. A nice family hangout, Rio Nido Road House, with pool, snack bar, restaraunt, bar and live music just a mile or so away. A nice and convenient place!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickiVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed here for the first weekend in August and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The communal bathroom was about as clean as I expected. There were also 2 shower stalls (runs on quarters) and outside there were two deep basins for cleaning dishes. Each campsite had a fire pit (either rock or brick, firewood bundles are available from the owners at $7/bundle) and a moveable picnic table. Our campsite had its own spigot for cold water, but not every campsite had its own so some campers would have to use one of several spigots located throughout the campground. None of the communal spigots appeared to be a long walk.
There are trees everywhere, so shade during the daylight hours is abundant. We found the beach to be a bit small. There are several dog friendly beaches in the area, including Sunset Beach and Hacienda Beach. Both are less than 10 minutes by car.
Check-in/out is 11 am, but that doesn't appear to be strictly enforced on Sundays as most people are leaving and few are arriving. Prices PER DAY in August of 2008 was $35 for first 2 people and 1 car. Additional people, another car, or family dog are an extra $5 each, although some campsites didn't appear to be big enough for more than 4 people and 1 car.
Reservations are taken on Monday for the upcoming weekend, and the campground is open Memorial day through Labor day. I would definitely call for reservations, and my family and I will DEFINITELY be back.

  • Liked — Shade for camping and proximity to dofferent locations on the river
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, but this is camping so what can anyone expect.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yardpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 12, 2004

Across the road from the beautiful Russian River. Wonderful campground - clean and shady! Dogs are welcome and our Jack Russell Terrier loved camping there too! Next to Korbel Champagne Winery.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2004

I have stayed at Schoolhouse Campground for many years during the camp season. I have always enjoyed the grounds and find it a great place to stay and very clean. The owners also are very concerned about the needs and accomidating there guests.

Helpful?
2 Thank Roger252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
4.1 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
9.0 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
0.2 mi away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
2.9 mi away
AutoCamp Russian River
AutoCamp Russian River
#1 of 9 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.8 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Campground

Property: Schoolhouse Campground
Address: 12600 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9574
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Guerneville
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russian River Camping Schoolhouse Canyon Campground has been in continuous operation since the 1960s and is part of the original Ridenhour ranch, which has remained in the family since the 1850s. Please come and relax, camp with us and enjoy the beautiful Russian River valley. We are a perfect home base for wine tasting, canoeing, bicycle tours or even a visit to the coast. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Campground Hotel Guerneville
Schoolhouse Campground Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing