We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation? I don't think so!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
Ranked #8 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2007

After reading the former review of the noise, I felt immediately compelled to write an equally discouraging review. Yes, it was noisy and my husband and I were tempted to check into another place, however, not knowing the area too. It was miserable and the InnKeepers thought this was normal and fun. I don't think so.

There are other nice places to stay in this area and many home rentals that are much quieter than this "night club"!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank traveljem90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 228 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2007

My husband and I chose this Inn because of other reviews and the Inn's website. It really wasn't we expected. While the bed was actually very comfortable, the room was clean, and we had a beautiful view from our deck, it did not meet our expectations. We were planning on having a quiet, relaxing time, but instead, this hotel was the center of a five day festival beginning the day after we checked in. So between the noisy set up during the day and then the loud bass of the stereo equipment all day and evening for the pool parties, we were greatly disappointed. On our second day, however, we complained to the manager and she was very understanding and refunded our room for that night and allowed us to check out.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaltoThirtiesCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSISonoma_California, Owner at West Sonoma Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2007

We're sorry that our guests were unhappy with the noise/music created by the event during their stay. Almost everyone staying with us, and in the town of Guerneville, were either attending or working at the event, which is the largest event of the year. We were one of four locations having a pool party – the only pool party West Sonoma Inn & Spa has in the year.

We appreciate their feedback and in future will advise our guests of any events where music or noise may impact their stay.

Karen O’Brien, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We have been visiting this hotel on an annual basis for at least 13 years. In fact, my wife's family has been visiting Guerneville on an annual basis for at least the last 60+ years!

Needless to say, we know what to expect when coming to Guerneville. Unfortunately, we were not able to book a stay at "Brookside Lodge" (former name) last year due to some family health issues. Turns out this is fortunate, as we would not have been able to stay there anyways because of a change in ownership and a major renovation that was underway!!!

When booking our trip this year, we were skeptical about what to expect. We knew the hotel had gone under renovations, but weren't sure as to what changes we would see.

Upon pulling up to the property, we were surprised to see a new fence surrounding the property along Brookside Lane. This isn't a bad thing - just the first change we saw. Secondly, when we checked in at the main office, we were completely blown away. What used to a bland and somewhat typical hotel office had been transformed into a grand room with an exposed beam ceiling with original old growth redwood! It was magnificent compared to what we were used to!

We typically stay in the cabin off to the front of the main office, which used to be called the "Doll House." This used to be a "rustic" cabin that was very run down and in disrepair. We used to sleep in the same bed that resembled what I liked to call a "taco shell." Not the best nights sleep...

That was then - this is... WOW!!!

When we walked in, we were blown away. They had rearranged the living room and kitchen area to replace the old counter tops with granite! What a nice touch! The bathroom was also updated with granite counter tops as well as a new bathtub. The old television in the living room was even replaced with a small flat panel television set...

While it was nice to have a great picture from a flat panel television, I would have rather had a traditional tube television and had a little more larger screen... that's just me, though...

The beds were brand new and were actually better than what I was used to in more upscale hotels! I have recently stayed in a Westin and in a Crowne Plaza - both known for their nice beds - and I was actually more comfortable in the West Sonoma Inn's beds much better!

On top of the room being updated and better, the swimming pool area was greatly improved. The swimming pool water treatment system was switched out from the traditional chlorine system to a modern salt water system. My eyes didn't burn and my skin actually felt softer when I got out of the water!

One nice thing that was greatly welcomed to this hotel from the previous ownership... the addition to a wireless internet system! I have Verizon Wireless and use an air card for my work and had absolutely no cell phone service in Guerneville... the hotel's wifi saved my life!!! FYI - my wife has Cingular and her cell phone worked fine... hopefully Verizon will grow out into this area...

The management of this hotel was outstanding and I wish them the best of luck in their future at this location. We look forward to our stay next July! See you then!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank briguy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2007

Like the other reviewers, we would say the West Sonoma Inn is clean, tasteful, and clearly recently renovated. The beds are sparkling white, the decor leaning towards "swanky." However, the charm of the place is lacking as soon as you step outside, where you are immediately reminded you're in an aged motel complex. It was sort of . . . weird, because the transformation just isn't complete. One gets the sense the WSI is trying to be on the forefront of a renewal of Guerneville--only Guerneville hasn't quite caught on. Oh, and "spa?" A pool, yes. And you can book a massage but . . .

For $150 we were puzzled by the lack of AC. The two rooms we were shown were HOT and needed serious airing out to cool down.

We were very happy with owner Navid's dinner recommendation--the Main St Station. Good food, good music. We were less thrilled by his quizzing us about property values in our area--he is clearly looking for more investement opportunities. For us, one night at the WSI was a splurge, a break from hard work and "grad student poverty" living so it was a major downer--and just sort of lame--to have to listen to this guy talk about "what you can buy for 400K" in our area, especially given that wealthy people like him are the reason rampant inflation has priced young couples like us out of buying homes in our own home town.

It may just be that this was just the wrong place for us; in anycase we left early in the morning and went back to Point Reyes' beauty, where we should have stayed all along.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sierrafoothills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSISonoma_California, Owner at West Sonoma Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2007

We’d like to thank our guests for their feedback. We’re glad that they found the rooms and décor to their liking. After purchasing the property in November 2005 we closed for over seven months and invested our life’s savings into substantial remodeling and upgrading the property. We work hard to please our guests and enjoy conversing about interests and tastes so that we can offer suggestions for dining, activities or relaxation, which will enable them to get the most out of their stay in the Russian River area.

We pride ourselves on the fact that we offer reasonable rates. While we currently do not have AC (almost no-one does in this region as the Mediterranean-like climate and the cool air from the Sonoma Coast keeps temperatures warm during the day and rapidly cooling at night) we do have ceiling fans and floor fans in every room.

Karen O'Brien and Naveed Haneef, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We had a Lovely experience at the West Sonoma Inn- it has been beautifully redecorated recently and everything was extremely clean. The owners Karen and Navid, as well as all of their employees, were extremely friendly and helpful.
The bed was soft and comfortable- the linens were great too (from Italy). We were in room 113- a Courtyard Suite- had a skylight in the bathroom and a fireplace in the bedroom. Our small private terrace looked out onto a wooded hill and vineyard. A doe and two tiny fawns nibbled on grass directly in front of us while we enjoyed local cheese and wine one evening. Very quiet location.
Conveniently located.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerfectlyHonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank philhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank andy_tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
13.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,587 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
419 reviews
0.8 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 12 in Guerneville
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#1 of 12 in Guerneville
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Woods Resort at the Russian River
0.6 mi away
AutoCamp Russian River
AutoCamp Russian River
#1 of 9 in Guerneville
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Sonoma Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Sonoma Inn & Spa

Address: 14100 Brookside Lane, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: $143 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Sonoma Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Russian River Valley, the cozy yet posh West Sonoma Inn & Spa is superbly situated on 6 acres of sun-splashed grounds featuring soaring redwoods, shaded lawns, vineyard views and pool. Our rooms and suites feature plush beds, crisp white linens, Italian tile bathrooms and wet bars or mini kitchens. Most of our units have fireplaces, many have private decks and valley views, some have private two-person hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your West Sonoma Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Sonoma Inn And Spa
West Sonoma Hotel Guerneville
West Sonoma Inn & Spa Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing