We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family spot, fantastic location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
Ranked #10 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Can't beat the secluded location, huge pool and nice grounds, which can accommodate large groups or families. Walking distance to everything Guerneville has to offer, but setback far enough to get away from everything. Large, clean rooms, very nice inside and outside common areas and very attentive staff makes this an ideal getaway location!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romeo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 229 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The town of Guerneville is definitely a different type of town... You are not going to go and expect that there are a million things to do, but that's the point. It's in an area where nature is at its finest and you can walk through Redwoods and really find peace there. You can also kayak down the Russian River or tube down it and just relax. In regards to the "transient" comment below, the people in Guerneville are definitely different and laid back.... but it is nothing to be worried about. It is also very close to vineyards (Korbel is 5 minutes away). If you are using a groupon, you probably are not going to be put in the highest price rooms, but even the "normal" rooms are still nice.. I probably also would not walk around the town at night but West Sonoma Inn is safe and we have never had any problems there. The rooms are very homey and lovely, especially the rooms overlooking the vineyards. We have never found anything outdated about the rooms. So if you're looking for a nice, relaxing, beautiful place to stay, stay here :).

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get the rooms with hot tubs and vineyard views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The West Sonoma Inn is a rustic spot ...very moderately priced for the California wine region. Our room was very large and connected via a small kitchen to another room occupied by our travel companions. That was quite a nice arrangement for us and allowed us to prepare light meals and snacks during our stay. I can share a couple of things:

1. The rooms are not air conditioned...but have fans. Our room had a malfunctioning light, a broken hairdryer and non functional remote control. Not a big deal but just enough to be annoying

2. The town of Guernville is very, very quite. Besides a full service 24 hour supermarket there isn't much there. So depending on your expectations you might be disappointed

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cplisner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We bought a groupon for the West Sonoma Inn and spa which was advertised as a $400 plus value. Rooms were run down, but clean. Views were not what they were advertised to be. The town was run down, many transients, and very outdated with nothing really to do. It was close to many vineyards and pretty landscape. We did not feel safe to wander after dark.
The staff at the Inn were very kind and friendly. The groupon included "wine passes to 16 vineyards". However, many of the vineyards were free anyway, so I don't think that should be considered when calculating a "value" for the groupon!
Although the Inn was acceptable, it was definitely not what it was advertised to be!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAB1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My fiance and I only stay at West Sonoma Inn in Guerneville. We have probably stayed more than 25 times there and they treat us like family. They have a great spa and an area that you can sit outside and look at vineyards and beautiful mountains and Redwoods. It is really breathtaking. They have all kinds of rooms, most with fireplaces and some with hot tubs. We have probably stayed in every room now that I think of it (even the pet friendly rooms) and none of them disappointed. I am a musician/singer/songwriter and I often go out to the picnic tables outside and find so much inspiration in this atmosphere. They also have the absolute most COMFORTABLE beds you will ever sleep on. It feels like home. It is also within walking distance of the small, cute downtown area with all of the restaurants. Many of the hotels in this area are nice but this one is the absolute best. They also have a great spa, we only get massages here because we love them so much. Stay here and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, A lot of the rooms have a vineyard/mountain view, there is a pool/spa, visit th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The main bad thing that I have to say against West Sonoma Inn & Spa is that we couldn't stay longer to appreciate it more. We stayed one night while exploring the Sonoma Valley.

The hotel is actually more like an upscale motel: each room leads outside on the ground floor. The room we had was very large with a gaz fireplace and a separate lounge-kitchenette. The bathroom was standard, but everything was clean and top-notch. However, the walls are a bit thin and we could hear the neighbor guests talking.

Sadly, no time to try the pool or the spa services.

The staff was very friendly and helpful for suggestions and recommendations. We had dinner nearby at Boon Eat + Drink, which is an amazing restaurant, the best in our vacations. A visit to the Armstrong Redwoods State National Reserve is a must since it's only a 10 minutes drive. You prefer the ocean? It's just 35-40 minutes drive west. And of course, there are wineries all around.

In conclusion, it was a great surprise to have such a nice place so far in the valley.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Volasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Only stayed for one night but took full advantage of the patio. Great staff but a little funky carpets. The rooms were pretty but we didn't spend that much time there.....the town was a little crazy and busy but we ran across a pedestrian bridge to a little more quiet area to go for a run. All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaLing81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
14.9 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
13 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,667 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 12 in Guerneville
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#1 of 12 in Guerneville
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Woods Resort at the Russian River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Sonoma Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Sonoma Inn & Spa

Address: 14100 Brookside Lane, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: $143 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Sonoma Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Russian River Valley, the rustic West Sonoma Inn & Spa is superbly situated on 6 acres of sun-splashed grounds featuring soaring redwoods, shaded lawns, vineyard views and pool. Our cozy rooms and inviting suites feature comfortable beds, dynamic family-friendly floorplans, and fully equipped wet bars or mini kitchens. Most of our units have fireplaces, many have private decks and valley views, some have private two-person hot tubs.​ So whether you are a family of 4 summering on the banks of the majestic Russian River or a loving couple looking to reconnect, the​ West Sonoma Inn & Spa can be your slice of paradise.​ Come pay us a visit, the redwoods are calling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your West Sonoma Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Sonoma Inn And Spa
West Sonoma Hotel Guerneville
West Sonoma Inn & Spa Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing