We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Farmhouse Inn(Forestville)
$436
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Hotel(Occidental)(Great Value!)
$137
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
H2 Hotel(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Healdsburg(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
$449
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$457
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
$350
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Dry Creek Inn(Healdsburg)(Great Value!)
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Duchamp Healdsburg(Healdsburg)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
124
70
23
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
70
23
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrussian riverwine countryhot tubcozy fireplaceprivate deckget awayking suitesmall townwithin easy walking distancestaff was very friendly and helpfulnice pooldowntown guernevillepropertysuggestionspassessinkrefrigerator
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 230 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have been staying at the West Sonoma Inn and Spa about twice a year for 3 years or so. I always stay in the beautiful cottage suite #121. It's a beautiful room with a deck and hot tub over looking the vineyard. It has a lovely fireplace and most off all an incredible six head shower for two.
The staff is always warm and friendly. I have stayed on sold out weekends and have stayed during quiet weekdays, from peak season to off season and the level of service is always excellent .
I recommend taking advantage of the spa while treating myself to a massage or facial.
I have stayed at other resorts in the area and nothing comes close to the West Sonoma Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place is awesome and is our favorite place to stay while on vacation. We have been staying here for many years now usually during the Russian River Blues and jazz festival. Our favorite room is 122 which is a vineyard suite room with an awesome hot tub for 2 on a private deck overlooking the vineyards. So much to see from our deck. We weren't lucky enough to be there during the grape harvest, but would have found it interesting.We are always open to new experiences. We did get to see a family of deer who roamed by early each morning. Awesome.
The room itself is very comfortable with a cozy fireplace and a kitchenette with a small fridge, microwave and all the amenities. Great shower in the bathroom with 2 heads. Our first night there we went down to the courtyard off the lobby area and barbequed.
We also spent alot of time at the pool area and the warm and inviting pool.
The place is clean, and well maintained.
The staff is friendly and helpful.
Really, I can't say enough about our favorite spot.
I am a flight attendant for a major airline and regularly stay in hotels all over the world.
This is my favorite. Now you know!!!
Diane and James Johnson
Sonoma, Ca.

Room Tip: Get one of the vineyard rooms with a hot tub on the deck. Soooo relaxing.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane and Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Upon making a reservation, your first question should be, "Is it grape harvesting season and/or first crush?" If the answer is yes, do not stay at this property or at a minimum do not stay in the Vineyard Cottage Suites.

First, you must know that this is a lovely property and the staff is very pleasant and helpful upon arrival. The inn is a series of separate small buildings with a couple of rooms in each building. The pool is small and some of the lounges could use an upgrade, but it is surrounded by lovely planters with colorful flowers and the entire property has a nice sense of privacy. Naveed was very helpful when I made the reservation for our 15th anniversary getaway, and set us up with sparkling wine in the room, reservations at a nice restaurant the first night, and a winery pass. The plan was to stay Monday and Tuesday nights with a couples massage. The room (Vineyard Cottage Suite #122) itself was simply, but tastefully, furnished and the deck overlooked the vineyard at what we assumed was Korbel. We very much enjoyed the peace and quiet that first evening, sipping our wine and munching on snacks on the deck and later soaking in the two-person hot tub. The deck area could use a little maintenance with wobbly shelves and such, but nothing that interfered with our enjoyment. We even laughed off the loud snoring coming from our next door neighbor, realizing that the walls were a bit thin, and turned on our iPod on the dock next to the bed to drown it out and get to sleep. All in all we were very content and enjoying our anniversary.

Until 1:50AM that is. That is when a series of extremely loud and rattling trucks starting passing by just under our window in the vineyard. They let out a crew of workers who started running carts up and down the aisles of the vineyard, gathering grapes. The carts would bang and shudder, echoing through our room. Both the perpetually flashing lights on the trucks and the stationary floodlights penetrated our blackout curtains at the seams. As the crew worked its way closer to our room, the noise from the crew yelling at each other grew increasingly louder. At one point the decibel meter on our iPhone measured the noise level at 93db. At 4:00AM, we were at our wits end and called the front desk to beg them to do something. With no answer, we left a voicemail. Soon after, in desperation, we yelled at the crew to keep the noise down and called the front desk again. This time someone answered, but told us that calling at that hour was only for emergencies. We indicated we were getting ready to pack up and leave, cancelling our massages and the next night's stay. He told us we'd have to talk to the "secretary" at 8:30AM when she got in the office and that he couldn't help us.

At 4:30AM, the crew packed up and left. A few more trucks passed by, but we were able to finally get back to sleep around 5:00AM. We went to the front desk the next morning and were received with apologies and confusion. She had no idea they harvested at that hour, which surprised us given the proximity of the inn to the vineyard. She also had no idea we had left a voicemail the night before or had spoken to anyone about the situation. We cancelled the rest of our stay and left that morning, in no small amount of shock that the inn had not offered something concrete to fix the situation. She could have proactively offered to call the vineyard to get assurances that it wouldn't happen again the second night. She could have offered to move us to a different room. She could have offered to compensate us in some way for a night of lost sleep or an anniversary getaway that had effectively been ruined. Aside from sympathy and apologies, it didn't appear to cross her radar screen to try to fix the situation other than to say "I wish there was something I could do."

Thus, we cannot give the inn more than one star for this stay. 1. At no time during the reservation process did they indicate that the vineyard might gather grapes in the middle of the night. 2. There was no one available to help us when we called to ask them to possibly do something during the height of the noise. 3. They didn't try to do anything concrete to help remedy the situation.

Net net, we will never stay here again, we're warning all our friends about staying here, and would advise you to be very cautious in making a reservation at this property.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank swb_muir_beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSISonoma_California, Owner at West Sonoma Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

We're disappointed that this reviewer's stay with us was spoiled by the vineyard activity. It's very common for harvesting to be done at night when the temperatures are cooler. In the six years that we've owned this property no-one else has ever had a problem with the grapes being harvested. Honestly, people visiting during harvest are thrilled to experience the process. We had two other occupied guest rooms with the same proximity to the vineyard and no-one else complained.

To address his points:

1. We do not know when Korbel, who owns the vineyard, is going to pick their grapes. We have no influence on their schedule and for us to request that they refrain from picking at night is unreasonable.

2. They called our emergency phone line and spoke to our night manager. He explained that there was nothing he could do.

3. Our Frontdesk Agent, Courtney, did have a conversation with the wife. She tried to console her as the lady was visible upset because her husband was so angry. She asked her if there was anything she could do for them but they were adamant that they were leaving. The subject of a change of room was effectively dismissed. As the package they booked already had a generous discount off the room rate and a complimentary bottle of champagne and, more importantly, as the problem was not in our making nor in our control to remedy, we did not feel a further discount was appropriate. The husband's aggressive tone added to this decision (we do not feel it prudent to reward guests with bad behavior, sorry). We released them without charge for the cancellation of the second night. We also released them from their spa treatments. Naturally our property lost revenue on both accounts.

The Vineyard Cottage Suites are highly desirable. They are perfect for romantic get-aways as so many of our Tripadvisor reviews attest. It's our hope that everyone that visits us will have a fantastic vacation but somethings are just not in our control.

Karen O'Brien
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a wedding weekend in the Russian River area. The couple suggested the West Sonoma Inn as the nicest hotel/inn in the area - and they were right! We were pleasantly surprised at the size of our room (2 queens) which included a full kitchen with table, a fireplace, and a patio looking out at the vineyards! (Room 114) The staff were very nice and helpful in a variety of different ways. It's a small inn with 36 rooms, I believe. On the online map, it looks like the property is very spread out, but honestly it's a 5 minute walk from one end to another. We had family staying all over the property and it was no problem to get from one area to another - with the pool in the middle. The rooms are set up in small courtyards (4 rooms per little courtyard) with seating in the little courtyard areas.....very cute. We were so busy that we really never had time to sit and relax or go to the pool...but it looked inviting! I was a bit shocked (coming from Atlanta) that there was no A/C in the rooms. It was hot during the day but cooled down a LOT at night. We weren't around much during the day so it wasn't a big problem....but it could have been if you prefer A/C. There was a gas fireplace in our room, if it got chilly at night. I liked that the bathroom sink area was outside of the toilet/shower area - makes it easier to get ready with multiple guests in a suite.

I had a few unusual requests and the staff was always nice and helpful.

I would highly recommend this inn for a getaway if you are headed to the Russian River area.

My only disappointment was that the lobby/sitting area closed at 9 pm and we had a large group who wanted a place to hang out together in the evenings.....

The inn is literally walking distance to town, also. FYI

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Varda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

West Sonoma Inn & Spa is located just off Main Street in Guernville. For those that haven't been to Guernville it is a gay/hippie/cowboy working holiday resort. If that sounds slightly bonkers - it is.

West Sonoma Inn & Spa is run and owned by Naveed and Karen. Karen tends to be front of house and was enormously helpful. She was as good as any big city concierge, offering helpful advice on activities for the children, booking restaraunts and plotting a wine tasting route (with free passes). It wasn't until I arrived back in England and checked my guides that I realised how thoughtful her wine route was.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable and all have great views. Our only critcism is that the decor could be a little brighter. Nevertheless the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms clean and functional. This isn't a 5 star deluxe hotel and you don't pay 5 star prices. It is a very sensibly priced Inn in a beautiful spot that is really convenient for the town. You do though get 5 star service and help from Karen and Naveed. We wouldn't hesitate to recomend it and also come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnAx_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews