We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottages on River Road
Ranked #3 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at the Cottages for 4 nights. I absolutely loved staying there. The staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable of the area. It may be off the beaten path (which is what the husband and I like), but it is close to many wineries, the Armstrong Redwoods and highway 1. In the evening we hung out around the campfire (did I mention they have Resse peanut butter cups for smores?!) and made some new friends. There is a brewery walking distance and the main town restaurants and stores a very short drive away. The only downside is for light sleepers, the walls are thin and you can hear River rd. noise. We just had a sound machine on our phone to sleep with and slept just fine. (Another, pricier place we stayed also on River Rd. was worse with traffic noise than the Cottages). The bathroom amenities are nice, liquid soap, nice shampoo, condition and lotion. The room was very clean.

I would only recommend to the owners that the sheets were a bit scratchy, the bed was worn/dented and after 4 mornings breakfast needed a little more variety. These weren't deal breakers, but I would definitely return with these changes.

Room Tip: Rooms backing the woods are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 420 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was my second time that I have stayed at the Cottages in Guernville. What a great place. The staff makes you feel at home. They are full of helpful suggestions from wineries to visit, places to eat, to hikes in the area. The rooms are homey and clean. The grounds are well maintained and the pool area is inviting. Love the smores around the firepit at night. Great location for visiting the surrounding areas. Will absolutely stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

2nd time here - almost as good as the first. Accomodations are comfortable, clean and home-like. The bed linens are luxurious. Studio has queen size bed, microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, TV, dresser and nice sized bathroom. The grounds are beautiful. At night, they make a fire in the firepit and have s'more fixings available. It is very relaxing to sit around the fire and socialize. The only detriment to the studio is the thin walls. The man next door snored loudly the entire night. They provide a continental breakfast: great coffee, OJ, bagels, fritters, yogurt, fruit - all very good quality. The Cottages are not right on the Russian River, but close by. Property is a scant @2 miles south of Guerneville, a short drive to the River and many restaurants. I love this place and would come back again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road, which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mermaid82001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had the best time at Cottages on River Road! I brought a friend and my 3 children (2 chihuahuas + 13 yr old daughter). It was a fun road trip getting there from Daly City.
The cottages are perfectly sized. We had two bedrooms, one room with queen bed and the other with two twins.
We went with another family and they had a blast, too.
The staff there are superb. DeAnn and Gwen were there during our stay and they could not have been more nice. Whatever we needed, they were prompt and courteous. They were so warm, charming and genuine. Just plain nice! New BFFs! The housekeeping staff do an amazing job keeping the place spotless.... SPOTLESS!!
Your pets get a special amenity upon arrival. Sprinkles & Irena were VIPs (very important pets) all the way at Cottages on River Road. The staff really interacted well with our dogs. They are truly pet friendly.
The place is pretty convenient. There is a Safeway and other stores within a mile or two. You are kinda in the boonies, but you can always drive somewhere to get what you need.
There is a coin operated washer + dryer if you need to wash your clothes.
And yes, how fun is the camp fire and s'mores???!!! so fun! We discovered something new... s'more is better with Reese's peanut butter cups! OMG!
I'm thinking about doing an annual retreat there with my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LitaKelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Cottages are spacious, nicely decorated, clean, and well equipped. We found the staff to be kind and they provided great service. Group fire pit and complementary s'mores are a great touch in the evening. Breakfast included a variety of options and trays were available to transport it to your room. Nice to have massage services available. Korbel Winery is close by, and offer a nice 45 minute tour and tasting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We loved the whole feeling and warmth of the place, and especially the hospitality— we were very surprised to receive such a fantastic upgrade! We were told they like to do this for guests whenever cottages are available. The grounds are well-kept, the cottages and rooms are well-maintained, charming and clean, and our room had practically everything a Marriot Hotel would have provided, but without the typical commercial feel. Even without the upgrade, we felt the price we paid was an excellent value (for both on and off season, yr. 2013). I will definitely recommend this cozy place to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LWBCentralCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in the two bedroom cottage with a comfortable queen bed in one room and two twins in another. It was perfect for our family of 4! My two girls (ages 12 and 8) loved their cute room with pretty flowered quilts and comfy down comforters. The fire and s' mores in the evening were a highlight for us as well. We met some very friendly folks from Arkansas and enjoyed talking with them as we snacked by the fire. It was way better than staying in a hotel. We spent the day in Healdsburg, drove about 30 minutes here and then the next day headed to Jenner and Bodega Bay (another short drive to the ocean). It was a great trip and value as we booked our trip our Booking.com. I would highly recommend this place. The breakfast that was included was perfect with bagels, apple fritters and delicious coffee. We slept well and would love to return in the summer to explore the area even further. I was impressed with the cleanliness and the friendliness. The décor was perfect for a little cottage in the woods. I should mention that the road noise did not bother us at all and we are sensitive to that. We stayed in the cabin nearest the road and near an entry gate and we slept like rocks. Our heater was very sufficient in March.

Room Tip: Some cottages had decks that were semi-private, but we didn't need one. We enjoyed the common ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheryltcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
13.9 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,600 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#1 of 12 in Guerneville
352 reviews
1.1 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 12 in Guerneville
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
AutoCamp Russian River
AutoCamp Russian River
#1 of 9 in Guerneville
92 reviews
1.3 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#8 of 12 in Guerneville
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages on River Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on River Road

Address: 14880 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9279 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: $88 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottages on River Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests the chance to escape the ordinary and experience a unique hotel in a diverse and breathtaking destination. Whether it is canoeing on the river, biking the backroads, touring a world class winery, hiking the redwood forests or strolling along the beaches of Bodega Bay, you will return each evening to enjoy s’mores under a sky full of stars at Cottages on River Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Cottages on River Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On River Road Hotel Guerneville
Cottages On River Road Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing