We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cute, cozy, comfortable cottage - Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottages on River Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cottages on River Road
Ranked #1 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute, cozy, comfortable cottage - Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in the two bedroom cottage with a comfortable queen bed in one room and two twins in another. It was perfect for our family of 4! My two girls (ages 12 and 8) loved their cute room with pretty flowered quilts and comfy down comforters. The fire and s' mores in the evening were a highlight for us as well. We met some very friendly folks from Arkansas and enjoyed talking with them as we snacked by the fire. It was way better than staying in a hotel. We spent the day in Healdsburg, drove about 30 minutes here and then the next day headed to Jenner and Bodega Bay (another short drive to the ocean). It was a great trip and value as we booked our trip our Booking.com. I would highly recommend this place. The breakfast that was included was perfect with bagels, apple fritters and delicious coffee. We slept well and would love to return in the summer to explore the area even further. I was impressed with the cleanliness and the friendliness. The décor was perfect for a little cottage in the woods. I should mention that the road noise did not bother us at all and we are sensitive to that. We stayed in the cabin nearest the road and near an entry gate and we slept like rocks. Our heater was very sufficient in March.

Room Tip: Some cottages had decks that were semi-private, but we didn't need one. We enjoyed the common ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheryltcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    93
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
93
187
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I recently stayed for 1 night and Deanne, the manager, was lovely and so helpful. Unfortunately, I didn't get the best feeling from the area. We didn't spend much time in Guerneville, just stopped by as we were visiting nearby vineyards but headed back towards the Bay so I can't say much for the local area. We hoped to get down by the river but were told the only access was through a local brewery, and another couple staying at the Cottages warned us not to visit the brewery as they weren't very friendly to visitors.

Sitting out by the fire in the evening was really nice, meeting the other guests and making s'mores, but neighbouring homes created ongoing noise with a troop of barking dogs and screaming children until WAY past nightfall, which was actually kind of off-putting. We walked along off the main road on a side road which felt very unwelcoming and we got a few looks from the local residents, so we quickly retreated back into the fenced-in Cottages area, which suddenly began to feel fenced in for a very good reason. So we didn't actually get to see the river, and there weren't any hiking trails nearby we could find or even a path, so we didn't see much. Maybe it was just me, but I didn't feel very safe here.

The cottages had a bit of a cardboard feel to them. The ceiling was low and slanted, and the bathroom ceiling was extremely low - I nearly bumped my head getting into the shower and I'm only 5'6. The shower head was on the fritz so only sprayed a mist out, and it was the worst shower I've had in a hotel (or whatever you would call this place). It was more like washing my hair in a steam room. My husband said it worked better for him, but don't expect a great shower is all I'm saying. The walls are very thin, as another user noted, but we were in a stand-alone cottage. Still, we felt slightly... vulnerable. It helped sitting out by the fire, though, as the other guests were all very friendly and chatty. The bed was comfy but a bit cramped on either side by the tiny bedroom.

The road itself is very busy and we were glad to not have a cottage on the road side, but still, this made parking slightly dangerous as people just whip down that road at all hours, so be careful pulling out. Rooms were nicely stocked, but felt very outdated and neglected. It took us about an hour to get the TV working as there was a loose cable or something. Questionable locals and no river access made this a one-stop for me, so if we ever return to California, we won't be back. The road and area is pretty, but a drive through would've been sufficient. But thanks to Deanne for being a welcoming manager.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacBrideJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
358 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in a studio "cabin". It was very neat, clean, and accommodating. The bed linens and pillows were of good quality and most comfortable. There was a microwave, coffee maker and a good collection of STASH (my favorite) teas in the room. As there are two studios in a building with a common wall it was easy to hear the folks in the next room talking. Luckily they did not stay up too late.
While we did not partake, ingredients for smores were placed by the open pit fire in the garden in the evening. There is a bit of traffic noise as the cottages are on a busy street yet this did not bother us in the evening. The grounds are well kept and groomed. The staff was friendly and helpful.
I would stay here again and it was great for an overnight adventure to Guerneville.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonomaRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Staying at the cottages was the highlight of the weekend for me and my girlfriend. We were accomodated very warmly by the front-desk woman, Jeanne, when we notified her that we would be arriving later than we planned. She even turned on the room's heater so we would be cozy when we arrived. I slept like a baby in a comfy queen bed that had a variety of pillows for people who prefer firm or soft. Breakfast was a perfect way to start the day. Fruits, yogurt, bagels, pastries, juice, cofee, and tea. The courtyard was extremely relaxing and quaint. In addition, downtown Guernville is just a few minutes down the road and is a fun place to explore. The Cottages is close to vineyards, the ocean, and many small towns that occupy an afternoon. I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We travelled with a group of 8 women in August 2012 and this was the perfect location and accomodations for us.

Rooms-we bunked with 2 women in each room and there was plenty of space. The rooms were nicely appointed - IKEA meets granola decorations. Clean, nice linens. Mini bars/sink. Semi private patios. The outdoor firepit was amazing. After a long day we would just get snacks from the market in town and drink our wine from the day around the firepit. The s'mores were a nice treat too. We did not use the pool as we were gone all day most days.

Staff- more than accomodating. The owner worked with me to have special gift baskets put in each room with snacks for after our vineyard excursions. Very nice at breakfast. Always willing to give suggestions. Great dinner advice in town for the night we did not have reservations.

Location- beautiful roadside cottages near the Red Woods. We were not bothered by road noise. Close to lots of vineyards in Sonoma or a short drive. We used a driver one day who picked up and dropped off and we were so close to several of our favorites Sonoma Cutrer, being one of them. We went to the State Park and hiked one day, we also would do morning jogs along the road into town.

This place is a value if you can get a room on a weekend you want one. I would definately come back with couples or girlfriends again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that backs up to the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cocktailmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer
Level Contributor
114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We love this quaint place, reflecting the old mixed with the new. The cottage, #6 is very comfortable and perfect for 4, with two bedrooms, one with a full and the other with a queen sized bed. A nice light breakfast in the morning, with fruit, rolls, toast, bagels, juice and delicious coffee. There is a fire pit for roasting s'mores in the evening. A nice pool for the warm days. There is also a laundry room. There is street noise but it quiets down in the evening.
The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This property has up-to-date, well-maintained, individual cottages, in a resort-like setting. Ours, #7, had two bedrooms, each with a double bed. Traffic noise could be a problem, so ask for a cottage on the side away from the road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Songwriter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
5.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
1.2 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#3 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#8 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages on River Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on River Road

Property: Cottages on River Road
Address: 14880 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9279 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottages on River Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests the chance to escape the ordinary and experience a unique hotel in a diverse and breathtaking destination. Whether it is canoeing on the river, biking the backroads, touring a world class winery, hiking the redwood forests or strolling along the beaches of Bodega Bay, you will return each evening to enjoy s’mores under a sky full of stars at Cottages on River Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cottages on River Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On River Road Hotel Guerneville
Cottages On River Road Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing