We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cottages on River Road
Nearby Hotels
Sonoma Orchid Inn(Guerneville)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Sonoma Inn & Spa(Guerneville)(Great Value!)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Johnson's Beach - Cabins and Campground(Guerneville)(Great Value!)
$185
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Applewood Inn And Spa(Guerneville)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farmhouse Inn(Forestville)
$995
$445
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fern Grove Cottages(Guerneville)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dawn Ranch Resort(Guerneville)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guerneville Lodge(Guerneville)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (427)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveler rating
299
109
14
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
109
14
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesfire pitcontinental breakfastbagelsevening campfirepet areaeye maskbedroom cottagecream cheesewine glassesthe staff was friendly and helpfulbusy roadaway from the roadboiled eggsmini fridgewine countryshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 427 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in a studio "cabin". It was very neat, clean, and accommodating. The bed linens and pillows were of good quality and most comfortable. There was a microwave, coffee maker and a good collection of STASH (my favorite) teas in the room. As there are two studios in a building with a common wall it was easy to hear the folks in the next room talking. Luckily they did not stay up too late.
While we did not partake, ingredients for smores were placed by the open pit fire in the garden in the evening. There is a bit of traffic noise as the cottages are on a busy street yet this did not bother us in the evening. The grounds are well kept and groomed. The staff was friendly and helpful.
I would stay here again and it was great for an overnight adventure to Guerneville.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonomaRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Staying at the cottages was the highlight of the weekend for me and my girlfriend. We were accomodated very warmly by the front-desk woman, Jeanne, when we notified her that we would be arriving later than we planned. She even turned on the room's heater so we would be cozy when we arrived. I slept like a baby in a comfy queen bed that had a variety of pillows for people who prefer firm or soft. Breakfast was a perfect way to start the day. Fruits, yogurt, bagels, pastries, juice, cofee, and tea. The courtyard was extremely relaxing and quaint. In addition, downtown Guernville is just a few minutes down the road and is a fun place to explore. The Cottages is close to vineyards, the ocean, and many small towns that occupy an afternoon. I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We travelled with a group of 8 women in August 2012 and this was the perfect location and accomodations for us.

Rooms-we bunked with 2 women in each room and there was plenty of space. The rooms were nicely appointed - IKEA meets granola decorations. Clean, nice linens. Mini bars/sink. Semi private patios. The outdoor firepit was amazing. After a long day we would just get snacks from the market in town and drink our wine from the day around the firepit. The s'mores were a nice treat too. We did not use the pool as we were gone all day most days.

Staff- more than accomodating. The owner worked with me to have special gift baskets put in each room with snacks for after our vineyard excursions. Very nice at breakfast. Always willing to give suggestions. Great dinner advice in town for the night we did not have reservations.

Location- beautiful roadside cottages near the Red Woods. We were not bothered by road noise. Close to lots of vineyards in Sonoma or a short drive. We used a driver one day who picked up and dropped off and we were so close to several of our favorites Sonoma Cutrer, being one of them. We went to the State Park and hiked one day, we also would do morning jogs along the road into town.

This place is a value if you can get a room on a weekend you want one. I would definately come back with couples or girlfriends again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that backs up to the forest.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocktailmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We love this quaint place, reflecting the old mixed with the new. The cottage, #6 is very comfortable and perfect for 4, with two bedrooms, one with a full and the other with a queen sized bed. A nice light breakfast in the morning, with fruit, rolls, toast, bagels, juice and delicious coffee. There is a fire pit for roasting s'mores in the evening. A nice pool for the warm days. There is also a laundry room. There is street noise but it quiets down in the evening.
The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This property has up-to-date, well-maintained, individual cottages, in a resort-like setting. Ours, #7, had two bedrooms, each with a double bed. Traffic noise could be a problem, so ask for a cottage on the side away from the road.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews